Osram GU10 Lightify support

Posted on
Sun Sep 30, 2018 2:35 am
Hackencrash offline
User avatar
Posts: 169
Joined: Dec 16, 2015
Location: UK

Osram GU10 Lightify support

Please can you append the following value to support Osram GU10 Lightlify bulbs in the next Hue Lights plugin release?

File: /Library/Application Support/Perceptive Automation/Indigo 7/Plugins/Hue Lights.indogoPlugin/Contents/Server Plugin/supportedDevices.py

Code: Select all
 kHueBulbDeviceIDs = [‘PAR 16 50 RGBW - LIGHTIFY’]
Tested working.

Thank you.

Posted on
Mon Oct 01, 2018 3:43 am
nsheldon offline
Posts: 1970
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Osram GU10 Lightify support

Hi.

Sure. I'll include it in the next update.

Posted on
Mon Oct 01, 2018 12:05 pm
nsheldon offline
Posts: 1970
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Osram GU10 Lightify support

Version 1.6.19 Posted

  • Added support for the Osram PAR-16 GU10 Lightify light color light, Osram On/Off Plug and a second Hue outdoor LightStrips.


Posted on
Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:18 am
nsheldon offline
Posts: 1970
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Osram GU10 Lightify support

I'd need the model ID. That information isn't on the Amazon listing and it'd probably looks something like the information Hackencrash provided.

Posted on
Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:31 am
kennybroh offline
Posts: 431
Joined: Dec 13, 2009
Location: Baltimore

Re: Osram GU10 Lightify support

OK. I ordered them so I'll let you know. And I'm looking at these as well. I have a bunch of Hue lights, but where I want shades of white and don't really need color, their bulbs are quite expensive. So I'm looking for alternatives.

https://www.amazon.com/Sylvania-Osram-Lightify-Smart-Tunable/dp/B01N4DNC68/ref=sr_1_84?ie=UTF8&qid=1543904492&sr=8-84&keywords=zigbee+bulb

Posted on
Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:45 am
MarcoGT offline
Posts: 620
Joined: Sep 11, 2014
Location: Germany

Re: Osram GU10 Lightify support

To use them, do I need a gate/hub (at least for the first installation) or the Hue Hub is enough?

Posted on
Tue Dec 04, 2018 12:54 am
nsheldon offline
Posts: 1970
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Osram GU10 Lightify support

I've never used those (or any non-Philips "smart" lights for that matter) so I don't know for sure what's required, but from what others have said here in the forums, since those appear to be ZigBee standard compliant, I don't think you need anything other than the Hue bridge to get them to work.

Posted on
Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:01 am
kennybroh offline
Posts: 431
Joined: Dec 13, 2009
Location: Baltimore

Re: Osram GU10 Lightify support

That's what I am assuming about the spotlights in my last post. Presumably you would expect them to work for the same reason, yes?

Posted on
Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:11 am
nsheldon offline
Posts: 1970
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Osram GU10 Lightify support

Yes, I'd assume so.

Posted on
Tue Dec 04, 2018 1:59 am
Coolcaper offline
Posts: 257
Joined: Aug 30, 2013
Location: Australia

Re: Osram GU10 Lightify support

MarcoGT wrote:
To use them, do I need a gate/hub (at least for the first installation) or the Hue Hub is enough?


I’m using the E27 colour bulbs as well as the GU10 versions of the Osram Lightify. You do not need the Osram Lightify bridge unless you want to update the bulbs. They add to the Hue bridge like any other Philips hue globe. However in saying that there are reports of the US version of Lightify using the zigbee home automation protocol instead of the lighting protocol that Hue uses. Don’t know if they’ve changed. YMMV


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Dec 09, 2018 12:50 pm
kennybroh offline
Posts: 431
Joined: Dec 13, 2009
Location: Baltimore

Re: Osram Lightify support

I'm beginning to have a bad feeling about this. I ordered 6 of the Osram tunable white BR30 floods and 3 MR16s I mentioned in an earlier post, and no matter what I do the Hue app will not recognize either of them. I was using a first gen bridge with old firmware, but I updated to a new V2 bridge with current firmware, and it made no difference.

So then I started doing a little research and some articles suggest that the Osram Lightify bulbs sold in the US are not compatible, but the European versions are due to a variation in the Zigbee protocol used in the two markets. Then I just happened to look at where the posts from users who successfully used the Osram bulbs, and it seems like none are in the US. I thought the February firmware update consolidated all of the Zigbee protocols.

Any thoughts?

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest