Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

Posted on
Sun Aug 02, 2020 9:36 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 4242
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

You need to change “ipaddress” in the link to the actual IP Address, to test if it’s working.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Mon Aug 03, 2020 4:09 am
colovin offline
Posts: 161
Joined: Oct 27, 2009

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

OK, so you need to have an actual brain to do this stuff? :) , However same result. Might I need a port number?
Attachments
screenshot_575.jpg
screenshot_575.jpg (22.3 KiB) Viewed 411 times

Indigo 7.1.1, OS 10.14.6, MacMini .3.2 GHz 6 Intel Core i7, 64 GB ram

Posted on
Fri Aug 07, 2020 1:07 am
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 815
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

Typically you connect to the Gateway. Can’t imagine that they would remove gateway web option.

Might need to connect to the gateways wifi connection (always on annoyingly) Named TEG-2GT.

Then go to the default IP address.

https://192.168.91.1/

Check Network tab and see if you wifi connection listed.

Glenn


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Aug 07, 2020 1:07 am
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 815
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

Typically you connect to the Gateway. Can’t imagine that they would remove gateway web option.

Might need to connect to the gateways wifi connection (always on annoyingly) Named TEG-2GT.

Then go to the default IP address.

https://192.168.91.1/

Check Network tab and see if you wifi connection listed.

Glenn


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Aug 07, 2020 3:22 am
colovin offline
Posts: 161
Joined: Oct 27, 2009

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

My network is TEG-H3Z. I guess that represents the 3rd generation? It asks for a password. My Tesla account pw doesn't work. The installer gave me a 10 character pw which didn't work. Somewhere I remember something saying the default pw is the last 4 digits of the serial number. While the first two pw tries brought back wrong password messages, the last 4 digits of the sn never came back with a message it just gives me a twirling wheel.

Indigo 7.1.1, OS 10.14.6, MacMini .3.2 GHz 6 Intel Core i7, 64 GB ram

Posted on
Fri Aug 07, 2020 5:34 am
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 815
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

colovin wrote:
My network is TEG-H3Z. I guess that represents the 3rd generation? It asks for a password. My Tesla account pw doesn't work. The installer gave me a 10 character pw which didn't work. Somewhere I remember something saying the default pw is the last 4 digits of the serial number. While the first two pw tries brought back wrong password messages, the last 4 digits of the sn never came back with a message it just gives me a twirling wheel.

Password is the whole serial number minus S
Normally STG112.. so is TG.etc.etc.


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Aug 07, 2020 3:44 pm
colovin offline
Posts: 161
Joined: Oct 27, 2009

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

I hate to be the problem child but my format isn't lining up. Mine is coming in at

(S) TSN: AT8xxxxxxxxxxx

I've tried several versions of it like:

TSNAT8 . . .
AT8.....

of course there's some 0 or O (hate it when that happens), tried them both

all are coming back as invalid password.

Indigo 7.1.1, OS 10.14.6, MacMini .3.2 GHz 6 Intel Core i7, 64 GB ram

Posted on
Fri Aug 07, 2020 3:47 pm
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 815
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin


Posted on
Fri Aug 07, 2020 5:43 pm
colovin offline
Posts: 161
Joined: Oct 27, 2009

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

Talk about having to be spoon fed, geese louise . . . I have no idea what the password is that the installer gave me because it does not match what was inside my gateway 2. Also didn't match the sticker on the bottom of the case which wasn't easy to get a picture of so I could read it . . .

I'm in peak time at the moment so I need the battery running so I can't shut it down right now but I did finally get on. Will this plug in only work if the gateway is running off of Wifi? The Tesla access point that's plugged into the router is at 192.168.1.85 which I've never been able to connect to. I don't see a place in the configuration for a password only the IP address.

Indigo 7.1.1, OS 10.14.6, MacMini .3.2 GHz 6 Intel Core i7, 64 GB ram

Posted on
Fri Aug 07, 2020 5:49 pm
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 815
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

Ok

The gateway needs to be connected to your wifi network - then the plugin can connect to it, and you can acccess via local IP if needed.

See the video in the prior link, starting 2:08 - updating network, wifi bit.

Won’t shut it down by updating the network.

Not sure what you mean by Tesla AP? Perhaps that is solar aspect ?- that is unrelated to this. The plugin just needs the gateway info.

You will need to setup network as video, and give the Gateway a static IP for plugin to use.

Not far away though!

Glenn


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Aug 14, 2020 2:30 pm
roquej offline
User avatar
Posts: 419
Joined: Jan 04, 2015

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

Just got two batteries installed today and configured the plugin. Thank you! However, I am getting the following error:

Tesla Battery Error Caught Exception in fillsiteinfo
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 585, in fillsiteinfo
device.updateStatesOnServer(stateList)
TypeError: state value type must be bool, int, real, or string

Any suggestions?

JP

Posted on
Fri Aug 14, 2020 3:24 pm
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 815
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

roquej wrote:
Just got two batteries installed today and configured the plugin. Thank you! However, I am getting the following error:

Tesla Battery Error Caught Exception in fillsiteinfo
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 585, in fillsiteinfo
device.updateStatesOnServer(stateList)
TypeError: state value type must be bool, int, real, or string

Any suggestions?

JP
Hi
That’s no good.
It’s probably a regional difference in what is reported, which I’ll need to correct for.
Can you turn on debug options,and PM me a debug log?
Thanks


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Fri Aug 14, 2020 5:32 pm
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 815
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

Thanks for the logs

Bigger issue was plugin store version was behind (had added change operational mode)

Updated plugin store version - give it a whirl

(also a few more site info data points based on your data)

Glenn


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Mon Oct 19, 2020 10:33 am
jonc offline
Posts: 6
Joined: Apr 19, 2016

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

Hi,
I am trying to integrate this plugin into my system. I have been using my own system utilizing curl and grep. No problem with install or creation of the devices. However, with debugging on I get the following:

Tesla Battery Error Caught Exception in fillsiteinfo
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 833, in fillmetersinfo
{'key': 'Solar', 'value': data['solar']['instant_power']},
KeyError: 'solar'

Also, none of the Tesla meters give anything other than a "0" value. The battery SOC and grid status appear OK.
Any suggestions?
Jon

Posted on
Mon Oct 19, 2020 2:50 pm
GlennNZ offline
Posts: 815
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Tesla Battery Gateway Plugin

jonc wrote:
Hi,
I am trying to integrate this plugin into my system. I have been using my own system utilizing curl and grep. No problem with install or creation of the devices. However, with debugging on I get the following:

Tesla Battery Error Caught Exception in fillsiteinfo
Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 833, in fillmetersinfo
{'key': 'Solar', 'value': data['solar']['instant_power']},
KeyError: 'solar'

Also, none of the Tesla meters give anything other than a "0" value. The battery SOC and grid status appear OK.
Any suggestions?
Jon

Hi

Sorry to here that. I suspect it will be a regional difference in the data that is returned.
Can you send me debug log (with all debug options checked) and I should be able to check the raw return and fix asap.

Glenn


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest