2023.2

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 4:01 pm
jltnol offline
Posts: 994
Joined: Oct 15, 2013

2023.2

So just a bit of confusion here. I've updated to Indigo 2023.2, and found a Red Dot for the HomeKitLink Siri plugin. I followed the Plugin Store link, downloaded the latest version (modified on Jan 16, 2024) and ran the installer. This is version 0.6.60 of the plugin, but I still have the Red Dot in the plugin window.

I thought it may just take a bit to get everything loaded, and also did a restart, but still have the Red Dot. I did read the READ.MD that came with the plugin but didn't see anything in particular with reference to Indigo 2023.2.

Guessing I'm doing something wrong, but just not sure what... Decided to reload the plugin and got a lot of errors in the Event log which is attached...
Attachments
Error Log.txt
(52.98 KiB) Downloaded 43 times

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 4:09 pm
GlennNZ offline
User avatar
Posts: 1574
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

2023.2

Hi

Thats not a great start…

0.6.60 is running well and faster on a couple of 2023.2 systems currently.. as per the announcement thread.

Will check further but this likely is because you do not have xcode command-line tools installed on your system and this is required to build some of the libraries required. Probably zeroconf being the issue here because of how they package the requested version.

Code: Select all
 SystemError: Cannot locate working compiler\


I suspect this will be the commonest issue unfortunately for some, hopefully easy to fix and once xcode tools are installed never will happen again. (and this version does remove need for xattr and pip terminal commands forever)

See here:

Would try tun this terminal command in first instance, this will install xcode command line tools only

Code: Select all
xcode-select --install


And then restart plugin.

Google, “install xcode command line tools”:
(Don’t need the massive Xcode package - just the command line tools)

https://forums.developer.apple.com/forums/thread/677124


Glenn


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 4:18 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7222
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: 2023.2

Glenn - try zeroconf 0.130.0 instead of 0.131.0. That seems to work on all the systems I tested on without a compiler.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 4:32 pm
jltnol offline
Posts: 994
Joined: Oct 15, 2013

Re: 2023.2

Got it

I've got to dash out for the evening but will re-visit tomorrow and post.

Guessing this command:
Code: Select all
xcode-select --install

installs the big Xcode package. I'm not familiar enough with the Terminal to tell it to only install the command line tools... is there a different command for that? AND just read the suppled link to apple forums for that info.

Again... will revisit tomorrow...

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 5:13 pm
GlennNZ offline
User avatar
Posts: 1574
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: 2023.2

FlyingDiver wrote:
Glenn - try zeroconf 0.130.0 instead of 0.131.0. That seems to work on all the systems I tested on without a compiler.


Thanks - did see your earlier comment regarding this, and have changed zeroconf back

But Looks like it is also
Code: Select all
ERROR: Failed building wheel for chacha20poly1305-reuseable


That fails - so still come back to needing xcode tools

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 5:14 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7222
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: 2023.2

Delete ~/Library/Cache/pip and try again.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 5:14 pm
GlennNZ offline
User avatar
Posts: 1574
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: 2023.2

jltnol wrote:
Got it

I've got to dash out for the evening but will re-visit tomorrow and post.

Guessing this command:
Code: Select all
xcode-select --install

installs the big Xcode package. I'm not familiar enough with the Terminal to tell it to only install the command line tools... is there a different command for that? AND just read the suppled link to apple forums for that info.

Again... will revisit tomorrow...


Code: Select all
xcode-select --install


Should only install the Command Line tools.
eg. I get this messaging
Code: Select all
Indigo$ xcode-select --install
xcode-select: error: command line tools are already installed, use "Software Update" to install updates

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 5:19 pm
GlennNZ offline
User avatar
Posts: 1574
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: 2023.2

FlyingDiver wrote:
Delete ~/Library/Cache/pip and try again.


I'm no sure that is going to help.
Basing this on the Error.txt logging in the first post

chacha20poly1305-reusable fails first
Code: Select all
SystemError: Cannot locate working compiler


& then zeroconf fails
Code: Select all
SystemError: Cannot locate working compiler


Code: Select all
ERROR: Could not build wheels for chacha20poly1305-reuseable, zeroconf, which is required to install pyproject.toml-based projects


So don't think there is anyway around having xcode tools installed.

Glenn

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 5:20 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7222
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: 2023.2

I don't know what chacha20poly1305-reuseable is, but I guarantee that zeroconf-0.130.0 can be installed without a compiler.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 5:31 pm
GlennNZ offline
User avatar
Posts: 1574
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: 2023.2

FlyingDiver wrote:
I don't know what chacha20poly1305-reuseable is, but I guarantee that zeroconf-0.130.0 can be installed without a compiler.


Yeah understand.
https://github.com/python-zeroconf/pyth ... ssues/1319

Doesn't solve the other problem which is chacha20poly1305 which is a reusable cryptography cipher that has significant speed improvements compared to recreated the cipher with every use (which is what old cryptography does).

Pretty wide spread use in HA and Homekit Libraries - amongst others.

Could bundle it...

Still
Code: Select all
 xcode-select --install
here more robust solution, now and into future.

Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 7:10 pm
GlennNZ offline
User avatar
Posts: 1574
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: 2023.2


Posted on
Wed Jan 24, 2024 11:20 pm
jltnol offline
Posts: 994
Joined: Oct 15, 2013

Re: 2023.2

Gentelmen

Just a quick update that installing the Command line tools solved this problem. All is will with the HomeKitLink Siri Plugin.

Posted on
Thu Jan 25, 2024 1:27 am
GlennNZ offline
User avatar
Posts: 1574
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: 2023.2

Yah!

(You’ll see I added a detailed post because think this will potential trip up a few)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Thu Jan 25, 2024 4:45 pm
samafunk offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Jan 25, 2014

Re: 2023.2

I installed as others described above, but when I launch the newly updated plugin, I get the error below:

Error Requirements file for "HomeKitLink Siri 0.6.60" failed to process correctly, contact the developer with the following information:
Error error: subprocess-exited-with-error

× Preparing metadata (pyproject.toml) did not run successfully.
│ exit code: 1
╰─> [6 lines of output]

Cargo, the Rust package manager, is not installed or is not on PATH.
This package requires Rust and Cargo to compile extensions. Install it through
the system's package manager or via https://rustup.rs/

Checking for Rust toolchain....
[end of output]

note: This error originates from a subprocess, and is likely not a problem with pip.
error: metadata-generation-failed

× Encountered error while generating package metadata.
╰─> See above for output.

note: This is an issue with the package mentioned above, not pip.
hint: See above for details.
HomeKitLink Siri Error Error in plugin execution InitializeMain:

File "plugin.py", line 21, in <module>
type: No module named 'ifaddr'

Stopping plugin "HomeKitLink Siri 0.6.60" (pid 1063)

I verified that I have the command line tools already installed.

Thank you,
Sam

Posted on
Thu Jan 25, 2024 5:06 pm
GlennNZ offline
User avatar
Posts: 1574
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: 2023.2

We will need to post the contents of the /Packages folder in the homekitlink bundle.
And the pip-success.txt or failure.txt within this directory to have an idea as to what is going on.
& probably the startup plugin info detailing versions and system Info.

I have no idea why pip on your system wishes Rust - although that would appear the issue here...

Edit:

Seems like issue is orjson library from process of elimination which when binary wheel is missing needs rust to compile.
Not quite sure what version you must be on to trigger this when others aren't

Will see if can find a library version with binary wheels for everyone.

If can let me know what system version/and/or plugin startup info will cover some of it.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests