EZIO8SA get analog inputs

Posted on
Wed May 23, 2012 12:03 pm
alang_94526 offline

EZIO8SA get analog inputs

Here's an easy one for all you Applescript experts out there.
I am using an EZIO8SA with 2 analog inputs connected to thermistors to manage my pool solar heating.
I'm not experienced in Applescript and was trying to figure out how to get the value of the 2 analog inputs into 2 variables.
I was hacking around last night and could not get the right syntax. Essentially, I'm trying assign the value of analog input 1 to variable PoolTemp and the value of analog input 2 to SolarTemp.
The closest I got was
set value of {PoolTemp, SolarTemp} to get analog inputs of device "Pool Control"
It will return 2 numbers {1234, 5678} but won't assign them to the the 2 variables (because I don't know what I'm doing ;-) )
Any ideas?

Posted on
Wed May 23, 2012 1:12 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: EZIO8SA get analog inputs

You don't need a script - just use the Action Collection plugin's "Insert Device State into Variable" action. Select the EZIO, click on the "Edit Action Settings..." and select "analogInput1" from the "Insert state" popup and select the variable from the "Into variable" popup.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed May 23, 2012 11:25 pm
alang_94526 offline

Nice :D That works well
Thanks

Posted on
Mon May 28, 2012 4:41 pm
alang_94526 offline

Still having newby Applescript issues.
I am trying to do a simple if then else where the if is looking for some conditions to be true such as the solar panel temperature is above the target pool temperature.
I cannot get this to work at all and I ended up hacking it back to the following very simple if statement:

set value of variable "TestSolarTemp" to 108
-- turn on solar if solar temp gets 8 degrees above target temp and pool temp not there yet. Else turn it off