INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

Posted on
Sun May 21, 2017 4:29 pm
kelmk offline
Posts: 83
Joined: May 17, 2017

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

I have a question regarding this modem. I am unable to plug it in as it's 120V and New Zealand is 220V. Obviously going through a step down transformer will stop the signal from working over powerline. However with the RF control portion still work? Do I even need to plug it into power if only using RF or is the USB enough to power the device.
Thanks

Posted on
Sun May 21, 2017 6:00 pm
toille27 offline
User avatar
Posts: 234
Joined: Jul 18, 2011
Location: Doylestown PA

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

You need to have 120 Volt power to the modem. The USB is only used for sending home automation signals through power line and wirelessly.

Posted on
Sun May 21, 2017 6:16 pm
Professor Falken offline
User avatar
Posts: 299
Joined: Mar 29, 2015

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

There is an RF only version that Jay mentioned a page or so back in response to one of my questions:

The other option is the 2448 RF dongle. It is RF only but if you're sufficiently covered with dual-band devices it may work for you.



Then if you had any dual band device (switch, module, etc) nearby, the RF signal could jump on the power lines as well.

I have not tried that RF dongle myself, as I've used the powerlinc modems, but if I have another modem die I might go that route instead next time.

Posted on
Sun May 21, 2017 7:48 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16556
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

The Insteon RF frequency between the US and Australia/New Zealand is different, so it won't work.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun May 21, 2017 7:50 pm
kelmk offline
Posts: 83
Joined: May 17, 2017

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

I'm using US Insteon dimmers actually so it should work. Technically it's the wrong frequency for NZ but I checked and nobody is actually using 915 anyway.

Posted on
Sun May 21, 2017 8:29 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16556
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

Well, then it might work. But it also might not. The PowerLinc seems to place priority on the powerline over RF, so if it thinks it's seeing traffic (noise) on the powerline side, it'll hang up trying to decode it. The RF USB adaptor, however, might work.

US dimmers work on 220v systems? That's news to me.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sun May 21, 2017 8:56 pm
kelmk offline
Posts: 83
Joined: May 17, 2017

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

Yes they do and so does the Insteon hub. You can see the specs here They support 100-277VAC, 50/60Hz
http://www.insteon.com/wall-switches
That's why it's strange that they don't offer a 220V powerlinc.
These are the only replacement dimmers that support 220v that I could find that why I went with Insteon.

I just received the 120v powerlinc so I'll give it a try when I get home but I suspect it won't work.
Cheers

Posted on
Sun May 28, 2017 12:10 am
kelmk offline
Posts: 83
Joined: May 17, 2017

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

I have had mixed success with the 2413U. Right away it synced with my dimmer switch no problem and that works great. However I haven't been able to add a motion sensor or contact sensor.
When adding a new instead device I press the set button and it's address shows up in the indigo window. I click Start and everything seems to be working until the last stage Adding the Powerlinc's address to the devices internal link database. It tells me the device is asleep and press the set button so I do. Then it pops up a window saying Failed to establish a link with the device.
Here is my log

PowerLinc Linking - entered discovery linking mode (240 seconds)
Received INSTEON 41.68.AE on (button 1)
PowerLinc Linking - received module button pressed from 41.68.AE
PowerLinc Linking - syncing PowerLinc links (address 44.85.65)
PowerLinc Linking - . skipping: INSTEON plc link to controller 00.00.00, flags 03, group 01, data FF 00 FF
PowerLinc Linking - . . adding: INSTEON plc link to controller 41.68.AE, flags 03, group 01, data 00 00 FF
PowerLinc Linking - . . adding: (not added -- probably already exists)
PowerLinc Linking - sync complete
PowerLinc Linking - PowerLinc links updated
PowerLinc Linking - sending engine version request to 41.68.AE
PowerLinc Unexpected command 02 41 (flushing)
PowerLinc Linking - received engine version 02 from 41.68.AE
PowerLinc Linking - sending id request for device information to 41.68.AE
PowerLinc Linking - received id request response from 41.68.AE
PowerLinc Linking - initializing remote device "new device" (address 41.68.AE, firmware version 46)
PowerLinc Linking - initialize complete
PowerLinc Linking - syncing remote device "new device" (address 41.68.AE, firmware version 46)
PowerLinc Linking - syncing all links
Error resending previous command (reply mismatch)
Error resending previous command (reply mismatch)
PowerLinc Linking - . . . read: INSTEON dev link to responder 45.4D.44, flags E2, group 01, data 03 00 00
Error resending previous command (reply mismatch)
Error resending previous command (busy or unexpected command)
PowerLinc Unexpected command 02 62 (flushing)
PowerLinc Linking - . . . read: INSTEON dev link to responder 45.4D.44, flags E2, group FF, data 03 00 00
Error resending previous command (reply mismatch)
Error failed to send command to module - checksum invalid
Error Linking - syncing failed; remote device might be asleep
Error linking failed
PowerLinc Linking - entered discovery linking mode (240 seconds)
PowerLinc Linking - exited linking mode

Posted on
Sun May 28, 2017 9:57 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 20376
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

Reading and writing the INSTEON links requires the use of "extended" INSTEON commands. They are much longer than standard INSTEON commands, and much more susceptible to noise and collisions. I don't have any solutions for the failure, but it isn't uncommon for syncing to fail when trying to read/write links because of additional length of the extended commands (if there is noise or some other degradation to the INSTEON network).

Image

Posted on
Mon May 29, 2017 1:29 am
kelmk offline
Posts: 83
Joined: May 17, 2017

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

I switched to the 2448A7 usb stick and this solved all my problems. Everything works fantastic now no errors in the log.
Cheers

Edit: After a week of using the USB interface everything is still working flawlessly. Never a missed command and I only have one wired Insteon device so far. The USB stick is tiny compared to the modem. I'm not sure why everybody doesn't ditch the model and go usb stick.

Posted on
Thu Jul 20, 2017 2:37 pm
Parp offline
Posts: 37
Joined: Dec 03, 2005

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

So my 2413U has officially died and I have a new one ordered. What exactly are the proper steps to replace it?

Thanks in advance!

Posted on
Thu Jul 20, 2017 3:14 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16556
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)


Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu Jul 20, 2017 3:35 pm
Parp offline
Posts: 37
Joined: Dec 03, 2005

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

Pefect, thanks!

Posted on
Thu Jul 20, 2017 4:39 pm
kelmk offline
Posts: 83
Joined: May 17, 2017

Re: INSTEON PowerLinc Modem (2413U)

I have an unused powerlinc modem if anyone needs one. I had to go with the usb stick instead. Just pm me.

Posted on
Wed Aug 02, 2017 1:17 pm
DavidWalser offline
Posts: 32
Joined: Jun 11, 2006
Location: Arizona

Is INSTEON PowerLinc Modem #2413U compatible with Indigo 5?

I've been using Indigo since version 1, but I've not upgraded past version 5. This morning, our PowerLinc V2 USB #2414U quit working. Smarthome no longer makes the 2414U, replacing it with the 2413U. Can I replace the 2414U without upgrading to Indigo 7? I don' t need or want the additional features of version 7 (or maybe I do and I'm just not aware how those new features might benefit me). To control my sprinklers, I'd have to upgrade to the pro version of 7 and I just don't see the need -- unless Indigo 5 won't work with the available interfaces.

David

Page 8 of 12 1 ... 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest