Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

Posted on
Thu Jun 21, 2018 10:04 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2957
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+1]

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

I started on Option B (including/excluding until it loops around) - I have decided this is a non-runner as I have about 90 cycles to do and they are taking an age.

I think it will have to be Option A (full reset).

I will update this thread with the result when I can schedule some time to do this. :)

Posted on
Sat Jun 23, 2018 6:20 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2957
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+1]

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

ALL ZRC-90s NOW WORKING! :D

Factory reset my new Gen 5 Z-Stick and added in a number of strategically placed Gen 5 Aeotec and Fibaro UK sockets.

I then included my five ZRC-90 Scene Controllers at addresses 10 - 14 and they all work. All button presses recognised. :)

So, in conclusion, I think the problem was to do with the failing ZRC-90s addresses being 128 (probably?) and above and I suspect this is a bug in the ZRC-90 firmware.

I have now got to complete the task of re-including the remainder of my Z-Wave devices. Some will be easier to do than others. :wink:

Posted on
Sat Jun 23, 2018 2:09 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19327
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

Awesome troubleshooting on this one, and I'm glad you finally have them all working! My guess would be around 128 is the cut-off as well.

Image

Posted on
Mon Jul 02, 2018 1:11 pm
shapa offline
Posts: 352
Joined: Sep 08, 2014
Location: Swindon

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

The problem is somewhere else.

"cycled" the device inclusion / exclusion until <128 (17 to be presize) - still the same issue.

Yes, in case of full UZB1 "erase" and inclusion - it works, so definitely the issue is in the firmware.

Posted on
Mon Jul 02, 2018 1:40 pm
shapa offline
Posts: 352
Joined: Sep 08, 2014
Location: Swindon

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

OK, it seems (googling) I found a reasonable explanation.

Memory/firmware issue, in case of a network bigger than ±90 devices, people are seeing the same issues (with different controllers).

Posted on
Mon Jul 02, 2018 2:02 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 2957
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+1]

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

Interesting info - I am glad I went for my option B and reset the Gen 5 Z-Stick. :)

I assume this issue is only when including / excluding?

I had a network with numbers up to ~170 (not all used) and the lower address numbered ZRC-90s worked OK but not the ones subsequently included at the higher addresses.

Posted on
Tue Jul 03, 2018 2:49 am
shapa offline
Posts: 352
Joined: Sep 08, 2014
Location: Swindon

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

It seems like it's not fully synchronizing or something like that.

I've got more than 90 real devices...

Tried to contact / open a case with Remotek.

Posted on
Wed Jul 04, 2018 3:42 am
shapa offline
Posts: 352
Joined: Sep 08, 2014
Location: Swindon

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

Initial feedback - 1.05 firmware is available...

Now I'm trying to understand the upgrade procedure.

Posted on
Sat Oct 13, 2018 4:41 am
shapa offline
Posts: 352
Joined: Sep 08, 2014
Location: Swindon

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

So, received the replacement.

Now the firmware version is 2.01, works fine with Indigo - all buttons detected.

So it's a 100% firmware issue, caused by "too many devices in the network).
Unfortunately, the only way to upgrade FW - to send it back to Remotec (via a reseller).

Z-Wave Syncing - started for "043 - Remote Control Simple"
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved module neighbors list: - none -
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved manufacture and model names: Remotec - 5254, Scene Master (ZRC-90) - 00018510
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved protocol version 4.54, app version 2.01
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved class hierarchy: Controller : Portable Controller : Remote Control Simple (01 : 01 : 06, base 00)
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved command classes: 20v1 80v1 84v2 85v1 86v1 21v1 72v1 73v1 59v1 5Av1 5Bv1 5Ev1
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved encrypt commands: - none -
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved capabilities: battery, beaming, waking
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved wake interval of 0 minutes
Z-Wave Syncing - device "043 - Remote Control Simple" wake interval changed to 60 minutes
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved group 1 associations: []
Z-Wave Syncing - added group 1 association to interface
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved battery level of 100%
Z-Wave Syncing - created device "043 - Scene Master (ZRC-90)"
Z-Wave Syncing - complete

Posted on
Sat Dec 01, 2018 5:49 pm
shapa offline
Posts: 352
Joined: Sep 08, 2014
Location: Swindon

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

Update.

7+ devices with the latest FW - 100% reliable.

So the issue is "fixed".

Posted on
Sun Dec 02, 2018 6:00 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2957
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+1]

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

Hi @shapa,
Very useful info - thanks. :)
What process did you follow to get the firmware upgraded?

Posted on
Wed Oct 09, 2019 12:56 pm
Dual offline
Posts: 120
Joined: Feb 05, 2019

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

I just purchased and installed the ZRC-90. It sync'd fine and is firmware 2.01.

Is there a way to control it directly through Indigo or do I need the Scene Controller plugin? Only 1 device was created. In this thread @shapa mentions 7+ devices.

Indigo does receive the button presses according to the log. However I don't see how to create a trigger from the button press.

Button press:

Code: Select all
   Z-Wave                          received "098 - Scene Master (ZRC-90)" button 6 pressed
   Z-Wave                          received "098 - Scene Master (ZRC-90)" button 8 pressed


Sync:

Code: Select all
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - started for "098 - Remote Control Simple"
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved module neighbors list: - none -
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved manufacture and model names: Remotec - 5254, Scene Master (ZRC-90) - 00008510
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved protocol version 4.54, app version 2.01
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved class hierarchy: Controller : Portable Controller : Remote Control Simple (01 : 01 : 06, base 00)
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved command classes: 20v1 80v1 84v2 85v1 86v1 21v1 72v1 73v1 59v1 5Av1 5Bv1 5Ev1
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved encrypt commands: - none -
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved capabilities: battery, beaming, waking
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved wake interval of 0 minutes
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - device "098 - Remote Control Simple" wake interval changed to 60 minutes
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved group 1 associations: []
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - added group 1 association to interface
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - retrieved battery level of 100%
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - created device "098 - Scene Master (ZRC-90)"
   Z-Wave                          Syncing - complete

Posted on
Wed Oct 09, 2019 1:23 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 3667
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

Shapa physically owns 7+ of these devices, it’s not Indigo showing 7+ devices per unit.

I don’t know if Indigo supports it out of the box so-to-speak but I would expect it does by now. Regardless, it definitely works with Scene Controller plugin.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Fri Oct 11, 2019 2:59 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 19327
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Remotec ZRC-90 - syncs, no buttons detected

You can create Triggers of type Z-Wave Command Received then select the device and you should see the scene command for the buttons.

Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron