topic adjacent: taycan control?

User avatar
durosity
Posts: 4381
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 3:21 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by durosity »

neilk wrote:Funny you should post this, I may be in a position to get this now. I will take a look.
Neil
If you buy me a Taycan I’ll happily test your plugin for you for free [emoji6]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Computer says no.
neilk
Posts: 727
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:51 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by neilk »

So the early investigation is not promising for a plugin, the API documentation is for a paid third party broker service not direct. I haven’t looked at the alternate app source code and the Python library requires frequent revalidation of a Captcha in browser to authenticate which is not going to fly. I will do so more digging.
Neil
dtich
Posts: 844
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 10:32 pm

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by dtich »

ooh. bummer. does the api used in the GitHub project require the same?
neilk
Posts: 727
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:51 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by neilk »

That is what I will need to look at. I did also look at Tronity which is another paid service but with consumer pricing and they provide an API, I will also look at that again but it would be a lot more complex than the Python project.
dtich
Posts: 844
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 10:32 pm

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by dtich »

Wish it were easier. Tesla was iirc.
User avatar
durosity
Posts: 4381
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 3:21 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by durosity »

This wouldn’t be an ideal solution, but have you considered setting up a minimal Home Assistant setup, configuring it in there with “HACS” (https://github.com/CJNE/ha-porscheconnect), and then reading that information into Indigo using FlyingDiver’s wonderful Home Assistant Agent plugin?

https://www.indigodomo.com/pluginstore/200/

I find HA a rather clunky mess, and it sure ain’t close to stable enough to replace Indigo, but it does have a lot of integrations that aren’t available in indigo, and using this I’ve been able to get data from and to my Renault Zoe using this setup, along with a few other things that are kinda useful.
Computer says no.
dtich
Posts: 844
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 10:32 pm

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by dtich »

yeah. anything described as a rather clunky mess -- i stay away from. :D

minimally seems i would have to instance a vm on my server and install on that. high potential for interferences. i think i'm gonna avoid HA at this point. but thanks much for the thought! very reasonable idea.
User avatar
durosity
Posts: 4381
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 3:21 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by durosity »

dtich wrote:yeah. anything described as a rather clunky mess -- i stay away from. :D

minimally seems i would have to instance a vm on my server and install on that. high potential for interferences. i think i'm gonna avoid HA at this point. but thanks much for the thought! very reasonable idea.
Fair, just thought I’d suggest it in case it helped! If in the future you want to revisit the idea feel free to send me a message if you need any help with setup. [emoji846]


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Computer says no.
dtich
Posts: 844
Joined: Sat Sep 24, 2005 10:32 pm

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by dtich »

super cool, thanks @durosity.
neilk
Posts: 727
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:51 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by neilk »

I am also pretty sure the HA integration suffers from the same issue with the Captcha from what I can see on the forums, it seems like Porsche have changed or are changing the web front end that this integration relied on.
User avatar
durosity
Posts: 4381
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 3:21 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by durosity »

neilk wrote:I am also pretty sure the HA integration suffers from the same issue with the Captcha from what I can see on the forums, it seems like Porsche have changed or are changing the web front end that this integration relied on.
Ah that’s unfortunate! Thanks for the info!


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Computer says no.
neilk
Posts: 727
Joined: Mon Jul 13, 2015 1:51 pm
Location: Reading, UK

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by neilk »

I know, I was just about to place an order for my beta tester too
User avatar
durosity
Posts: 4381
Joined: Thu May 10, 2012 3:21 pm
Location: Newcastle Upon Tyne, Ye Ol' England.

Re: topic adjacent: taycan control?

Post by durosity »

neilk wrote:I know, I was just about to place an order for my beta tester too
Tbh if I can’t integrate it into Indigo, what’s the point in having one anyway?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Computer says no.
Post Reply

Return to “Tesla EV Control”