Smartphone Radar detecting always "Home"

Posted on
Mon Aug 05, 2013 10:18 am
Betacruxis offline
Posts: 22
Joined: Apr 03, 2010

Smartphone Radar detecting always "Home"

The plugin creates the needed variables and once it performs the first check, and from then on, all the phones appear always as "home" no matter whether they are connected to the WAN or not.

I'm running Indigo 6.0.0 b11 on an iMac, OS X 10.8.4, with a Time Capsule 4th gen, Smartphone Radar v1.0.0 (which is the one available at Indigo library).
I downloaded and installed the Smartphone Radar plugin and manage to configure the syslog to redirect router logs to the plugin.
I obtain the following logs when one of the phones connects:

05/08/2013 13:00:20
Smartphone Radar Watching for smartphone 'Mac iPhone' at address '30:f7:c5:72:77:74'.
Smartphone Radar Watching for smartphone 'Mac iPhone' at address '30:f7:c5:72:77:74'.
Smartphone Radar Router Log: <133>Aug 5 13:00:33 time-capsule 80211: Associated with station 30:f7:c5:72:77:74

Smartphone Radar Watching for smartphone 'Mac iPhone' at address '30:f7:c5:72:77:74'.
Smartphone Radar Watching for smartphone 'Mac iPhone' at address '30:f7:c5:72:77:74'.
Smartphone Radar Router Log: <133>Aug 5 13:00:33 time-capsule 80211: Installed unicast CCMP key for supplicant 30:f7:c5:72:77:74

And something like this when disconnected:

Smartphone Radar Router Log: <133>Aug 5 13:03:07 time-capsule 80211: Disassociated with station 30:f7:c5:72:77:74

Smartphone Radar Watching for smartphone 'Mac iPhone' at address '30:f7:c5:72:77:74'.
Smartphone Radar Watching for smartphone 'Mac iPhone' at address '30:f7:c5:72:77:74'.
Smartphone Radar Router Log: <133>Aug 5 13:03:08 time-capsule 80211: Rotated CCMP group key.

Also as per Travis advice, I activated the SNMP on the Time Capsule, even over WAN (used Airport Utility 5.6 for that).

Things is also that the configuration windows I get from the plugin looks like this:

Image
(https://www.dropbox.com/s/c1e4l2n6xlj5s9h/Config.png)

which is NOT the window depicted on the Installation thread, so I cannot select the router type or activate/use the SNMP from the plugin.

Any help will be appreciated.

Alejandro

Posted on
Mon Aug 05, 2013 10:31 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 3544
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Smartphone Radar detecting always "Home"

Try installing v1.1.3 from viewtopic.php?f=55&t=10281

Computer says no.

Posted on
Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:34 am
Betacruxis offline
Posts: 22
Joined: Apr 03, 2010

Re: Smartphone Radar detecting always "Home"

Thanks Durosity.
That helped solving the issue of plugin configuration.
Now I get the SNMP output correctly, where I can see when a phone is or is not registered in the WAN, and the plugin is working fine.

This arises another question: since the plugin is using SNMP, can I eliminate the redirected log from the TimeCapsule to the plugin, or it is still necessary?

Alex

Posted on
Mon Aug 05, 2013 11:38 am
travisc offline
User avatar
Posts: 346
Joined: Sep 07, 2010
Location: Toronto, Canada

Re: Smartphone Radar detecting always "Home"

Betacruxis wrote:
This arises another question: since the plugin is using SNMP, can I eliminate the redirected log from the TimeCapsule to the plugin, or it is still necessary?

Absolutely.

I'll contact Jay to see if he can remove the old version from the plugin library to avoid future confusion.

Posted on
Tue Aug 06, 2013 4:52 pm
Betacruxis offline
Posts: 22
Joined: Apr 03, 2010

Re: Smartphone Radar detecting always "Home"

Thanks Trevisc. I'll remove the redirects then.
Is working like a charm.
Thanks guys.

Best regrads,
Alex

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests