Error (client) LowLevelBadParameterError

Posted on
Sun Oct 07, 2018 12:19 pm
jphauck offline
Posts: 30
Joined: Oct 26, 2015
Location: Concord, CA

Error (client) LowLevelBadParameterError

I am getting the error mentioned in the subject. Here is how it appears in the event log:
Started plugin "Hue Lights Lower 1.6.20"
Started plugin "Hue Lights Upper 1.6.20"
Hue Lights Upper Loaded 41 lights.
Hue Lights Upper Loaded 11 groups.
Hue Lights Upper Loaded 73 scenes.
Hue Lights Upper Loaded 2 sensors.
Hue Lights Lower Loaded 47 lights.
Hue Lights Lower Loaded 15 groups.
Hue Lights Lower Loaded 55 scenes.
Hue Lights Lower Loaded 4 sensors.
Error (client) UpdatePluginStatusUI() caught exception: LowLevelBadParameterError -- illegal XML tag name character

I am using the latest version of the Hue Lights Plug In. Such great work Nathan.
I have two hubs, so I do go in and modify the contents of the plug in with either Upper or Lower to allow control of the two hubs in distinct areas of the house. I pasted what that looks like when I change the contents:

<?xml version="1.0" encoding="UTF-8"?>
<!DOCTYPE plist PUBLIC "-//Apple//DTD PLIST 1.0//EN" "http://www.apple.com/DTDs/PropertyList-1.0.dtd">
<plist version="1.0">
<dict>
<key>PluginVersion</key>
<string>1.6.13</string>
<key>ServerApiVersion</key>
<string>2.0</string>
<key>IwsApiVersion</key>
<string>1.0.0</string>
<key>CFBundleDisplayName</key>
<string>Hue Lights Lower</string>
<key>CFBundleIdentifier</key>
<string>com.nathansheldon.indigoplugin.HueLightsLower</string>
<key>CFBundleVersion</key>
<string>1.0.0</string>
<key>CFBundleURLTypes</key>
<array>
<dict>
<key>CFBundleURLName</key>
<string>http://www.nathansheldon.com/files/Hue-Lights-Plugin.php</string>
</dict>
</array>
</dict>
</plist>

Is thee something I am missing or improperly entered?

Thanks -
Jim in Concord

Jim H.
Concord, CA

Posted on
Sun Oct 07, 2018 9:02 pm
nsheldon offline
Posts: 1967
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Error (client) LowLevelBadParameterError

Hi Jim.

Sorry to hear about the trouble.

Whenever you see an error that says "Error (client)", that means it's the Indigo client encountering an error either internally or when communicating with the Indigo server that runs in the background. While it's possible some change to a plugin configuration could cause that, it may be something else too. You might try rebooting the computer (both client and server if running on different systems) to clear things out and see if you still see that error.

The XML for the info.plist file you pasted in looks fine, though it shows version 1.6.13 and the current version is 1.6.20 now. I don't know that the changes from 1.6.13 to 1.6.20 would be significant enough to fix that error (I'm guessing not), but it couldn't hurt to try and update your modified version of the plugin to that latest version.

Let me know if either rebooting the system or updating the plugin to 1.6.20 helped.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests