Permissions prevent install of HomeKit Siri plugin

Posted on
Wed May 01, 2024 8:55 am
elf55 offline
Posts: 48
Joined: Mar 19, 2012

Permissions prevent install of HomeKit Siri plugin

This is the error:

Installing and enabling plugin HomeKitLink Siri v0.6.61
Error ReloadPlugin() caught exception: FileIOError -- rename/move of file or folder failed -- check file/folder permissions

I've tried reinstalling Indigo 2023.2 and the plugin, but I get this same error each time. This is on an M2 mini that I migrated from an older intel mini, but did a full reinstall of Indigo as noted. No other plugin problems.

-Mike

Posted on
Wed May 01, 2024 2:41 pm
GlennNZ offline
User avatar
Posts: 1578
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Permissions prevent install of HomeKit Siri plugin

Something has gone wrong with your install.

Would be suggesting

1. File Permissions issues
But rerunning the indigo installer (seems like you have done this) should fix those

2. Some other system wide security aspect unique to you

3. Perhaps the Plugin bundle folder already exists from previous copy/install. Check the Plugins and Plugins (Disabled) folders for HomekitLink plugin bundle. If so delete it and reinstall

Glenn


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Thu May 09, 2024 9:23 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 4338
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Permissions prevent install of HomeKit Siri plugin

You’re not trying to install the plugin from an iCloud Drive location are you? I get a very similar warning when I try to install a plugin from iCloud Drive downloads folder. The solution for me is to move the plugin to my user folder and it works fine from there!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Computer says no.

Posted on
Tue May 14, 2024 7:52 am
elf55 offline
Posts: 48
Joined: Mar 19, 2012

Re: Permissions prevent install of HomeKit Siri plugin

You’re not trying to install the plugin from an iCloud Drive location are you?


You sir, are a steely-eyed missile man. That was exactly what I was doing and have been doing for years. I move the install file to a local folder and it installed fine. I would never have thought of that. Thanks.

-Mike

Posted on
Sun May 19, 2024 5:31 am
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 4338
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Permissions prevent install of HomeKit Siri plugin

Glad I could help!

@matt or @jay this seems to be coming up a bit.. might be nice if you could add a bit of info into the error message if it comes up, if it can’t be fixed that is!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Computer says no.

Posted on
Mon May 20, 2024 1:40 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 18256
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Permissions prevent install of HomeKit Siri plugin

durosity wrote:
@matt or @jay this seems to be coming up a bit.. might be nice if you could add a bit of info into the error message if it comes up, if it can’t be fixed that is!


I don't recall ever hearing about this before, but it's likely because we use the OS move API (vs copy) when we install a plugin (we don't want to leave plugins laying around all over your disk!). A move implies that it's getting removed from the original location and this is likely a problem when on an iCloud drive, unless the Indigo Server has full disk access (and perhaps even then). Bottom line though is that we won't know where the source is actually located so changing the error message would require significant rework of system calls and probably even require more security access permissions. Much more effort than necessary given that it hasn't come up before (or, at the least very often).

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon May 20, 2024 1:43 pm
durosity offline
User avatar
Posts: 4338
Joined: May 10, 2012
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: Permissions prevent install of HomeKit Siri plugin

Fair! And just for the record I’ve tested it with full disk access for indigo client and server and still the same issue!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Computer says no.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest