Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Posted on
Sun Apr 21, 2013 4:41 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18617
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

This thread is for discussing the Aeon Labs (Aeotec) Minimote remote control.

Device details
How to use with Indigo

Image

Posted on
Fri Nov 29, 2013 6:35 pm
pdoyle offline
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 29, 2013

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Hi Matt

Have an issue with the minimote. I cannot trigger action via buttons. I cannot change to scene mode. The help notes say "To change the button mode setting press the Edit Device Settings button in the device dialog then check or uncheck the Enable scene mode for all buttons checkbox."
On accessing the Edit Settings Button I do not get the option to do this.
The panel shows NoteID: 15
Model Name: Minimote
Manufacturer Name: Aeon Labs
Neighbours: None
Associations: None
Full Module Profile
Submit Device Information

Please help.

Regards Peter

Posted on
Sat Nov 30, 2013 2:26 am
evansgo offline
Posts: 184
Joined: Nov 29, 2013

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Did you read the notes in the link above? I've not got mine yet (its on the way) but the note says

Keeping the Minimote Awake

During the Define/Sync process, or when changing any of the Minimote configuration settings it must be awake. Although the manual says pressing the Learn button will cause the remote to stay awake for several seconds, in our experience it doesn't reliably work. Instead, we recommend press and holding any of the 4 main buttons on the Minimote throughout the Define/Sync process or whenever you need to make a configuration change (like changing the button modes).


Not sure if that will help?
Gareth

Posted on
Sat Nov 30, 2013 8:40 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18617
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Gareth is correct -- it is difficult to get the MiniMote to stay awake but the instructions he posted do work well for us.

If that doesn't help, then please copy/paste the Event Log so we can see exactly what is occurring.

Image

Posted on
Sat Nov 30, 2013 9:45 pm
pdoyle offline
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 29, 2013

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

The problem is'nt keeping the remote awake it is the inability to select scene mode in the "Edit Device Setting" page. The option "Enable scene mode for all buttons checkbox." does not appear. Event Log attached

1 Dec 2013 2:39:18 pm
Z-Wave Syncing - started for device "015 - Minimote (DSA03202x)"
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved module neighbors list: - none -
Z-Wave Error Syncing - failed
Z-Wave Error No response from "015 - Minimote (DSA03202x)". Module might be asleep, or is unreachable.
Z-Wave Syncing - started for device "015 - Minimote (DSA03202x)"
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved module neighbors list: - none -
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved manufacture and model names: Aeon Labs - 0086, Minimote (DSA03202x) - 00010003
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved class hierarchy: Controller : Portable Controller : Portable Remote Controller (01 : 01 : 01, base 00)
Z-Wave Syncing - retrieved command classes: 20v1 72v1 85v1 26v1
Z-Wave Syncing - complete
Z-Wave Indigo Device "015 - Minimote (DSA03202x)" Z-Wave Properties:
Indigo Z-Wave Version: 1.0.170
Node ID: 15
Model: Minimote (DSA03202x)
Model ID: 00010003
Manufacturer: Aeon Labs
Manufacturer ID: 0086
Protocol Version: 0.00
Application Version: 0.00
Model Definition Version: 3
Library Type: 0
Class Name: Portable Remote Controller
Class Hierarchy: 01 : 01 : 01
Command Class Base: 00
Command Versions: 20v1 72v1 85v1 26v1
Multi-Endpoint Types: - none -
Multi-Endpoint Classes: - none -
Multi-Instance Counts: - none -
Features: beaming
Neighbors: - none -
Associations: - none -
Config Values: - none -

Posted on
Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:48 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18617
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Your Event Log snippet is showing the sync is failing. The sync has to complete in order for the correct UI (Enable scene mode checkbox) to be visible in the settings dialog.

Image

Posted on
Wed Dec 11, 2013 4:47 am
evansgo offline
Posts: 184
Joined: Nov 29, 2013

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Can this device be used as a primary controller? Reading the documentation it looks to me as if it can. I've added the drivers and plugged it in, but there no serial port becomes available under Z-Wave config. (I have a Z-Stick coining, but its not here yet and I have just received my MiniMote, so wanted to try it out....

Posted on
Wed Dec 11, 2013 7:52 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18617
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

No, the USB port on the minimote is only used to charge it.

Image

Posted on
Sat Dec 14, 2013 2:10 am
McJohn offline
User avatar
Posts: 338
Joined: Dec 18, 2012
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Great connection with Indigo, simple plug and play!

2 comments;

- In the wiki/doku a comment:
The Minimote can operate in two different modes: direct association mode, and scene mode. (Indigo default is scene mode).

- The "last updated" column doesn't work with the Minimote?

Kind regards,

John

Posted on
Sat Dec 14, 2013 7:56 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14659
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

The Minimote doesn't have any state to update since it's a broadcast-only device - so last updated is irrelevant.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Mar 03, 2014 3:22 am
McJohn offline
User avatar
Posts: 338
Joined: Dec 18, 2012
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Hi guys,

Question: why is the battery state from the Minimote Remote (DSA03202) not displayed?
(and why can't I make a trigger for the device state/battery level?)
The battery state from the Single button DSA38 (even from Aeon) is working well.

Greetings,

John
Attachments
Schermafbeelding 2014-03-03 om 10.13.24.png
Schermafbeelding 2014-03-03 om 10.13.24.png (15.95 KiB) Viewed 5064 times

Posted on
Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:43 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14659
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

The minimote does not report its battery level.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Mar 04, 2014 2:30 am
McJohn offline
User avatar
Posts: 338
Joined: Dec 18, 2012
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Strange.
Thanks for the answer!

Posted on
Wed Aug 13, 2014 7:50 pm
chobo offline
Posts: 84
Joined: Dec 08, 2013

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Hello Fellow Minimote Users: I've recently purchased and successfully included a minimote into my z-wave network. The define/sync process completes with no errors and I've checked and saved the "enable scene mode for all buttons" option with the minimote awake. The problem: a quick button press or a long button hold doesn't register in the log and therefore, triggers aren't working. Both the blue and red LEDs illuminate when pressing a button. What am I overlooking or doing wrong? Thanks in advance for any help!

Posted on
Thu Aug 14, 2014 9:56 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18617
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Aeon Labs Minimote Remote (DSA03202)

Try excluding it from the Z-Stick, then re-including it. When you then define/sync it in Indigo again be sure and choose the new node ID (it will have changed).

Does that get it working? If not, then turn on the debug logging checkbox (via the Interfaces->Z-Wave->Configure... menu item) and try the button presses to see if any lower level messages are coming into Indigo. Copy/paste the results into a reply post for me.

Image

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest