Hue Lights discussion

Posted on
Thu May 02, 2019 9:17 am
Jeffdur offline
Posts: 13
Joined: May 29, 2013

Re: Hue Lights discussion

Love being able to control my Hue lights down to the granular level, especially fade times. Using triggers etc. to control various Hue scenes I've notice there is no way to add timed fades to hue scenes. Is this possible?
Jeff

Posted on
Thu May 02, 2019 10:09 am
nsheldon offline
Posts: 2027
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Hue Lights discussion

Hi Jeff.

Thanks. I’m glad the plugin has been helpful.

No. The Hue API provides no way to specify fade times when recalling a scene. Sorry.

Posted on
Thu May 02, 2019 6:28 pm
Jeffdur offline
Posts: 13
Joined: May 29, 2013

Re: Hue Lights discussion

Thanks for the speedy reply... guess I'll replicate my scenes with the plugin... have to have timed fades.
J

Posted on
Wed May 08, 2019 8:17 pm
ryanbuckner offline
Posts: 240
Joined: Oct 08, 2011

Re: Hue Lights discussion

I've searched the forums but have not been able to come up with best practices for creating control pages for Hue Lights.

What is the best way to create a page for Indigo touch that allows for hue lights to be dimmed, toggled, and color changed?

Posted on
Thu May 09, 2019 3:33 pm
mundmc offline
User avatar
Posts: 451
Joined: Sep 14, 2012

Hue Lights discussion

ryanbuckner wrote:
I've searched the forums but have not been able to come up with best practices for creating control pages for Hue Lights.

What is the best way to create a page for Indigo touch that allows for hue lights to be dimmed, toggled, and color changed?


I haven’t seen any agreed upon best practice, but this is likely limited by people going the Homekit route.

I prefer Control Pages, and I just make presets for scenes I like.

Image
The dimmer-style buttons pop up the dimmer UI for the hue brightness. The power button toggles Insteon on/off switches. Please ignore my child’s musical tastes.

Edit: I use a couple kludges to make the Insteon on/off switches and Hue statuses play nice.


MunDMC

Posted on
Sun May 12, 2019 6:26 pm
nsheldon offline
Posts: 2027
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Hue Lights discussion

Version 1.7.4 Posted

  • Shortened sensor update interval to 1 second instead of 2 seconds.
  • Shortened lights and groups update interval to 5 seconds instead of 10.
  • Added support for the Innr RS-228T GU10 color temperature light.

Posted on
Fri May 17, 2019 10:05 am
rhanson offline
Posts: 154
Joined: Apr 30, 2013

Re: Hue Lights discussion

A couple times a day I get this message:

Code: Select all
   Hue Lights Error                Unable to obtain list of Hue sensors from the bridge.No JSON object could be decoded

Did the hub just not respond correctly, or is there something misconfigured on my end. I have an original Hue hub with a few lights (no sensors), and everything functions perfectly. So I just ignore these messages.

Posted on
Fri May 17, 2019 5:40 pm
nsheldon offline
Posts: 2027
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Hue Lights discussion

Hi. Sorry to hear about the problems. Yes. Basically the hub didn’t provide a response. Did this start recently?

Posted on
Sat May 18, 2019 2:51 am
rhanson offline
Posts: 154
Joined: Apr 30, 2013

Re: Hue Lights discussion

Not really sure, but definitely within the past year or so. I don't recall it happening with early versions of the plugin. At any rate, everything works, so the bridge is probably just overloaded and doesn't respond. Maybe I'll see if the bridge firmware needs an update.

Posted on
Sat May 18, 2019 3:58 am
nsheldon offline
Posts: 2027
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Hue Lights discussion

Yea. Could be firmware related or home network related. If it’s been going on for a while it may have been an old firmware change a long time ago that caused it. Hard to say for sure. If you have more Hue devices now than you did a year ago, that may also be it. The older bridges don’t have as much processing power as the newer square bridges.

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest