Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

Posted on
Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:06 am
jeffgtx offline
Posts: 38
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

Hi Travis.
Read an article today that shows how the amazon dash buttons can be used as triggers by router sniffing, which i (assume/hope) is similar to what smartphone radar does and was wondering if the plugin can be used the same way the scripts mentioned here?

https://medium.com/@edwardbenson/how-i- ... 4214b0bdd8

thanks,
Jeff

Posted on
Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:15 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5388
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

yes that should work: it adds a device to your router.
A anything that is checking the router dhcp tables (MAC# --> IP number) or wifi connections should do the trick.

Karl

Posted on
Tue Aug 18, 2015 10:20 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5388
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

and FING should recognize them too
its worth a try for $ 5

{EDIT] ordered one - will try it out .


Karl

Posted on
Thu Aug 20, 2015 5:22 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5388
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

got mine and it works nicely (and no tide packages and no drones either have shown up yet at my house)
I put a USB connector next to it to show the size
Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.15.23 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.15.23 PM.png (39.05 KiB) Viewed 2337 times


Setup the device :
0. start amazon app, goto menu/ your account/ dash devices- manage devices/setup a new Dash Button. Then enter your wifi password
1. press button until blue light blinks
2. position the iPhone speaker next to the dash button (yes it transmits the wifi into via sound)
stop at step 3/4 (see screen shot), click on the X

done.

After that, FINGSCAN or anything that monitors the router, network etc will pick up the device.

FINGSCAN takes ~ 1 second after button pressed and it shows device UP -- if you set FINGSCAN to the fastest frequency- at the bottom of configuration screen.
It stays up/connected for ~ 20 seconds. Then it turns itself off until you press the button again


Karl
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.07.48 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.07.48 PM.png (10.28 KiB) Viewed 2337 times
Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.08.00 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.08.00 PM.png (10.19 KiB) Viewed 2337 times
Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.01.36 PM.png
Screen Shot 2015-08-20 at 6.01.36 PM.png (227.56 KiB) Viewed 2337 times

Posted on
Thu Aug 20, 2015 8:50 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5388
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

$5!! THIS IS THE CHEAPEST IOT SWITCH YOU WILL BE ABLE TO FIND .. $5 !!

order as long as amazon sells these things.
Amazon is subsidizing them as they are intended to buy things.
And Amazon can't contact them when you block the ip number of the Dash button from accessing the internet! (set filter for port 1-9999 for the ip n umber of the dash button on your router)

Karl

Posted on
Sun Aug 23, 2015 11:32 pm
jeffgtx offline
Posts: 38
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

What kind of response time do you see from button press to action carried out? In seeing 10-20 seconds and sometimes no change in status from down to up. Wondering why the ding update isn't quicker.

Thanks for the how-to.

Posted on
Mon Aug 24, 2015 8:18 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5388
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

Are u using smartphone radar or fingscan? And if fingscan what check rate do u use?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Aug 24, 2015 9:02 am
jeffgtx offline
Posts: 38
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

i moved to fingscan because of the issue that the new apple routers don't have the log feature that smartphone radar needs. (maybe the moderators could move this topic or we should start a new one in your forum).

i am using the refresh rate that is one below the one that says (quickest but will keep CPU busy) or something to that effect.

Posted on
Mon Aug 24, 2015 10:21 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5388
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

there are 2 ways fingscan is detecting an new IP device if it is wifi:

1. fing listens for "ARP" packages and then every minutes pings the known devices. the result is put into fine.data (once per minute) and find.log changes as they happen
2. if ASUS router is installed, fingscan will poll the router to see if a device is "associated" if associated or linked it is set to up and FING data is ignored.

what does that mean:

you can check find.log (just double click on the file and the log file viewer will pop up) press the dash button and see if something gets added to the file - (you might need to click on "reload")

it should look like:
Code: Select all
2015/08/24 09:30:56;up;192.168.1.235;;;74:C2:46:13:A6:D4;
2015/08/24 09:31:19;down;192.168.1.235;;;74:C2:46:13:A6:D4;
2015/08/24 09:31:50;up;192.168.1.235;;;74:C2:46:13:A6:D4;
2015/08/24 09:32:19;down;192.168.1.235;;;74:C2:46:13:A6:D4;


x.x.1.235 is my dash button.

