INSTEON Thermostats

Posted on
Mon May 21, 2018 3:45 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16344
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: INSTEON Thermostats

We don't.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun Sep 13, 2020 1:53 pm
Frozenman offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Dec 11, 2017

Re: INSTEON Thermostats

I just purchased a new Insteon 2441TH. I replaced an existing 5-wire thermostat with the new one. I double checked the proper color coding at the AC end of the 5-wire cable. Keep in mind that the previous thermostat was working fine.

The new thermostat does not light up, the time does not display - the screen is totally blank.

Any advise for further troubleshooting?

I replaced the original thermostat since I wanted the AC to work :) which it now does...

I'd be open to other suggestions for an Indigo-controllable thermostat.

thanks!

Posted on
Sun Sep 13, 2020 4:21 pm
ELWOOD offline
Posts: 229
Joined: Feb 11, 2007
Location: Ramsey, NJ

Re: INSTEON Thermostats

The insteon T-stat needs both the 24 com and 24R connection from the 24 volt transformer in your heating system. If the old T-stat had a battery in it it probably does not have the 24com wire. If you have a volt meter check that you have 24 volts ac at the top two terminals. (24com, 24R). If there is no voltage that is your problem,

Elwood

Posted on
Mon Sep 14, 2020 5:59 am
Frozenman offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Dec 11, 2017

Re: INSTEON Thermostats

thanks
On the old thermostat, the blue wire is connected to RC and the red wire is connected to RH. I don't measure any voltage across those 2 wires :(

I'll go look at how they are connected at the AC end -

thanks for the pointer

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest