Neighbours and connectivity issues

Posted on
Wed Jul 31, 2019 7:22 am
peszko offline

Neighbours and connectivity issues

I'm relatively new to z-wave and still with relatively few devices (22). I have one situation where I replaced my high load controller with z-wave (Aeotec Zwave Heavy Duty Appliance Smart Switch) Now the problem is that it is located outside in the farthest part of the back yard where z-wave didn't reach. So what I'v done is installed an extender (Aeotec range extender) outside. Its closer to the appliance switch then the house, but seems to work, most of the time. Its not super reliable though. So I have done network heal, but its still the same. The strange thing for me is what is shown as neighbours for both the appliance switch and the extender. They both only have each other as neighbours and no neighbours in the house, yet I can still reach them (not fully reliably though) When I tried without the repeater, then I can't access the appliance switch at all. How am I reaching the modules? I expected to see the repeater being a neighbour with some device in the house, and with the appliance module (hence the repater). What am I missing?

I guess, I'll try to install another repeater somewhere closer to the house (not that easy as I don't really have a plug in the middle of the yard :-))

Posted on
Wed Jul 31, 2019 8:56 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: Neighbours and connectivity issues

Sounds like the repeater itself is on the far edge of the network. Does the next closest device to the repeater have the repeater in it's neighbor list? If so, then try resyncing the repeater a couple of times to see if you can get it to pick up that device in it's neighbor list.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Jul 31, 2019 10:07 am
peszko offline

I didn't realize that a device can be a one way neighbour. I'll double check this afternoon. Is there an easy way, to show the link map for all the devices?

Posted on