Find My iDevices, v1.50

Posted on
Thu May 31, 2012 9:41 am
bschollnick2 offline
Posts: 1297
Joined: Oct 17, 2004
Location: Rochester, Ny

Find My iDevices, v1.50

Folks,

v1.50 of Find My iDevices is almost ready, and it's got quite a few surprises.

First, almost every device type that Find My iDevices had in the past has been refined and changed. You will need to update all of your Device records to change them to iDevices, and ensure that the proper information is in the record....

Second, if you have more than one device, here's a shortcut. Create the iDevice record, and close it. Then duplicate it a few times. This way you do not need to keep opening and closing the device record....

Three, while I have not yet removed the Geo Located Fence code. It's going to be retired. It has never worked as reliably as I have liked, and I believe v1.50's GeoLocated Closest Address is a better solution.

With the GeoLocated Closest Address, you can create a trigger that will fire when you are detected on your street....
And the iDevice Distance Away can be used as a replacement for the fence feature, if you check for Distance is less than, you could use 0.5 miles, or some other figure to test for being near your house, abode, etc...

Here's the change log, so far for v1.50.

⁃ v1.50 - Planned Released for 6/2/2012
⁃ Massive Rewrite to eliminate the multistage login and loading of devices
⁃ Fixed an issue where FMID was not reloading the devices after a device change properly without restarting the plugin.
⁃ Added an Apple ID device. Please create an Apple ID Device, to store your Apple ID information. FMID will now locate your Apple ID Device(s), login, and store your associated device(s) inside this device.
⁃ The Find My iDevice "device" has changed. It is now called iDevice Record, and has been dramatically redesigned. The iDevice record stores all of the information that has been found for the device.
⁃ Changed the formula used to calculate distance away from the "origin" point. New formula seems to be much more reliable. The code is the Haversine Formula python code posted here, http://www.platoscave.net/blog/2009/oct ... de-python/, currently with no modifications.
⁃ Added ClosestAddress to iDevice records, which uses Google Maps to find the nearest address to your Latitude and Longitude. This is an estimated location, but can be used to help locate your location.
⁃ Change the IWS web page(s) to remove some non-useful information, and added Closest Address, Last Updated, etc.
⁃ Nlargaros contributed the Google Closest GeoLocated Address code (see viewtopic.php?f=3&t=6257 ) for more details (if your interested).
⁃ This Geolocated address is available in the Device State, and on the Web page as well.
⁃ Added a Custom Trigger, to aid in replacing the unreliable Fences. The Trigger is "Closest Address Changed", and when used you can then specify a fragment of text that you would like to have tested against the GeoLocated Address. If that Text is found, then the trigger will be activated.
⁃ So it will be important to be careful with what text you use. For example "Drive" would be a bad choice, but "Turnup Drive" would be a good choice…

------
My Plugins for Indigo (v4, v5, and v6) - http://bit.ly/U8XxPG

Security Script for v4 - http://bit.ly/QTgclf
for v5 - http://bit.ly/T6WBKu

Support Forum(s) - http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/userforum/viewforum.php?f=33

Posted on
Sun Jun 03, 2012 11:23 am
RogerWilliams offline
Posts: 3
Joined: Jun 03, 2012

Re: Find My iDevices, v1.50

How is progress? I have currently loaded v1.3 and my log file is laced with errors. One key one is

Find My IDevices Error plugin runConcurrentThread function returned or failed (will attempt again in 10 seconds)

If you need a Beta tester I am willing.

Posted on
Sun Jun 03, 2012 12:58 pm
bschollnick2 offline
Posts: 1297
Joined: Oct 17, 2004
Location: Rochester, Ny

Re: Find My iDevices, v1.50

RogerWilliams wrote:
How is progress? I have currently loaded v1.3 and my log file is laced with errors. One key one is

Find My IDevices Error plugin runConcurrentThread function returned or failed (will attempt again in 10 seconds)

If you need a Beta tester I am willing.


If you wish to beta test, please contact me directly at Benjamin AT schollnick DOT net...
As soon as the beta testers give their stamp of approval, I'll be releasing v1.50...

- Ben

------
My Plugins for Indigo (v4, v5, and v6) - http://bit.ly/U8XxPG

Security Script for v4 - http://bit.ly/QTgclf
for v5 - http://bit.ly/T6WBKu

Support Forum(s) - http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/userforum/viewforum.php?f=33

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests