Energy Consumption In Grafana

Posted on
Wed Nov 11, 2020 9:18 am
Sharek326 offline

Energy Consumption In Grafana

Has anyone attempted to build anything out in Grafana focusing on energy cost. For example if you have a Aeon Labs Energy Meter and are already capturing the usage is there a way to build the graph to identify daily weekly or even monthly energy cost. Im kinda new to using this and trying to dip my toe in.

Posted on
Tue Jan 05, 2021 9:49 pm
sumocomputers offline

Re: Energy Consumption In Grafana

I know this reply is late, but I am doing something similar with my TED energy monitor. Very high level, this is what I am doing:

FOR DAILY USAGE
1. I have a schedule to run every 1 second that queries the energy usage and writes this value to a variable (temp_running_usage)
2. I have another schedule that runs every 1 second that takes that variable, divides by 3600, and writes that to another variable (true_running_usage)
3. I have another schedule that resets both variables at Midnight
4. I have Grafana look at the true_running_usage variable

FOR DAILY COST
1. First I have a variable that is our electricity rate. Since we are on Time of Use, I have a schedules that update that rate at the appropriate times and dates (current_rate)
2. I then have a schedule that runs every 1 second that takes the true_running_usage variable above and multiplies it by the current_rate, and writes this to another variable (current_cost)
3. I have Grafana look at the current_cost variable

I found it important to have all the values use at least 4 digits on the right of the decimal to keep things accurate.

I attached a few Grafana dashboard & config screenshots. I also have a near real time dashboard for my phone which I have included.

I can share all the Python that lives in the different schedules, and appropriate screenshots if you like.

Screen Shot 2021-01-05 at 6.54.00 PM.jpeg
Screen Shot 2021-01-05 at 6.54.00 PM.jpeg (180.54 KiB) Viewed 4747 times