Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

Posted on
Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:52 am
peszko offline
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 07, 2012

Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

Hello,

I had an extended power outage and now indigo can't connect to DSC. I'm using IT-100 . I get the following in the logs:

Reloading plugin "DSC Alarm 1.5.4"
Starting plugin "DSC Alarm 1.5.4" (pid 97854)
DSC Alarm Log level preferences are set to "Debug".
Started plugin "DSC Alarm 1.5.4"
DSC Alarm Debug getConfiguration start
DSC Alarm Debug Configuration read successfully
DSC Alarm Debug runConcurrentThread called
DSC Alarm Debug STATE: Startup
DSC Alarm Initializing communication on port /dev/cu.usbserial

And nothing more after this. I tried restarting the system, re-inserting USB, power cycling the DSC panel.

Any suggestions?

Posted on
Sat Sep 26, 2015 7:51 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3404
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

Might be worth opening a comma program and opening the port to see if anything is actually output by the it100.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sat Sep 26, 2015 8:50 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3147
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

Or a command prompt either, Durosity?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sat Sep 26, 2015 10:01 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3404
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

That too. Damn you auto correct, :D


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sat Sep 26, 2015 10:04 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3404
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

Also I forgot to post the command, which would be something like Screen -U /dev/tty.Serial 38400


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sat Sep 26, 2015 1:11 pm
peszko offline
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 07, 2012

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

I'm seeing something go through when I trip the motion sensors.

���x���x���x�x��x����x�����x��xx��x��������xx�xxx�����xx��x��xxx��xxxx�������xx�x���������x���x�x���x���x���x�x��x����x�����x��x���x���x���x�x��x����x�����x��x

So it looks like IT-100 is sending things. I don't know if what its sending is any good. Possibly encoding in screen is wrong. I had to disable DSC plugin and restart the server to get this, otherwise I got nothing. I assume only one process can connect to tty.

I got something new in the logs when I enabled DSC plugin.

Enabling plugin "DSC Alarm 1.5.4"
Starting plugin "DSC Alarm 1.5.4" (pid 531)
DSC Alarm Log level preferences are set to "Debug".
Started plugin "DSC Alarm 1.5.4"
DSC Alarm Debug getConfiguration start
DSC Alarm Debug Configuration read successfully
DSC Alarm Debug runConcurrentThread called
DSC Alarm Debug STATE: Startup
DSC Alarm Initializing communication on port /dev/cu.usbserial
DSC Alarm Enabling Time Broadcast
DSC Alarm Error IT-100/Envisalink Error: Received a response with invalid characters
DSC Alarm Error Timed out after waiting for response to command 0561 for 3 seconds, retrying.
DSC Alarm Error Timed out after waiting for response to command 0561 for 3 seconds, retrying.
DSC Alarm Error Timed out after waiting for response to command 0561 for 3 seconds, retrying.
DSC Alarm Error Resent command 0561 3 times with no success, aborting.
DSC Alarm Error Error enabling Time Broadcast.
DSC Alarm Plugin will attempt to re-initialize again in 3 minutes.

Any thoughts?

Posted on
Sat Sep 26, 2015 2:49 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3404
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

All I'm seeing there is ???x??xxx? Etc... Is that right or has the formatting been screwed up in the forum?

If it is...well that's weird. I'd guess perhaps the USB > serial adapter is naffed.. Do you have a spare?

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sat Sep 26, 2015 6:28 pm
peszko offline
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 07, 2012

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

Thats what I see in terminal window. I assumed its just terminal encoding that is wrong. What am I supposed to see? I tried a new usb to serial that I had laying around, but couldn't get it to work at all. I'll buy a new one tomorrow. Is there any particular one that is know to work well?

Posted on
Sun Sep 27, 2015 1:27 am
howartp offline
Posts: 3147
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

The plugin log there is using /dev/cu.usbserial - should you be using this in terminal?

(I don't know anything about talking to devices in terminal so ignore if I'm wrong)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Sep 27, 2015 5:17 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3404
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

Ill send a screenshot of what you should see later, but basically you should get spurts of code from it basically as per this manual http://homeseer.com/pdfs/DSC/29007363R0 ... _guide.pdf


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Computer says no.

