Message Size Limitation for MQTT Connector?

Posted on
Sat Jan 20, 2024 9:42 am
dwspublic offline

Message Size Limitation for MQTT Connector?

Hi, I'm relatively new to MQTT and am developing a new indigo pluin using the ringmqtt project. All the messages are processing nicely except for one type, it's playload is a binary image. I can see the message in MQTT Explorer and I've been able to capture and store the image using a different client connector external to indigo, so the MQTT Broker side is working correctly. The image is 43K but could vary from there slightly. And the adjacent attributes topic is coming through properly. I have even set up a trigger matching that specific topic and it never fires.

Any ideas?

Posted on
Sat Jan 20, 2024 10:16 am
FlyingDiver offline

Re: Message Size Limitation for MQTT Connector?

I suspect you're running into some Indigo limit on the size of the content of a custom state. The connector plugin stores the incoming message topic and payload in a device state, and that size payload is probably just too large. I know I've never tried to use anything with a payload anywhere near that size. Honestly, that kind of payload seems contrary to the intent of the MQTT protocol.

I'd need some input from @Matt or @Jay to determine what's a reasonable upper limit for states. Also if there's a limit on the size of the payload for the broadcastToSubscribers call, which is how the MQTT messages get dispatched to other plugins. If it's just the state that's causing the issue, I can put in code to prevent large payloads from being saved to the state. But if broadcastToSubscribers is also limited, then I don't think using the MQTT Connector plugin is feasible. In which case you should use the paho library directly in your plugin and skip using the Connector.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sat Jan 20, 2024 10:20 am
FlyingDiver offline