Introducing the Shims plugin

Posted on
Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:47 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3208
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

Short answer is, I noticed the same behavior yesterday and have been reworking the code to make this work better. The stop/start is fixed. This is a Sonoff device, like the SV?

What Topic are you triggering on? I stopped using the stat/sonoff/POWER topic and switch to using stat/sonoff/RESULT topic which has a JSON payload that looks like '{"POWER":"OFF"}'.

I'll post 0.0.2 later today that should fix the stop/start issue.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Aug 12, 2019 6:50 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3208
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

I'm doing some testing for when an additional relay output is connected to the SV. I was having some issues reliably detecting which switch (relay) I was getting the status of. I want to work on that a bit before I release 0.0.2

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:19 am
AndyVirus offline
Posts: 248
Joined: Mar 18, 2014
Location: Newport Pagnell, UK

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

Yes this is a Sonoff device. I am triggering on stat/sonoff/POWER but happy to switch to the RESULT topic.
Shout whenever 0.0.2 is ready and Ill happily re-test.
Thanks for all this BTW. Really appreciate all your effort/time/work/patience/skill on MQTT and Indigo!

Posted on
Mon Aug 12, 2019 7:38 am
AndyVirus offline
Posts: 248
Joined: Mar 18, 2014
Location: Newport Pagnell, UK

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

Also setup a Generic Sensor to monitor totalPower of Smappee, works well but at 1 second intaval updates my log was flooded with
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device
Shims Total Power: Starting Device
Shims Total Power: Stopping Device

:-)

Disabled for now. Just FYI.

Posted on
Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:19 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3208
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

Release 0.0.2 - https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-S ... /tag/0.0.2

Added Status Update control to Switch (relay) device.
Made JSON default for state location.
Fixed issue when key is not in the JSON payload.
Fixed repeated device stop/start.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:57 am
AndyVirus offline
Posts: 248
Joined: Mar 18, 2014
Location: Newport Pagnell, UK

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

Thanks!

That has stopped the Starting/Stopping for both Switch and Generic Sensor.

On/Off is still not consistent for state though. I sometimes have to hit off a few times for the state to change. Usually for off but sometimes for on.
Seems like the Publish is publishing each time i press on or off consistently, it just the state that is not consistent. I have changed over to RESULT as JSON instead of RAW on POWER topic. Both yield the same result and issue.
Let me know if you need me to to try anything in my environment to assist with anything.

Posted on
Mon Aug 12, 2019 8:58 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3208
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

Turn on debug logging, press the button a couple times, then post the log segment.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Aug 12, 2019 9:07 am
AndyVirus offline
Posts: 248
Joined: Mar 18, 2014
Location: Newport Pagnell, UK

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

OK. I cant make it not work now :-)

I put the wrong plugin into debug and restarted the plugin (MQTT Plugin) and then My Shim device did nothing at all.
I then put MQTT back to Information Only and put the right plugin (Shims) into debug and restarted the plugin (as it was doing nothing when pressing on or off) and all worked consistently.
Turned off debug and still works consistently.

So...if it happens again, ill put "shims" in debug as you asked and try again :-)

Posted on
Mon Aug 12, 2019 12:09 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 2816
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+1]

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

FlyingDiver wrote:
autolog wrote:
In another post, you replied:
FlyingDiver wrote:
... Oh wait, no, the Smappee uses arrays of values in the payload. Can't help you with that (yet).

Looking forward to the yet update. :wink:

And I forgot the reply to this when I posted 0.0.1 yesterday. The new key syntax you want is channelPowers.[0].power. Done.


Just tried it and it works - thanks. :)

Posted on
Tue Aug 13, 2019 4:11 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3208
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

Release 0.0.3 - https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-S ... /tag/0.0.3

Now has support for device controlled dimmer devices. Assuming it's controlled by a PWM pin on the device using Tasmota.

I've tested a set-up where the Sonos was configured with one or two relay outputs, and one PWM (dimmer) output. That works fine. Trying to do two PWM outputs doesn't work, as the Tasmota firmware assume if you have two PWM outputs configured, they're both connected to the same light and one is controlling color temp. I haven't figure out a way around that. Probably won't bother. Real life results using actual MQTT controlled lights or dimmers would be appreciated.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sat Aug 17, 2019 9:19 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3208
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Introducing the Shims plugin

Release 0.0.4 - https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-Shims/releases

Handles backlogged messages now.

Warning: Plugin has been renamed. Disable and remove old plugin before installing this one. Nothing else will need to be changed.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest