Hubitat Plugin Beta

Posted on
Thu Jul 08, 2021 1:31 pm
CliveS offline
Posts: 584
Joined: Jan 10, 2016
Location: Medomsley, County Durham, UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

siclark wrote:
Yeah. Sonoff temp sensors much better if a little bigger. The aqara switches though and buttons are good.
Can you pair a switch direct to a bulb using the hubitat?


I set a basic rule on the Hubitat to turn on a light via an on/off switch, it took .005 seconds locally and still updates Indigo as to the changes.

Code: Select all
Hubitat Log

app:212021-07-08 19:18:35.099 infoapp: finished
dev:232021-07-08 19:18:35.094 infoPorch Lights (demo) was turned off
app:212021-07-08 19:18:35.087 infoact: Turn off Porch Lights (demo)
app:212021-07-08 19:18:35.081 infoevt: ZemiSmart Single Switch doubleTapped 1
dev:282021-07-08 19:18:35.036 infoZemiSmart Single Switch button 1 was doubleTapped [physical]


app:202021-07-08 19:18:26.658 infoapp: finished
dev:232021-07-08 19:18:26.654 infoPorch Lights (demo) is on
app:202021-07-08 19:18:26.603 infoact: Turn on Porch Lights (demo)
app:202021-07-08 19:18:26.597 infoevt: ZemiSmart Single Switch pushed 1
dev:282021-07-08 19:18:26.548 infoZemiSmart Single Switch button 1 was pushed [physical]



Code: Select all
Indigo Log

   Hubitat Bridge                  received "HE ZemiSmart Single Switch" button 1 pushed event
   Trigger                         new trigger
   Z-Wave                          sent "Dining Room Light" on
   Z-Wave                          sent "Dining Room Light" set brightness to 100
   Hubitat Bridge                  received "HE ZemiSmart Single Switch" button 1 idle event

   Hubitat Bridge                  received "HE ZemiSmart Single Switch" button 1 pushed event
   Trigger                         new trigger
   Z-Wave                          sent "Dining Room Light" off
   Hubitat Bridge                  received "HE ZemiSmart Single Switch" button 1 idle event



But even using the Hubitat Switch and turning on an Indigo Hue bulb via Nathan's Hue plugin and Jon's Hubitat plugin it was instant so I really don't feel the need to add extra code in Hubitat, it is just the freedom to use Zigbee devices and also add some Z-Wave devices that are 'slow' to get an Indigo device driver that makes it so appealing to me.

You can add multiple Hubs to the system so the number of Z-Wave devices becomes huge, add extra Hubs to the garage or garden shed or other places Z-Wave is patchy as long as you have power and networking available.

CliveS

Indigo 2021.1.1 : MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 : Mac mini Server (Mid 2011) : 2 GHz Core i7. : 8 GB. : 2 x 256GB Samsung EVO SSD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer

Posted on
Thu Jul 08, 2021 5:30 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1620
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

Zwave switches to a non wired device via indigo are normally fast but zwave still lets you directly pair 2 devices, motion sensor and bulb say.
There are times when indigo will be processing other commands and won’t respond immediately. Also zigbee doesn’t have, I believe, the error handling that zwave does so commands can get dropped.

Yes 95% off time using indigo as the controller is fine, but if a switch only ever controls a bulb then Its simpler, faster and more reliable to remove the steps between switch to hubitat to indigo to hubitat to bulb. And go switch to bulb.

Posted on
Fri Jul 09, 2021 3:09 am
CliveS offline
Posts: 584
Joined: Jan 10, 2016
Location: Medomsley, County Durham, UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

siclark wrote:
Zwave switches to a non wired device via indigo are normally fast but zwave still lets you directly pair 2 devices, motion sensor and bulb say.
There are times when indigo will be processing other commands and won’t respond immediately. Also zigbee doesn’t have, I believe, the error handling that zwave does so commands can get dropped.

Yes 95% off time using indigo as the controller is fine, but if a switch only ever controls a bulb then Its simpler, faster and more reliable to remove the steps between switch to hubitat to indigo to hubitat to bulb. And go switch to bulb.


Zigbee has support for binding which makes it possible that devices can directly control each other without the intervention of any home automation software and its underlying network layers provide a system of retries and acknowledgments that are designed to efficiently manage the uncertainty of RF communication.

CliveS

Indigo 2021.1.1 : MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 : Mac mini Server (Mid 2011) : 2 GHz Core i7. : 8 GB. : 2 x 256GB Samsung EVO SSD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer

Posted on
Mon Aug 16, 2021 2:23 am
siclark offline
Posts: 1620
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

Thanks Clive - yes this was what I was meaning. Was interested in whether I could set this up from within Hubitat?

Anyway, I have come back from holiday and upgraded MQTT Shins and Connector and now 2 of my zigbee bulbs have a lot of issues. My wife has also decided to remove the lamp with the bulb and switch that were bound, so I have given up and decided to get the Hubitat.

As much as I really wanted to keep with the simple solution of the zigbee USB stick on the Mac, I have to accept I just dont have time to manage, test, debug and setup all these custom setups so need something simpler, despite the much higher cost and overkill on the tech side.

Posted on
Mon Aug 16, 2021 4:04 am
CliveS offline
Posts: 584
Joined: Jan 10, 2016
Location: Medomsley, County Durham, UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

Si,
With reference to bindings, https://www.zigbee2mqtt.io/information/binding.html

As for Hubitat, Higher cost - Yes, Overkill - Yes, Simpler - Yes.

Jon and I were waiting for a Hubitat killer hub to launch in September but it failed to get funding but saying that the Hubitat is more than enough as long as you don't try and use Aqara sensors, maybe keep them on the Zigbee stick (or put them in the bin).

I now have zigbee motion sensors, contact sensors, 13 Amp plugs, 4 way mains plugs, 1/2/4 way wireless switches, Hue buttons, Shelly devices all running as Indigo devices via Jon's excellent plugin.

It is great to finally have UK single plugs (with accurate power consumption) and 4 way strip sockets (unfortunatly no power readings) working .

It may cost £135.00 but when you consider Zigbee is half the price of ZWave I think I have almost paid for it with the extra items I have bought but could not get in ZWave versions.

CliveS

Indigo 2021.1.1 : MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 : Mac mini Server (Mid 2011) : 2 GHz Core i7. : 8 GB. : 2 x 256GB Samsung EVO SSD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer

Posted on
Mon Aug 16, 2021 12:39 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1620
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

Cheers. So I need to keep zigbee2mqtt if I want to use binding?

I’ve got one aqara sensor that still works well but don’t see the point of keeping the usb running just for that. The Aqara switches work great though so will see if I can make those work with hubitat.

Interested to know what plugs etc you are using.

Posted on
Tue Aug 17, 2021 7:05 am
CliveS offline
Posts: 584
Joined: Jan 10, 2016
Location: Medomsley, County Durham, UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

siclark wrote:
Cheers. So I need to keep zigbee2mqtt if I want to use binding?

No just work out how to send the right binding commands from a Zigbee controller to the two Zigbee units, personally a lot of effort for not much gain when you have both Indigo and Hubitat.

siclark wrote:
Interested to know what plugs etc you are using.


I am using 16A Tasmota plugs, works via Jon's plugin but not via Hubitat so you could use these without the Habitat Hub with power monitoring.
f83f1a_dd95f700efc54fcebcc517076ac2ee15~mv2.png
f83f1a_dd95f700efc54fcebcc517076ac2ee15~mv2.png (47.37 KiB) Viewed 369 times


It can be found at

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005001880012237.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.27424c4dghFg6r

These look like this in Indigo
Screenshot 2021-08-17 at 13.00.33.png
Screenshot 2021-08-17 at 13.00.33.png (498.13 KiB) Viewed 369 times


The 13A 4 plug strip (without power monitoring)

Zigbee-Smart-Power-Strip-10A-13A-UK-Smart-Power-Bar-Multiple-Outlet-Extension-Cord-with-2.jpg_220x220xz.jpg
Zigbee-Smart-Power-Strip-10A-13A-UK-Smart-Power-Bar-Multiple-Outlet-Extension-Cord-with-2.jpg_220x220xz.jpg (6.44 KiB) Viewed 369 times


can be found at

https://www.aliexpress.com/item/1005002014193626.html?spm=a2g0s.9042311.0.0.67554c4dJkYxV2

All Zigbee in my Indigo at present.

Screenshot 2021-08-17 at 12.59.39.png
Screenshot 2021-08-17 at 12.59.39.png (468.94 KiB) Viewed 369 times

CliveS

Indigo 2021.1.1 : MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 : Mac mini Server (Mid 2011) : 2 GHz Core i7. : 8 GB. : 2 x 256GB Samsung EVO SSD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer

Posted on
Wed Aug 18, 2021 8:23 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 812
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

I have to say that everything runs perfectly.
Thanks to Jon for the wonderful plug-in and the awesome support via iMessage
At the moment I only have one bulb and one contact sensor.

Posted on
Wed Aug 18, 2021 2:23 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1620
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

Nice to hear. My hubitat arrived today but the mqqt app won't install

Posted on
Wed Aug 18, 2021 2:42 pm
CliveS offline
Posts: 584
Joined: Jan 10, 2016
Location: Medomsley, County Durham, UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

siclark wrote:
Nice to hear. My hubitat arrived today but the mqqt app won't install


Hmmmm, a bit of deja vu, Marco had the same problem

[url]
viewtopic.php?f=353&t=25434
[/url]

CliveS

Indigo 2021.1.1 : MacOS Catalina 10.15.1 : Mac mini Server (Mid 2011) : 2 GHz Core i7. : 8 GB. : 2 x 256GB Samsung EVO SSD
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
The best way to get the right answer on the Internet is not to ask a question, it's to post the wrong answer

Posted on
Wed Aug 18, 2021 2:51 pm
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 812
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

siclark wrote:
Nice to hear. My hubitat arrived today but the mqqt app won't install
I had the same problem and was in contact with the Hubitat support.
Download the latest backup, do a soft reset and the restore.
Are you able to install any other app?

Posted on
Wed Aug 18, 2021 2:54 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1620
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

I couldn't install other apps but did a soft reset and can now install built in apps but not any user apps.

Reminds me of my old Vera days. It's why I'm glad I found Matt and Jay!

Posted on
Wed Aug 18, 2021 3:06 pm
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 812
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

Uhm, my problem was completely solved after a soft reset
Post on the Hubitat forum, support would need your device ID and will have a look at it.

Posted on
Wed Aug 18, 2021 3:10 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1620
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

Trying the download latest version and soft reset again
Thanks

Posted on
Wed Aug 18, 2021 3:44 pm
siclark offline
Posts: 1620
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin Beta

Will try on the hubitat forum, although even that scares me...

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron