zwave trane thermostat & applescript

Posted on
Mon Jul 01, 2013 1:17 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

zwave trane thermostat & applescript

I am trying to use the simple example from the applescript example page:
"set fan mode of device "First Floor" to fanAlwaysOn -- keeps the fan running all the time - fanAutoOn is the other
option"


tell application "IndigoServer"
set fan mode of device "ThemostatUpstairs" to fanAlwaysOn
end tell

get an error message:
error "IndigoServer got an error: Can’t set fan mode of device \"ThemostatUpstairs\" to \"fanAlwaysOn\"." number -10006 from fan mode of device "ThemostatUpstairs"

what am I doing wrong?

using Indigo 6 b10 and Zwave trane thermostat


Tanks

Karl

ps I know I should be doing this in py by now..

to get started, could someone post the py lines to do this
Code: Select all
tell application "IndigoServer"
   set tempRemote to (get value of variable "Inside_Temperature_remote_sensor")
   set tempUPs to (get value of  ... temperature of thermostat ..??)  -- get temperature of thermostat
end tell

if (tempRemote - tempUPs) > 3 then  -- switch on fan if temperature difference is larger than 3 degrees
   set fan mode of device "ThemostatUpstairs" to fanAlwaysOn
end if

Posted on
Mon Jul 01, 2013 2:42 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18225
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: zwave trane thermostat & applescript

Make sure the name of your thermostat is actually"ThermostatUpstairs" (notice you have no space between thermostat and upstairs).

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Jul 01, 2013 4:20 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: zwave trane thermostat & applescript

yes it is correct the device name is ThemostatUpstairs

Posted on
Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:28 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18225
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: zwave trane thermostat & applescript

That's the only thing that can cause that error as far as I know...

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:37 pm
AndrewGWalsh offline
Posts: 67
Joined: Feb 20, 2013

Re: zwave trane thermostat & applescript

A missing r in the device name?

:-)

Posted on
Mon Jul 01, 2013 5:52 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: zwave trane thermostat & applescript

that is embarrassing ...

Posted on
Mon Jul 01, 2013 7:02 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18225
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: zwave trane thermostat & applescript

Shouldn't be - the error in that instance is supremely unhelpful. Just glad we got to the bottom of it.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Sat Aug 10, 2013 11:51 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8366
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: zwave trane thermostat Logfile

I have disabled as much logging as I can (all 3 "Hide .." boxes in configure Thermostat Module are checked), But I still get 12 lines * 4 thermostats every minute (I am polling every minute)

any (hidden option) to only log error messages?

thx

Karl


This time 4 every minute.
Z-Wave sent "ThermostatExerciseRoom" mode status request
Z-Wave sent "ThermostatExerciseRoom" fan mode status request
Z-Wave sent "ThermostatExerciseRoom" state status request
Z-Wave sent "ThermostatExerciseRoom" fan state status request
Z-Wave sent "ThermostatExerciseRoom" temperature status request
Z-Wave sent "ThermostatExerciseRoom" heat setpoint status request
Z-Wave sent "ThermostatExerciseRoom" cool setpoint status request
Z-Wave received "ThermostatExerciseRoom" mode is cool
Z-Wave received "ThermostatExerciseRoom" fan mode is auto
Z-Wave received "ThermostatExerciseRoom" is idle
Z-Wave received "ThermostatExerciseRoom" fan is off
Z-Wave received "ThermostatExerciseRoom" temperature update to 77 °F
Z-Wave received "ThermostatExerciseRoom" heat setpoint is 68 °F
Z-Wave received "ThermostatExerciseRoom" cool setpoint is 80 °F

Posted on
Sun Aug 11, 2013 8:31 am
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 21417
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: zwave trane thermostat Logfile

I would disable polling for the trane thermostat -- it appears to be very good about broadcasting all local (at the thermostat) changes back to Indigo.

Image

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 15 guests