LimitelessLED support?

Posted on
Thu May 16, 2013 8:29 am
JohnConrader offline
Posts: 54
Joined: Dec 16, 2004
Location: Florida

LimitelessLED support?

Hey,
I was looking for some new color bulbs (like the Hue) and saw that there is a company called LimitelessLED. They make both color and white wifi enabled bulbs. They are quite a bit cheaper than some of the alternatives.

I was wondering if Indigo could support these. It looks like the API might be pretty simple. If not natively, maybe someone could make a plugin.

John

Posted on
Thu May 16, 2013 9:42 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 15473
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: LimitelessLED support?

It looks possible. Note, the bulbs themselves aren't WiFi - they probably use ZigBee light link. You have to have the WiFi bridge ($17) in order to bridge from their network to WiFi. Still, it's quite a bit cheaper than Hue.

In fact, sounds a bit too good to be true. And my momma always warned me about things that are too good to be true... ;)

Maybe one of our enterprising 3rd party developers will attempt it!

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu May 16, 2013 10:05 am
tenallero offline
Posts: 94
Joined: Oct 31, 2011
Location: Barcelona

Re: LimitelessLED support?

Hi,

You can find these bulbs with different names in the market.
Somebody, made a "lux" comparative between Philips Hue and LimitLess.
It seem that the "real" numbers does not correspond to "declared" values.
I was interested (in fact still), but ... my mother also warned me :-)

http://board.homeseer.com/showpost.php? ... ostcount=4
http://i2.wp.com/www.jon00.me.uk/images ... Matrix.png

More about

http://board.homeseer.com/showthread.php?t=159514
http://www.easybulb.com/support/
http://www.indiegogo.com/projects/limit ... mitlessled ¿¿¿????

Posted on
Thu May 16, 2013 10:37 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 15473
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: LimitelessLED support?

Well, I think I know what the gotcha is.

Check out the video(s) on the easybulb link above.

That pretty much explains why the Hue is twice as much. Anything that is that complex to set up/configure - well, didn't have a lot of thought put into it.

Also, I'm pretty sure the guy who built the chart on the second link above is wrong - I don't think the bulbs connect via WiFi. It may use some 2.4GHz wireless technology, but I'm pretty positive it's not WiFi. I could be wrong though. Note this bullet point from the Limitless page:

• Built-in WiFi and 2.4Ghz RF.


Zigbee uses 2.4GHz as well - so I stand by my claim that the bulbs actually talk Zigbee to the remote control and the bridge - then the apps talk WiFi to the bridge.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Thu May 16, 2013 10:44 am
JohnConrader offline
Posts: 54
Joined: Dec 16, 2004
Location: Florida

Re: LimitelessLED support?

Yep. They are not wifi (I must have mis-read that). Anyhow, I ordered a starter set. I am always willing to try out different systems. It looks similar to the Hue system (and I would guess it is zigbee from what they say). Once I get them, maybe I can see if I can figure out how to make a plugin for them.

Thanks,
John

Posted on
Thu May 16, 2013 10:50 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 15473
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: LimitelessLED support?

Excellent - keep us posted. I'm particularly interested to see if you really do have to jump through all those hoops just to get it set up or if they've figured out a better way.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Jun 23, 2014 10:01 pm
hamishb offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 14, 2014

Re: LimitelessLED support?

I have some LimitlessLED bulbs and a Wi-Fi bridge.

I can use the iOS app to turn them on and off.

Ideally I would use some Python scripting to ping the WI-Fi brige from Ingdigo.

Their Python scripts are on this page http://www.limitlessled.com/dev/
Sample code is:

import socket

UDP_IP = "255.255.255.255" #this is the IP of the wifi bridge, or 255.255.255.255 for UDP broadcast
UDP_PORT = 8899

MESSAGE1 = "\x39\x00\x55" #this turns all lights off

print "UDP target IP:", UDP_IP #don't really need this
print "UDP target port:", UDP_PORT #don't really need this
print "message:", MESSAGE1 #don't really need this

sock = socket.socket(socket.AF_INET,
socket.SOCK_DGRAM)
sock.sendto(MESSAGE1, (UDP_IP, UDP_PORT))

Once I figure out the IP for the Wireless bridge I presume I should be able to send commands via the above script?

Posted on
Mon Jul 07, 2014 7:20 am
hamishb offline
Posts: 9
Joined: Jan 14, 2014

Re: LimitelessLED support?

Anyone have a thought here - even on how to use Applescript to send a UDP command?

Posted on
Fri Sep 19, 2014 5:44 pm
wiery offline
Posts: 288
Joined: Jun 02, 2008
Location: Ireland

Re: LimitelessLED support?

why would you use Applescript when you have the Python commands already ? I tested this out and was able to easily turn the bulbs on and off and brighten and lower the bulbs with the python commands. I did it from the command line but no reason why it can't be run through indigo. Am going to attempt a plugin when I have more time, but for the cost, they are a great little unit, the bridge is small and neat and easily hidden behind devices without interference.

Posted on
Wed Oct 08, 2014 2:16 pm
chrisfromthelc offline
Posts: 38
Joined: Oct 08, 2014

Re: LimitelessLED support?

Were you ever able to write a plugin for these? I'm interested in trying them out, but writing one from scratch is a bit out of my skillset.

Posted on
Sun Oct 25, 2015 2:38 am
dlleon offline
Posts: 70
Joined: Dec 14, 2012

Re: LimitelessLED support?

Let me know, too. I have the MiLight version (same chipset, though) and the wifi link. I can control it via the iPhone. I know it has a limited web server, too.

I'd love to be able to control this with Indigo. I could have it change color to indicate several things (such as blue when it's raining , red for alarm is on, etc.)

Posted on
Sun Oct 25, 2015 4:19 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 3598
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: LimitelessLED support?

Have a look at this thread - user Chameleon has a plugin that started life as Fibaro RGBW but has expanded this week to a few types of LED bulbs:

viewtopic.php?t=14352


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:13 am
Coolcaper offline
Posts: 274
Joined: Aug 30, 2013
Location: Australia

Re: LimitelessLED support?

I had a few of these but they're now retired or only doing basic duties since the only problem with them I find is that they do not have feedback and that to me is a deal breaker. Don't know if anythings changed though since I last looked.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests