Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

Posted on
Fri Jul 31, 2020 5:07 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

Hi

Sorry, should have explained the response.

It’s the last but one octet you want, so FE.

26 03 FE is the bit you want, which is MultiLevel, Report, Value.

I’ll get the others you’ve asked for in the morning.

Peter


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Fri Jul 31, 2020 5:13 pm
agame offline
Posts: 514
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

thanks so much.

Edit: I've deduced that I have 2 generations of these Fakro openers with identical names ...I just found a couple of references to their different capabilities but otherwise identical nomenclature on other forums.

The first generation doesn't respond to calibration, and the raw zwave commands from howartp just fully open or close regardless of setting, and speed doesn't adjust.

So from an Indigo integration point of view, the integration deficiencies are probably more minimal: enabling parameter settings; and providing a stop action.

Posted on
Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:17 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

Read parameter 12
0x70 0x04 0x0C (param 12)
0x70 0x04 0x## (where ## is the hex of the param number)

Parameter response
0x70 0x05 0x## 0xss 0xvv 0xzz where ## is the hex parameter, ss is the size (1, 2 or 4 bits) and vv is the value. zz is the checksum that you ignore.

Set parameter 12 to value 1
0x70 0x03 0x0C 0x01 0x01

Peter

Posted on
Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:10 pm
agame offline
Posts: 514
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

thanks! works perfectly.
... learned something about the pattern of raw zwave commands too...!


...and as anticipated, there's no response to a. parameter 12 query on the older version of the Fakro devices, saves a lot of climbing on ladders trying to force calibration!

Posted on
Sat Aug 01, 2020 4:48 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

Great

I’m planning a Zwave Blind/Shade controller plugin that allows these arbitrary commands for any device that supports them.

Will use Switch_MultiLevel as Fakro does, but also allow the newer Window Covering command class in case devices support that.

Peter


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Fri Aug 14, 2020 10:20 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

howartp wrote:
Great

I’m planning a Zwave Blind/Shade controller plugin that allows these arbitrary commands for any device that supports them.

Will use Switch_MultiLevel as Fakro does, but also allow the newer Window Covering command class in case devices support that.

Peter


Have a go with https://github.com/howartp84/ZWaveWindo ... /tag/1.0.1

It has basic up/down support for the basic window/blind coverings that use Switch Multilevel)

Create a Window Controller device, point it at your actual Zwave device. At the moment it doesn't do anything other than pass the commands onto the actual device, but when I get to publishing state and position, it will be displayed in the Window Controller.

Then Actions > ZWave Window Controller > ...

I'll be adding multiple endpoints, different command sets (Basic, Window Covering and others thay may popup), etc

Peter

Posted on
Sun Aug 16, 2020 6:37 pm
agame offline
Posts: 514
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

Have a go with https://github.com/howartp84/ZWaveWindo ... /tag/1.0.1

It has basic up/down support for the basic window/blind coverings that use Switch Multilevel)


tremendous! working for me.
are you intending to add the controls to the device view, or just have them as actions?

there are actually a lot of window/door control devices without a unified interface...obviously can be created in control pages but not in the home view....if you did create a default UI, is it feasible to allow mapping of other (not z-wave) actions onto the various controls? I'm thinking a gate opener that is just a dry contact relay and an open/closed sensor; blinds with RF control that also require a separate 'stop' action....; garage doors (I know there is a plugin that is specific to that)...

Posted on
Thu Sep 03, 2020 4:30 am
agame offline
Posts: 514
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

I've been adjusting control pages and moving to the beta plugin. While the raw zwave 'stop' command works, the plugin stop doesn't'.

I'm rather confused why I didn't pick this. up when I initially tested - or why it has emerged later (other than spring has arrived and I need windows open again!) - but I'm now getting the following error messages on a 'stop' command:

Code: Select all
   Z-Wave Window Controller Error  plugin does not define method cmdStop


I note when configuring the device, the only option provided is 'MultiLevelSwitch' rather than MotorController...

Posted on
Thu Sep 03, 2020 11:06 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

I fixed the cmdStop error a while ago; are you on version .2?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Thu Sep 03, 2020 3:55 pm
agame offline
Posts: 514
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

howartp wrote:
I fixed the cmdStop error a while ago; are you on version .2?



no I wasn't :oops: . not sure how I reverted. thanks.

Posted on
Sat Dec 19, 2020 12:31 am
agame offline
Posts: 514
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

Its been working fine but until last few days, thank you. Now I'm getting errors along these lines:

Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 572, in cmdClose
AttributeError: 'PluginAction' object has no attribute 'cmdClass'

   WebServer                       request to execute "_preview_upstairs" control #10 from 192.168.1.47
   Z-Wave Window Controller Debug  cmdOpen called
   Z-Wave Window Controller Error  Error in plugin execution ExecuteAction:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 555, in cmdOpen
AttributeError: 'PluginAction' object has no attribute 'cmdClass'

   WebServer                       request to execute "_preview_upstairs" control #8 from 192.168.1.47
   Z-Wave Window Controller Error  plugin does not define method cmdStop
   WebServer                       request to execute "_preview_upstairs" control #9 from 192.168.1.47
   Z-Wave Window Controller Debug  cmdClose called
   Z-Wave Window Controller Error  Error in plugin execution ExecuteAction:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 572, in cmdClose
AttributeError: 'PluginAction' object has no attribute 'cmdClass'

   WebServer                       request to execute "_preview_upstairs" control #6 from 192.168.1.47
   Z-Wave Window Controller Debug  cmdOpen called
   Z-Wave Window Controller Error  Error in plugin execution ExecuteAction:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 555, in cmdOpen
AttributeError: 'PluginAction' object has no attribute 'cmdClass'



I did recreate the relevant control pages recently. Wondering what I've screwed up here? I'm. on version 1.0

Posted on
Sat Dec 19, 2020 6:00 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

agame wrote:
Wondering what I've screwed up here? I'm. on version 1.0

Version 1.0 or 1.0.2?

That bug was fixed in 1.0.2 as we noted above, so i'm confused what's going on.

Can you check a) which version you're on and b) that you haven't somehow got two versions that you're flip-flopping between.

It's a physical coding bug so can't happen from a reboot/plugin reload.

Peter

Posted on
Sat Dec 19, 2020 6:25 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

ps I've just pushed 1.0.3 to github and the pluginstore.

There's no new code, it just tidies up old superflous code from the previous plugin I cloned it from.

Peter

Posted on
Sat Dec 19, 2020 5:23 pm
agame offline
Posts: 514
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

thanks. for some reason the latest versionI could find on GitHub was 1.0, which didn't support the upgrade menu... . [a search for 'z wave' in the plugin store returns your other z wave plugins but oddly not this one. searching 'z-wave' does find the plugin however as I now know..].

but now something really odd is happening.

after upgrade the plugin doesn't appear in the plugin list
attempting to use an action returns:

Code: Select all
  Error                           unable to execute action -- com.howartp.windowcontrol not found or installed


even though I can see it in the plugin directory.

edit: tried downgrading to 7.02, still no joy; but a server reboot appears to have fixed it...being prompted to upgrade to 7.03...now all fine.
thx!

Posted on
Sun Dec 20, 2020 4:05 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4559
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Fakro Roof Windows - Zwave Function

Hehe, glad you’re sorted.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests