Hubitat Plugin on the way ...

Posted on
Tue Mar 30, 2021 11:15 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3558
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Hubitat Plugin on the way ...

As some of you are aware, I have developed a plugin to interface via MQTT to the Hubitat Elevation platform.

It is currently in Alpha Testing but I will be releasing it on Github as a Beta version and once that has worked, I will upload it to the Indigo Plugin Store.

I thought a quick overview would be useful as follows:

The plugin requires that you have a Hubitat Hub (I use a C7) and some Zigbee and/or Z-Wave devices attached to it. You need to install the Hubitat MQTT App on the Hubitat Hub and then identify the devices you want to publish to an MQTT broker. I use Mosquitto running in a Docker container on my Indigo iMac.

On installing the plugin, you need to create an Indigo Hubitat Elevation Hub device. Do this by creating a new Indigo device with a device type of Hubitat and a Model of Hubitat Elevation Hub, then specify required details:

hub_config.png
Hub Config
hub_config.png (60.18 KiB) Viewed 481 times


As you can see the plugin supports multiple Hubitat Hubs. The plugin connects directly to your MQTT broker.

hub_device_list.png
Hub Device List
hub_device_list.png (22.42 KiB) Viewed 481 times


The next thing to do is to create the Indigo devices you want from a list of available Hubitat devices (published via MQTT).
Create a new Indigo device with a device type of Hubitat. select the Model type you require:

device_types.png
Device Types
device_types.png (52.25 KiB) Viewed 481 times


You should only select models which don't have a [Sub-Model] suffix and if you do you will get an error message to that effect.

So for example selecting a Multi-Sensor will give you a Configure Multi-Sensor dialogue e.g.:

multi_sensor_1.png
multi_sensor_1
multi_sensor_1.png (175.24 KiB) Viewed 481 times


... continuation ...

multi_sensor_2.png
multi_sensor_2.png (58.15 KiB) Viewed 481 times


The above example is already configured.

For each property that Hubitat exposes (as listed at the top of the dialogue), if supported for the device type, you can enable or disable the required states. For each state you can specify from a selection: The Primary Device Main UI State, An additional state on the Primary device or a secondary device. The Primary Device Main UI State is locked to the state related to the chosen Indigo device type.

type_of_state_2.png
type_of_state_2.png (21.39 KiB) Viewed 481 times

type_of_state_1.png
type_of_state_1.png (20.82 KiB) Viewed 481 times



For each state, depending on its properties, you can set options e.g. for Temperature:

temperature_selection.png
temperature_selection.png (35.56 KiB) Viewed 481 times


decimal_point_selection.png
decimal_point_selection.png (35.4 KiB) Viewed 481 times


Save the device and you will see the following dialogue:

multi_sensor_3.png
multi_sensor_3.png (52.02 KiB) Viewed 481 times


This is the resultant device listing:

multi_sensor_4.png
multi_sensor_4.png (40.04 KiB) Viewed 481 times


This post is just meant as an appetiser! :D

Posted on
Tue Mar 30, 2021 11:27 am
Busta999 offline
User avatar
Posts: 704
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin on the way ...

Ok time for me to get MQTT up and running on the Indigo iMac :-)

Posted on
Tue Mar 30, 2021 1:20 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 5490
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Hubitat Plugin on the way ...

Busta999 wrote:
Ok time for me to get MQTT up and running on the Indigo iMac :-)


I recommend using Docker.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Wed Mar 31, 2021 12:58 am
Busta999 offline
User avatar
Posts: 704
Joined: Mar 30, 2016
Location: Wales UK

Re: Hubitat Plugin on the way ...

Will do :-)

Posted on
Thu Apr 01, 2021 9:03 pm
Mattias offline
Posts: 33
Joined: May 30, 2014

Re: Hubitat Plugin on the way ...

I just bought a Hubitat and have a few zigbee sensors connected to it. What do i need to install on the Hubitat, and can i test the plug in you are making?

Posted on
Fri Apr 02, 2021 5:51 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3558
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT aka UTC]

Re: Hubitat Plugin on the way ...

Mattias wrote:
I just bought a Hubitat and have a few zigbee sensors connected to it. What do i need to install on the Hubitat, and can i test the plug in you are making?

I have just released the beta version on Github - see announcement in this sub-forum. :)

I will update the beta thread with info on how to get started. :)

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest