Help creating Shim devices for Pool Controller

Posted on
Sun May 15, 2022 8:14 pm
jltnol offline

Help creating Shim devices for Pool Controller

So as one of the previous posters said, I'm new to MQTT as well. I've gotten much farther along than I thought possible, basically getting mosquito installed on my Pi, which is running some pool Control software.

I'm also using MQTT Explorer, and my device does show up(see pic), but in my case, the values aren't updating... mainly water and air temps. There is a web dashboard for the control software, and it reflects the right temps, but MQTT Explorer values haven't changed/updated. So for the moment, my first question is should values in MQTT Explorer update as they change? And if they should what might be causing them not to update?

And while I'm here, as far as Topics to Subscribe to in the MQTT Plugin Device, from the pic I've attached I've got
0:easytouch2-4/state#
This should give me the option to gather info on any parameters available, yes? And FWIW, the IP address where the pool control software and mosquito are running is not the same as the Indigo Server..
Attachments
Screen Shot 2022-05-15 at 9.08.56 PM.png
Screen Shot 2022-05-15 at 9.08.56 PM.png (185.86 KiB) Viewed 5449 times

Posted on
Tue May 17, 2022 8:07 pm
jltnol offline

Re: An MQTT config example to Newbies from a Newbie...

So I'm down to this error message:
Code: Select all
MQTT Connector Debug            Received PUBLISH (d0, q0, r0, m0), 'easytouch2-4/state/temps/waterSensor1', ...  (11 bytes)
   MQTT Connector Debug            MQTT Connector to PI: processReceivedMessage: easytouch2-4/state/temps/waterSensor1, payload: {"temp":80}
   Trigger                         M QTT
   MQTT Shims Error                Pool Temp: error getting uid value from payload, aborting

The odd thing is the value I'm looking for is there in the Connection Debug log, but does not show up in the Shims device.