ASUS wifi information is generally faster than the FING info.

Hope that helps

Karl

Posted on
Mon Aug 24, 2015 11:48 pm
jeffgtx offline
Posts: 38
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

I'm reasonably confident i have the right ip address figured out for the dash.
and i have a trigger that when that ip device changes from down to up, to turn on a light.
its just that it takes 20-30 seconds for the light to turn on after i press the dash.
is that typical? what delay are you seeing?

Posted on
Tue Aug 25, 2015 5:18 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5388
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

Ok I have to stand corrected:

I get 2 seconds response time with ASUS router integrated into FINGSCAN. Without that setup (onlyFING+FINGSCAN) I get between 3-30 seconds depending on timing and sometimes it misses it completely.

Looking at the FING.log file you can see when it recognizes the click and FINGSCAN sets the state to "UP".
It goes back to DOWN once FING.DATA gets populated by the FING scan running once a minute as the DASH does not reliably answer PINGs.

It looks as if the dash button sends out some packages, but FING sometimes does not pick them up.
The DASH button only answers to PING's for about 3-6 seconds (~ 10 seconds after the button is pressed) although it is still connected to the WiFi network (in total for about 40 seconds). It just tries to "Call Home" to planet AMAZON.

In conclusion: it seems to work perfectly WITH ASUS-router+FINGSCAN. If you just use FING +FINGSCAN you have a 70+% chance that it picks it up.
Don't know if smartphone radar with SNMP option would pick it up from the older apple routers.


Karl

Posted on
Tue Aug 25, 2015 5:35 pm
jeffgtx offline
Posts: 38
Joined: Aug 19, 2007

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

ok, that matches what i see. not ready to buy a new router just yet.

curious, do you think the dash button ever wakes up on its own and tries to check for firmware updates or something? i ask this because the light i have programmed to turn on with the dash came on while i was sleeping last night. i wonder if the dash joined the network by itself without a press.

Posted on
Tue Aug 25, 2015 6:27 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5388
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

good question!! how to check it:

open Terminal and copy paste:

cd ''/Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 6/Logs'
sqlite3 -header -column indigo_history.sqlite "SELECT datetime(ts,'localtime'), status FROM device_history_nnnnnn;"

with nnn = the indigo device#


I don't see any "up" in my log file i do not recognize, but I might be missing it

I see this:
//
2015-08-24 23:33:09 up
2015-08-24 23:33:27 up
2015-08-24 23:33:34 down
2015-08-24 23:33:34 down
2015-08-24 23:33:34 down
2015-08-24 23:33:34 down
2015-08-25 00:19:22 down
2015-08-25 00:19:58 expired
2015-08-25 00:19:58 expired
2015-08-25 00:19:58 expired
2015-08-25 12:08:13 expired
2015-08-25 12:08:24 expired
2015-08-25 12:10:28 expired
2015-08-25 12:12:04 expired
2015-08-25 12:14:01 expired
2015-08-25 12:15:03 expired
2015-08-25 12:44:27 expired
2015-08-25 14:45:25 expired
2015-08-25 18:37:27 up
2015-08-25 18:37:27 up
2015-08-25 18:37:27 up
2015-08-25 18:37:27 up
//

from last night. I do recall going to bed ~ 12:44

Karl

Posted on
Tue Aug 25, 2015 6:41 pm
Dewster35 offline
Posts: 1011
Joined: Jul 06, 2010
Location: Petoskey, MI

Re: Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

Karl, I too picked one of these up thinking 5 bucks for an indigo hardware button would be awesome. It worked exactly once for me. The other guides I've seen have a python script that is running and performing an action upon a button press. Do you think this would be a more reliable route to go?

https://medium.com/@edwardbenson/how-i- ... 4214b0bdd8

Posted on
Tue Aug 25, 2015 7:13 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5388
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Can smartphone radar be used with Amazon Dash buttons?

I tried to use that, but it just another way to listen to messages on the network. If the messages do not come by your mac nothing can detect them. Also it is somewhat difficult to install. And the software driver needed might be suspect. During installation I came across an infected site.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest