Page 1 of 2

Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2021 4:51 pm
by SearchCz
One of my favourite uses of Indigo is to get alerted when something in the home is out of whack. I would like to be able to set up some alerts based on info that my Ecobee thermostat and remote sensor know. I'm specifically looking to tap into things like the current temperature, the set point, the operating mode. Maybe even the motion sensor?

Anyways, it would be great to know what info is available to me, and how I can tap into it. Help?

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Tue Jun 29, 2021 4:53 pm
by FlyingDiver
Have you set up the Ecobee-2 plugin and looked at the data that's available? All of that is available from the Thermostat device, except the motion sensor, which is presented as it's own (Occupancy) device.

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 4:48 am
by SearchCz
FlyingDiver wrote:
Have you set up the Ecobee-2 plugin and looked at the data that's available? All of that is available from the Thermostat device, except the motion sensor, which is presented as it's own (Occupancy) device.


Where would I “look at the data that’s a available” ? Is the object model documents, or browse-able ?

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 4:58 am
by FlyingDiver
Generally easiest to look at the available states in a trigger definition. Like this:
Screen Shot 2021-06-30 at 6.55.13 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-06-30 at 6.55.13 AM.png (658.37 KiB) Viewed 3592 times


There's also some custom states:

Screen Shot 2021-06-30 at 6.55.49 AM.png
Screen Shot 2021-06-30 at 6.55.49 AM.png (130.65 KiB) Viewed 3592 times

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 10:40 am
by SearchCz
FlyingDiver wrote:
Generally easiest to look at the available states in a trigger definition. Like this:
Screen Shot 2021-06-30 at 6.55.13 AM.png


There's also some custom states:

Screen Shot 2021-06-30 at 6.55.49 AM.png


This is perfect ! I totally skipped looking at "device state" and wrongly looked only at the "plugin" section of trigger type. This should do the trick. Thanks for your help!

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 10:59 am
by FlyingDiver
SearchCz wrote:

This is perfect ! I totally skipped looking at "device state" and wrongly looked only at the "plugin" section of trigger type. This should do the trick. Thanks for your help!


Custom plugin triggers are generally only for things that cannot be determined solely from the state values. In most cases, triggering on changes to the device state is sufficient.

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 4:01 pm
by SearchCz
FlyingDiver wrote:
Generally easiest to look at the available states in a trigger definition. Like this:
Screen Shot 2021-06-30 at 6.55.13 AM.png


There's also some custom states:

Screen Shot 2021-06-30 at 6.55.49 AM.png


Any idea if there is a way to tell if the thermostat is calling for AUX heat ?

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 4:09 pm
by FlyingDiver
SearchCz wrote:
Any idea if there is a way to tell if the thermostat is calling for AUX heat ?


I don't know. None of my HVAC systems have that. And I don't see anything about that specifically in the API docs.

Try this: Force your unit into AUX Heat on, wait for an update, then use the "Write Thermostat Data to Log" menu command. Post that and we'll see if there's any info that's relevant.

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 7:13 pm
by SearchCz
Looks like "hvacMode" has something to say about aux heat ?
Code: Select all
Jun 30, 2021 at 9:12:29 PM
   Ecobee 2                        {
    "521725513861": {
        "actualHumidity": 48,
        "actualTemperature": 759,
        "brand": "ecobee",
        "climates": {
            "away": "Away",
            "home": "Home",
            "sleep": "Sleep"
        },
        "currentClimate": "home",
        "desiredCool": 920,
        "desiredFanMode": "auto",
        "desiredHeat": 689,
        "equipmentStatus": "",
        "fanMinOnTime": 0,
        "features": "Home,HomeKit",
        "hvacMode": "auxHeatOnly",
        "internal": {
            "humidity": "48",
            "occupancy": "true",
            "temperature": "804"
        },
        "latestEventType": "hold",
        "modelNumber": "vulcanSmart",
        "name": "Main Floor",
        "remotes": {
            "5WFS": {
                "name": "Downstairs",
                "occupancy": "true",
                "temperature": "718",
                "thermostat": "521725513861"
            }
        }
    }
}
   Ecobee 2                        {
    "5WFS": {
        "name": "Downstairs",
        "occupancy": "true",
        "temperature": "718",
        "thermostat": "521725513861"
    }
}

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Wed Jun 30, 2021 7:19 pm
by FlyingDiver
Yeah, so Indigo doesn't have a thermostat mode like that, so it's mapped to the standard "heat" mode.

Create an enhancement request issue on GitHub and I'll add a new state with the raw HVAC mode. https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-Ecobee-2/issues

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2021 9:19 am
by SearchCz
FlyingDiver wrote:
Yeah, so Indigo doesn't have a thermostat mode like that, so it's mapped to the standard "heat" mode.

Create an enhancement request issue on GitHub and I'll add a new state with the raw HVAC mode. https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-Ecobee-2/issues

will do. thanks!

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Thu Jul 01, 2021 11:39 am
by FlyingDiver
Added 'hvacMode' custom state:

Screen Shot 2021-07-01 at 1.36.58 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-07-01 at 1.36.58 PM.png (117.63 KiB) Viewed 3446 times


Which can be used in a trigger:

Screen Shot 2021-07-01 at 1.36.30 PM.png
Screen Shot 2021-07-01 at 1.36.30 PM.png (331.5 KiB) Viewed 3446 times


I need to finish uploading to GitHub and then update the store.

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Sun Jul 04, 2021 3:01 pm
by SearchCz
Working great for me. Thanks again for the help!

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2021 3:33 pm
by SearchCz
How would I et a look at any f these device state values in a python script ?

Re: Visibility to Ecobee Data

PostPosted: Wed Aug 11, 2021 3:35 pm
by FlyingDiver
SearchCz wrote:
How would I et a look at any f these device state values in a python script ?


https://wiki.indigodomo.com/doku.php?id ... vice_state

Code: Select all
# get the device
dev = indigo.devices[23989834]  # Some custom device
# access the state through the states property, use the key
# that's displayed in the Custom States tile on the main window
# when you have a custom device selected
print dev.states["someDeviceStateKey"]

# show all the device states (use unicode() to print special chars correctly):
print unicode(dev.states)


Except, you can't use the label in the popup shown a couple posts up. You need the name from the list, or right click on the name in the list and get the python reference.