Remote Log Viewer (EventLog web plugin) kaput in 2022.2?

Posted on
Fri Feb 24, 2023 8:33 pm
DVDDave offline

Remote Log Viewer (EventLog web plugin) kaput in 2022.2?

Hi Benjamin,

I'm not sure if you're still active in the Indigo community but I figured I'd post here just in case.

I've been using your EventLog "web asset" plugin for many years now since it's a great way to filter and display the Indigo log, especially when troubleshooting an intermittent issue. In Indigo 2022.2, I now get "⚠️ 404 — Not Found Requested URL /Eventlog/index not found" when trying to use it. I have a sinking feeling that the web mechanism used for plugins in Indigo's Web Assets/plugins directory has been deprecated along with the REST API but I'm not sure.

So, do you (or Matt/Jay if you're listening) know if there is any hope for keeping this plugin going? If not, do you know of any other solutions for a more robust log viewer?

Thanks!

--Dave

Posted on
Fri Feb 24, 2023 9:16 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

Re: Remote Log Viewer (EventLog web plugin) kaput in 2022.2?

That is correct, the new web server doesn't use those old IWS plugins. It was not possible to make them work with the new IWS architecture.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Fri Feb 24, 2023 9:52 pm
DVDDave offline

Does the new web server have any mechanism for coding custom displays like this?

If not, perhaps eventually the Logs tab in Indigo Touch for Web could implement a more robust display like Benjamin's Remote Log Viewer. Come to think of it, I guess the EventLog python code could be converted to be served by Apache. Beyond my skills but maybe I can get some help to do it.

Posted on
Sat Feb 25, 2023 8:27 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin

I don't know exactly what it does, but the current plugin mechanism can serve up web pages (and has been able to do so for a while), so most likely a plugin could be built to do whatever that old IWS plugin does.

Jay (Indigo Support)