Posted on
Sun Sep 27, 2015 9:30 pm
peszko offline
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 07, 2012

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

I have installed a new usb to serial interface, and I still get almost the same thing:


Enabling plugin "DSC Alarm 1.5.4"
Starting plugin "DSC Alarm 1.5.4" (pid 4234)
DSC Alarm Log level preferences are set to "Debug".
Started plugin "DSC Alarm 1.5.4"
DSC Alarm Debug getConfiguration start
DSC Alarm Debug Configuration read successfully
DSC Alarm Debug versionCheck: Started
DSC Alarm Debug versionCheck: Version Server Url:http://www.frightideas.com/hobbies/dscAlarm/dscAlarmVersionInfo.html
DSC Alarm Your plugin version, v1.5.4, is current.
DSC Alarm Debug runConcurrentThread called
DSC Alarm Debug STATE: Startup
DSC Alarm Initializing communication on port /dev/cu.usbserial
DSC Alarm Enabling Time Broadcast
DSC Alarm Error Timed out after waiting for response to command 0561 for 3 seconds, retrying.
DSC Alarm Debug LCD Update, Line 1:' Date Time ' Line 2:'SEP 27/15 10:51p'
DSC Alarm Error Timed out after waiting for response to command 0561 for 3 seconds, retrying.
DSC Alarm Error Timed out after waiting for response to command 0561 for 3 seconds, retrying.
DSC Alarm Error Resent command 0561 3 times with no success, aborting.
DSC Alarm Error Error enabling Time Broadcast.
DSC Alarm Plugin will attempt to re-initialize again in 3 minutes.

Although, there seems to be one line that gets information from the interface, ie: LC Update. Later when it retries its back to the way before.

When I connect to it directly, I get the same thing with question marks, but read in the screen man pages that this is shown when an unrecognized character set is used. So I wouldn't immediately consider this wrong. Right now I'm using the default UTF-8. When viewed in hex i get:

0430: FD FF FD FF FD FF 78 00 FD FF FD FF FD FF 78 00 ......x.......x.
0440: FD FF FD FF FD FF 78 00 FD FF 78 00 FD FF FD FF ......x...x.....
0450: 78 00 FD FF FD FF FD FF FD FF 78 00 FD FF FD FF x.........x.....
0460: FD FF FD FF FD FF 78 00 FD FF FD FF 78 00 78 00 ......x.....x.x.

But it doesn't look like a valid packet, as IT-100 packet should end with 0D 0A based on the manual. Also I can't find any command that corresponds to FD FF FD. That is if I'm reading the manual correctly. I would expect to see something like this: 36 30 39 Then data 00 00 36 then check sum 35 34 then end of packet 0d 0a

Could the IT-100 be faulty?

Posted on
Mon Sep 28, 2015 1:29 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3404
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

It could well be.. it's difficult to know for sure.. it could also be a bad software driver for the serial port, perhaps try reinstalling that? I was hoping that @TravisC would chime in as he knows more about this whole system than anyone else here (he wrote the plugin) but alas he hasn't been around much lately.

Computer says no.

Posted on
Mon Sep 28, 2015 5:22 am
peszko offline
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 07, 2012

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

I tried reinstalling the drivers, but this hasn't changed anything. I'm not sure I'm reading the stream correctly, so am not sure if I'm interpreting it correctly. I'll try to research this a bit. I'll probably order a new IT-100 anyway to try another one. If its IT-100 that would be strange failure, but I guess possible. Any other suggestions are very welcome.

Posted on
Mon Sep 28, 2015 6:45 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3404
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

Sorry it's late, here's a screenshot of how it should look in screen. This is just the clock update as I'm at work at the moment, but certainly you should get this at the very least.
Attachments
Untitled-min.png
Untitled-min.png (158.11 KiB) Viewed 1904 times

Computer says no.

Posted on
Mon Sep 28, 2015 10:35 am
peszko offline
Posts: 12
Joined: Mar 07, 2012

Re: Can't connect to IT-100 after a power outage

I'm definitely not getting that. Time to order a new IT-100.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest