FW Issues

Posted on
Thu Mar 12, 2020 9:40 am
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2215
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

FW Issues

The other day I started getting odd data from my FW plugin.
The forecast and local temps aren’t even close to other weather stations.
Using v.05.02

Any idea what may be happening?

Thanks,

Carl
Attachments
B462C72F-8E27-4846-AD52-D4CED51282CE.jpeg
B462C72F-8E27-4846-AD52-D4CED51282CE.jpeg (52.68 KiB) Viewed 318 times

Posted on
Thu Mar 12, 2020 12:28 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5601
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: FW Issues

I suspect that Dark Sky are having trouble with your location. The plugin performs no math on the data that's delivered by the API--with the exception of converting imperial/metric where needed, etc. If the data don't normalize soon, try setting a different location and see if that makes a difference.

As an added test, I compared my plugin data to the Dark Sky app on my phone and both are in agreement.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Thu Mar 12, 2020 1:17 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2215
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: FW Issues

Thanks Dave. I’ll report back when something changes.

Curious about why regardless of what latitude and longitude I enter
into the devices it always shows 0 except for the Astronomy device?

Carl
Attachments
0DAB5032-B8F2-41D9-9ABE-0EB7D3356D3B.jpeg
0DAB5032-B8F2-41D9-9ABE-0EB7D3356D3B.jpeg (87.84 KiB) Viewed 288 times

Posted on
Thu Mar 12, 2020 1:54 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5601
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: FW Issues

Is that still the case after the device has had a chance to refresh on its own? I just created a new device and it's showing as I'd expect.

Screen Shot 2020-03-12 at 2.54.03 PM.png
Screen Shot 2020-03-12 at 2.54.03 PM.png (11.98 KiB) Viewed 280 times

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:29 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2215
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: FW Issues

Well, after entering some minor variations of the latitude and longitude it seems to be working again.

Thanks,

Carl

Posted on
Thu Mar 12, 2020 6:31 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5601
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: FW Issues

Thanks for letting me know.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Wed Oct 14, 2020 1:13 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2215
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: FW Issues

Haven’t changed anything since the last posts on the subject but again am seeing wildly different numbers in the forecast device
than any other services. Sometimes as much as 25° differences.

Maybe something else has changed?

Thanks,

Carl

Posted on
Wed Oct 14, 2020 3:08 pm
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 5601
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: FW Issues

The plugin doesn't make any changes to temperature values beyond precision. I suspect that it's a problem with the data that's being provided by the API.

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Wed Oct 14, 2020 5:29 pm
ckeyes888 offline
Posts: 2215
Joined: Nov 26, 2009
Location: Kalispell, MT

Re: FW Issues

Ok, thanks Dave.

Carl

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest