Help with MS18A connection?

Posted on
Sun Nov 17, 2013 10:47 pm
rob_hut offline
Posts: 30
Joined: May 04, 2009

Help with MS18A connection?

Amazing how software makes me feel so stupid. Im sure this is easy, but, how can I add a motion sensor as a device so I can set triggers etc against it?

I get this in the log:

Received RF security command sensor normal (max delay) (ID 46)
Switchboard Error An unregistered X10 device has been detected. Security ID is 46


How can I assign it an actual address (ie: C10)? Ill run into the same issue with window/door sensors

thanks
bo

Posted on
Mon Nov 18, 2013 12:30 pm
bschollnick2 offline
Posts: 1355
Joined: Oct 17, 2004
Location: Rochester, Ny

Re: Help with MS18A connection?

rob_hut wrote:
Amazing how software makes me feel so stupid. Im sure this is easy, but, how can I add a motion sensor as a device so I can set triggers etc against it?

I get this in the log:

Received RF security command sensor normal (max delay) (ID 46)
Switchboard Error An unregistered X10 device has been detected. Security ID is 46


How can I assign it an actual address (ie: C10)? Ill run into the same issue with window/door sensors


Create a New Device, Choose:

Type – Plugin
Plugin – Switchboard
Model – X10 Monitored Device

Type in x10 Security Code, or Choose the House Code Letter and House Code Number.

Then you can use that new device in any triggers.

But I recommend putting in the X10 Security code over the house code / number. You will be less likely to accidentally have a conflict.

- Benjamin

------
My Plugins for Indigo (v4, v5, and v6) - http://bit.ly/U8XxPG

Security Script for v4 - http://bit.ly/QTgclf
for v5 - http://bit.ly/T6WBKu

Support Forum(s) - http://www.perceptiveautomation.com/userforum/viewforum.php?f=33

Posted on
Mon Nov 18, 2013 1:23 pm
rob_hut offline
Posts: 30
Joined: May 04, 2009

Re: Help with MS18A connection?

I thought I tried that, but there were several other variables happening at the same time. Ill try tonight.

When you say 'Security Code' you mean the 'Security ID' (as shown from log snippet in OP) right? Otherwise what is a 'Security Code'?

I was able to get Indigo to read the security alert reading via applescript
( viewtopic.php?t=985 )

Code: Select all
using terms from application "IndigoServer"
   on receive security event of eventType with code devID
      if devID is XX
         -- set code or variables etc
      end if
   end receive security event
end using terms from


But I think your plugin will do what I need more efficiently

Ill post results!

Thanks!
Bo

Posted on
Mon Nov 18, 2013 4:54 pm
rob_hut offline
Posts: 30
Joined: May 04, 2009

Re: Help with MS18A connection?

what happens in the log when I set code to the same number referenced in the log

Code: Select all
Switchboard Error               Error in plugin execution ServerReplacedElem:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 608, in deviceUpdated
<type 'exceptions.KeyError'>: key com.schollnick.indigoplugin.switchboard not found in dict


Is this what I should be looking for from Switchboard?
Code: Select all
  Switchboard Error               An unregistered X10 device has been detected.  Security ID is 227

is Security ID the same as Security Code? If so why not use the same terms?and this presents a bigger issue, in order for me to register each device, Im going to have to pull the batteries from everything I have installed and do this one at a time. is that correct?

When I use the code / id provided from switchboard int he log I get this new error in the log:
Code: Select all
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 615, in deviceUpdated
<type 'exceptions.NameError'>: global name 'dev' is not defined


:idea: restarting the server does the trick... <facePalm> :idea:

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 20 guests