Battery & UPS Monitor plugin.

Posted on
Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:08 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 4420
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Battery & UPS Monitor plugin.

I posted a link to a fixed version of this plugin in another thread.

https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-U ... /tag/1.0.5

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Tue Jan 28, 2020 7:44 am
McJohn offline
User avatar
Posts: 471
Joined: Dec 18, 2012
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Battery & UPS Monitor plugin.

Thanks for the quick response and the update!

- Maybe it's an idea to post this version into the Plugin Store?
- There is something strange going on with the version numbers and the upgrade message from Indigo.

We have version 1.03. (Installed ~ 2014)
Logical is your number 1.05 a higher number (learned at school :D )
But the message in Indigo is:
Attachments
Screenshot 2020-01-28 at 14.39.33.png
Screenshot 2020-01-28 at 14.39.33.png (52.25 KiB) Viewed 853 times

Posted on
Tue Jan 28, 2020 8:17 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 4420
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Battery & UPS Monitor plugin.

I'll have to talk to Matt and Jay about replacing the store version. It's not my plugin, so I can't just update the existing one.

I also have no idea why you're getting that error. The version number increment seems to be correct.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Tue Jan 28, 2020 11:13 am
McJohn offline
User avatar
Posts: 471
Joined: Dec 18, 2012
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Battery & UPS Monitor plugin.

Just did some different tests: without and with power available.
Works perfect and Triggers are firing smoothly without any errors anymore!
You did a good job and it's definitely plugin store ready!
Thanks! :D

Posted on
Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:51 pm
agame offline
Posts: 371
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Battery & UPS Monitor plugin.

I'm not sure if this is the right location for this post but it is UPS related.

Currently experiencing a lot of storms (and associated power outages) so have added a UPS that had fallen into disuse to a Mac mini /Indigo server. Running Catalina.

But whereas after a 'dirty' shutdown the Mac will auto restart when power returns; after a 'clean' (UPS-initiated) shutdown, it requires a manual reboot. Obviously it will ultimately return after the daily restart schedule, but thats less than ideal.

Is there a way to overcome this (other than allowing a dirty shutdown?).
Last edited by agame on Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Tue Sep 08, 2020 3:56 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 4420
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Battery & UPS Monitor plugin.

Not that I know of. I've done some searching on the topic, and never came up with a solution I thought was reliable.

Get a bigger UPS. :)

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Tue Sep 08, 2020 4:00 pm
agame offline
Posts: 371
Joined: Jul 13, 2017
Location: Melbourne, Australia

Re: Battery & UPS Monitor plugin.

damn!
ha! I actually bought a generator yesterday, that should give a few more hours...

Posted on
Tue Sep 08, 2020 11:29 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 7160
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Battery & UPS Monitor plugin.

2 options:

1. in system prefs set an auto start - that is a fixed time, but you can also set it to eg 1 hours into the future in command line:
use: where the time is 1 hour into the future, run this every 5 minutes
Code: Select all
pmset schedule wakeorpoweron "09/08/20 20:00:00"
then when shut down it will try to wake up one hour later
also try acwake, womp
2. set dirty bit: shutdown -u, but that requires to have power off within minutes after successful shutdown, then when UPS power comes back it will restart

not perfect but ..

Karl

check out "man pmset" on your mac terminal

But with corona lasting another 6+ months I am not leaving the house any time soon. And we had no long power interruptions in the last year. Only a few secs
==> This is not a priority right now

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron