Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

Posted on
Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:11 pm
davvi offline
User avatar
Posts: 109
Joined: Sep 27, 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

Is there a way to reset the total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically? I want to store the Total Usage value in a variable called totalUsageToday and reset it by the end of the day so I can track each day's usage.

Posted on
Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:21 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 20380
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

Use an embedded python script type action that does:

Code: Select all
indigo.sensor.resetAccumEnergyTotals(dev)

where dev is the ID (or name) of your iMeter Solo device.

Image

Posted on
Sun Nov 11, 2012 10:30 pm
davvi offline
User avatar
Posts: 109
Joined: Sep 27, 2011
Location: Austin, TX

Re: Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

Beautiful! Thanks Matt.

Posted on
Fri Oct 03, 2014 3:20 pm
nsheldon offline
Posts: 2299
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

In Indigo 6.0.15 (and probably all Indigo 6 versions, not sure), when you click on an iMeter Solo device in the device list of the Indigo GUI, a "Reset" button appears next to the "Last reset" value. Clicking that button seems to do something, but doesn't actually reset the iMeter Solo's internal counter. Here's what happens when clicking that button.

Code: Select all
2014-10-02 18:42:39.865   Sent INSTEON   "Family Room Entertainment Center" reset imeter accumulative totals
2014-10-02 18:42:41.545   Error   accumulative energy total near overflow -- send reset request to module
2014-10-02 18:42:41.546   Sent INSTEON   "Family Room Entertainment Center" imeter data request (received: 65528 W, -1.0000 kWh)
2014-10-02 18:42:41.546   Error   accumulative energy total near overflow -- send reset request to module

I also tried sending the raw reset command...

Code: Select all
2014-10-02 18:41:54.380   Sent INSTEON   "Family Room Entertainment Center" raw insteon command (80 00; ack: 00)
2014-10-02 18:42:02.110   Error   accumulative energy total near overflow -- send reset request to module
2014-10-02 18:42:20.435   Error   accumulative energy total near overflow -- send reset request to module
2014-10-02 18:42:20.435   Sent INSTEON   "Family Room Entertainment Center" imeter data request (received: 65528 W, -1.0000 kWh)
2014-10-02 18:42:20.436   Error   accumulative energy total near overflow -- send reset request to module

Am I missing something? Is there something wrong with my iMeter Solo maybe? I tried a Define and Sync on it, but that didn't fix things.

Code: Select all
2014-10-02 18:36:21.591   PowerLinc   Linking - entered discovery linking mode (240 seconds)
2014-10-02 18:36:24.238   PowerLinc   Linking - sending engine version request to 18.F5.77
2014-10-02 18:36:24.406   PowerLinc   Linking - received engine version 01 from 18.F5.77
2014-10-02 18:36:24.406   PowerLinc   Linking - sending id request for device information to 18.F5.77
2014-10-02 18:36:25.254   PowerLinc   Linking - received id request response from 18.F5.77
2014-10-02 18:36:27.768   PowerLinc   Linking - initializing remote device "Family Room Entertainment Center" (address 18.F5.77, firmware version 87)
2014-10-02 18:36:27.929   PowerLinc   Linking - initialize complete
2014-10-02 18:36:27.988   PowerLinc   Linking - syncing remote device "Family Room Entertainment Center" (address 18.F5.77, firmware version 87)
2014-10-02 18:36:30.510   PowerLinc   Linking - syncing all links
2014-10-02 18:36:31.801   PowerLinc   Linking - . . . read: INSTEON dev link to controller 22.40.F2, flags A2, group FE, data 00 00 00
2014-10-02 18:36:33.084   PowerLinc   Linking - comparing local and remote links
2014-10-02 18:36:33.085   PowerLinc   Linking - compare complete
2014-10-02 18:36:33.085   PowerLinc   Linking - sync complete
2014-10-02 18:36:33.319   PowerLinc   Linking - syncing PowerLinc links (address 22.40.F2)
2014-10-02 18:36:33.321   PowerLinc   Linking - . . adding: INSTEON plc link to controller 18.F5.77, flags 03, group 01, data 00 00 FF
2014-10-02 18:36:33.339   PowerLinc   Linking - . . adding: (not added -- probably already exists)
2014-10-02 18:36:33.339   PowerLinc   Linking - sync complete
2014-10-02 18:36:33.385   PowerLinc   Linking - device "Family Room Entertainment Center" links updated
2014-10-02 18:36:33.385   PowerLinc   Linking - PowerLinc links updated
2014-10-02 18:36:42.875   PowerLinc   Linking - exited linking mode

Posted on
Fri Oct 03, 2014 3:48 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 20380
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

It looks like it is in a bad state, presuming you don't really have a 65,000 watt load connected to it right now. :shock:

The kWh value being returned is also bad. I don't think it really overflowed. Even though Indigo has that warning, the actual overflow value is so high I don't think anyone will really hit it.

So try factory resetting it, then define/sync it again. If that doesn't work then I think it has malfunctioned.

Image

Posted on
Fri Oct 03, 2014 3:57 pm
nsheldon offline
Posts: 2299
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

Thanks Matt. I'll try that when I get home this evening. This happened once before (many moons ago) and a factory reset fixed the issue, until a few days ago obviously. :-) Maybe I got a funky firmware or something. Just wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something.

Posted on
Sun Jan 03, 2016 12:47 pm
2013automator offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 06, 2013

Re: Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

nsheldon,
Did resetting fix this?
I have the same issue and resetting it does not fix it for me.
Let me know how you fixed it.
Thanks!

Posted on
Sun Jan 03, 2016 1:44 pm
nsheldon offline
Posts: 2299
Joined: Aug 09, 2010
Location: CA

Re: Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

No. Unfortunately I never was able to get it working correctly again. I never bothered trying to have it replaced under warranty, though it probably would have been covered, and ended up throwing it in the recycle bin.

Posted on
Tue Jan 12, 2021 9:03 pm
2013automator offline
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 06, 2013

Re: Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

Matt,
I'm also having this issue.
What can be done?

Here's a typical dump of the iMeter values:

batteryLevel : None
buttonGroupCount : 0
configured : True
description : polling every 5 mins
deviceTypeId :
displayStateId : curEnergyLevel
displayStateImageSel : EnergyMeterOff
displayStateValRaw : 65535.0
displayStateValUi : 65535.000 W
enabled : True
energyAccumBaseTime : 2020-02-23 20:32:06
energyAccumTimeDelta : 417596
energyAccumTotal : 0.5036
energyCurLevel : 65535.0
errorState :
folderId : 245787554
globalProps : MetaProps : (dict)
id : 1922714153
lastChanged : 2020-02-28 16:32:02
lastSuccessfulComm : 2020-02-28 16:32:02
model : iMeter Solo
name : iMeter Solo
ownerProps : emptyDict : (dict)
pluginId :
pluginProps : emptyDict : (dict)
protocol : Insteon
remoteDisplay : True
sharedProps : com.indigodomo.indigoserver : (dict)
states : States : (dict)
accumEnergyTimeDelta : 417596 (integer)
accumEnergyTimeDelta.ui : 417596 seconds (string)
accumEnergyTotal : 0.5036 (real)
accumEnergyTotal.ui : 0.5036 kWh (string)
curEnergyLevel : 65535.000 (real)
curEnergyLevel.ui : 65535.000 W (string)
subModel :
supportsAllLightsOnOff : False
supportsAllOff : False
supportsStatusRequest : True
version : 48

Posted on
Thu Jan 14, 2021 3:23 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16557
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Resetting total usage of an iMeter Solo automatically

Looks like Nathan never figured out how to fix it. It likely has gone bad.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests