Device control

Posted on
Fri Dec 21, 2018 5:17 am
kennybroh offline

Device control

I had no problem installing the plugin and the first light (group) I tested it with was a Lightify MR16 bulb. In the device list I can turn the bulb on and off and adjust the color temperature, but the white slider doesn't seem to do anything,. What is that supposed to do? What I cannot do from there is adjust the brightness.

When I put the device on a control page and used the popup UI, the brightness slider works, but there's no ability to set color temp.

So, how do you recommend these bulbs be set up when the actual power to them is controlled by an Insteon wall switch?

Posted on
Fri Dec 21, 2018 8:35 am
rbdubz3 offline

Re: Device control

I am pretty new to using the Control Page stuff in Indigo - lemme play around with it over the weekend and see if I can figure out the issue

I automate because I am lazy :D - My Plugins: https://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=309

Posted on
Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:46 am
rbdubz3 offline

kennybroh wrote:
So, how do you recommend these bulbs be set up when the actual power to them is controlled by an Insteon wall switch?

In the situation you describe, the manufacturer has stated that it is ok to turn power on/off. The Lightify bulbs are designed to have 100% power when on, so you really need to be careful with any dimming done via a wall switch such as the Insteon SwitchLinc. You can screw up the Lightify bulbs if they have less than 100% power.