Venstar Thermostat Plugin v1.00 released...

Posted on
Tue Jul 20, 2010 12:17 am
SHKnapp offline
Posts: 33
Joined: May 05, 2009

Re: Venstar Thermostat Plugin v1.00 released...

What a great script! I just wish I could get it working :)
I have a Rev 1.3 adapter. What should I expect it to do? I see all the newly created variables, but no increase in their value. I see a report at midnight stating no running time for AC, Heat, or fan. I'm guessing it's because I have never seen any notice sent from the adapter to Indigo for any status change. I poll the adapter frequently to get the current temp and other info. Do I have something setup incorrectly?

Thanks for the help

Posted on
Tue Jul 20, 2010 5:57 am
bschollnick2 offline
Posts: 1297
Joined: Oct 17, 2004
Location: Rochester, Ny

Re: Venstar Thermostat Plugin v1.00 released...

SHKnapp wrote:
What a great script! I just wish I could get it working :)
I have a Rev 1.3 adapter. What should I expect it to do? I see all the newly created variables, but no increase in their value. I see a report at midnight stating no running time for AC, Heat, or fan. I'm guessing it's because I have never seen any notice sent from the adapter to Indigo for any status change. I poll the adapter frequently to get the current temp and other info. Do I have something setup incorrectly?


There isn't much that can be done, since you have a v1.00 adapter... I believe that v2 was the only adapter that allowed the adapter to broadcast changes...

Does your Indigo log show when your furnace turns on, and off? Or AC?

The script waits for these events and monitors the communications for it. So if the v1 adapter doesn't broadcast the changes, then there isn't anything I can do to make the script pay attention to it...

------
My Plugins for Indigo (v4, v5, and v6) - http://bit.ly/U8XxPG

Security Script for v4 - http://bit.ly/QTgclf
for v5 - http://bit.ly/T6WBKu

Support Forum(s) - http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/userforum/viewforum.php?f=33

Posted on
Wed Jul 21, 2010 12:16 pm
SHKnapp offline
Posts: 33
Joined: May 05, 2009

Re: Venstar Thermostat Plugin v1.00 released...

OK... that's what I thought. I was confused by this post earlier in the thread.

It'll work best with the Rev. 2 adapter, but even the Rev 1 adapter will work to a limited extent.


But unless I'm missing something, it really is dependent on the Rev 2 adapter. Maybe I'll have to upgrade!

Is there a comprehensive list of additional features between Rev 1 and Rev 2? I haven't been able to find one. I'm really wanting the ability to query temps from the optional outside temp sensor and remote indoor sensors.

Thanks for the help, I look forward to using your script in the future.

Spencer

Posted on
Wed Jul 21, 2010 1:36 pm
bschollnick2 offline
Posts: 1297
Joined: Oct 17, 2004
Location: Rochester, Ny

Re: Venstar Thermostat Plugin v1.00 released...

SHKnapp wrote:
OK... that's what I thought. I was confused by this post earlier in the thread.

It'll work best with the Rev. 2 adapter, but even the Rev 1 adapter will work to a limited extent.


But unless I'm missing something, it really is dependent on the Rev 2 adapter. Maybe I'll have to upgrade!

Is there a comprehensive list of additional features between Rev 1 and Rev 2? I haven't been able to find one. I'm really wanting the ability to query temps from the optional outside temp sensor and remote indoor sensors.


Sadly, I am human, and I made a mistake... I forgot that the major difference was the two way communication with the Rev 2 adapter...

Since I never have had a Rev 1 adapter, it's easy for me to misremember the feature set on the rev 1's...

------
My Plugins for Indigo (v4, v5, and v6) - http://bit.ly/U8XxPG

Security Script for v4 - http://bit.ly/QTgclf
for v5 - http://bit.ly/T6WBKu

Support Forum(s) - http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/userforum/viewforum.php?f=33

Posted on
Sun Dec 12, 2010 3:05 pm
hamw offline
Posts: 1071
Joined: Mar 31, 2008

Re: Venstar Thermostat Plugin v1.00 released...

Ben,

Did you ever adapt the script for multiple thermostats, or is there a simple way to do so on our ends?

Posted on
Mon Dec 13, 2010 7:56 am
bschollnick2 offline
Posts: 1297
Joined: Oct 17, 2004
Location: Rochester, Ny

Re: Venstar Thermostat Plugin v1.00 released...

hamw wrote:
Ben,

Did you ever adapt the script for multiple thermostats, or is there a simple way to do so on our ends?


I recall working on the dual thermostat code, but I don't recall if I made it public. Since I don't have a dual thermostat environment, I have asked someone to send me a copy of their database ( /Library/Application Support/Indigo 4/IndigoSQLClient/sqlite_db ) so that I can validate it with real data.... (If you would like to send a copy of your database, it would help as well, there is no confidential data in those files [in my opinion]).

- Benjamin

------
My Plugins for Indigo (v4, v5, and v6) - http://bit.ly/U8XxPG

Security Script for v4 - http://bit.ly/QTgclf
for v5 - http://bit.ly/T6WBKu

Support Forum(s) - http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/userforum/viewforum.php?f=33

Posted on
Fri Dec 14, 2012 7:28 pm
alang_94526 offline
Posts: 243
Joined: Apr 13, 2009

Re: Venstar Thermostat Plugin v1.00 released...

Does anyone know where to download the thermo_reset.scpt file from?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest