Page 1 of 2

Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:05 am
by jenkins007
I have the Rachio Gen 3 8-zone controller. When attempting to add it to Indigo I get this error:
Rachio Sprinklers Error Error in plugin execution GetUiDynamicList:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File "plugin.py", line 476, in availableControllers
File "plugin.py", line 242, in _get_device_dict
AttributeError: 'Plugin' object has no attribute 'person'


How the gen 3 works is pretty remarkable and the website controls are good. Since I have a weather station that I transmit data to my PWS (KTXSEGUI14 via WeatherCat) less than 100 yards away and Rachio uses Weather Sense to collect data from that specific one to manage soil moisture, I am not sure the value of complete integration into Indigo compared to the EZflora where Indigo monitored the weather and managed the watering. But at least a URL on the indigo control page to link them together.

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 12:53 pm
by FlyingDiver
File an issue here: https://github.com/IndigoDomotics/rachio-indigo/issues

Make sure you've got the auth token in the config dialog, and then restart the plugin. Then try to add the device.

I'm digging into the Rachio code now for other reasons so I'll take a look at it. I might need to roll a debug version for you to try.

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:11 pm
by jenkins007
I'll file an issue. I put in the api key multiple times: new device configure as Rachio, add key, not luck. Delete device, add another api key already there, still no luck. Repeat... same result.

Possibly new format of data on the rachio site? To get the api key I have to login, click on my controller, then click on account settings, then click on GET API KEY.

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 3:51 pm
by FlyingDiver
jenkins007 wrote:
I'll file an issue. I put in the api key multiple times: new device configure as Rachio, add key, not luck. Delete device, add another api key already there, still no luck. Repeat... same result.

Possibly new format of data on the rachio site? To get the api key I have to login, click on my controller, then click on account settings, then click on GET API KEY.


I expect you're right and the data format/contents have changed. Please do the following in a Terminal window, and post the results in the GitHub issue. Make substitutions where noted.

Code: Select all
$ curl -H "Content-Type: application/json" -H "Authorization: Bearer <<<YOUR API KEY HERE>>>" "https://api.rach.io/1/public/person/info"

Result will look something like:   {"id":"04xxxef1-8xx4-4xx2-add0-03975xxxxxx6"}

$ curl -H "Content-Type: application/json" -H "Authorization: Bearer <<<YOUR API KEY HERE>>>" "https://api.rach.io/1/public/device/<<< ID FROM STEP 1 HERE>>>"


The last command will dump a big block of text. Just copy that to the Github issue.

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 7:22 am
by jenkins007
I wanted to follow up and close this issue. After unsuccessfully attempting to complete the simple commands many times, FlyingDiver and I decided to close the issue. While the first command worked each time providing the ID, the second one never completed. As I was copying and pasting and trying different permutations of spaces and no spaces, quotes and no quotes, it possibly could be the login process for the Gen 3 is different. Either way, the interface via the Rachio web interface is full featured. So instead of spending more time trouble shooting for both of us, an external URL on the indigo web page to access the Gen 3 controllers works. Thank you FlyingDiver for trying and for the quick responses!

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Mon Feb 18, 2019 8:37 am
by FlyingDiver
jenkins007 wrote:
I wanted to follow up and close this issue. After unsuccessfully attempting to complete the simple commands many times, FlyingDiver and I decided to close the issue. While the first command worked each time providing the ID, the second one never completed. As I was copying and pasting and trying different permutations of spaces and no spaces, quotes and no quotes, it possibly could be the login process for the Gen 3 is different. Either way, the interface via the Rachio web interface is full featured. So instead of spending more time trouble shooting for both of us, an external URL on the indigo web page to access the Gen 3 controllers works. Thank you FlyingDiver for trying and for the quick responses!


After looking at this thread again this morning, I realized that I left a step out of the instructions. Mea Culpa.

The first step gets the person id, which is like the account id.
Code: Select all
$ curl -H "Content-Type: application/json" -H "Authorization: Bearer API-KEY" "https://api.rach.io/1/public/person/info"

Result will look something like:
Code: Select all
 {"id":"04xxxef1-8xx4-4xx2-add0-03975xxxxxx6"}

The second command needs to say "person" not "device. This command gets the information about the person (account), including the list of devices on the account.
Code: Select all
$ curl -H "Content-Type: application/json" -H "Authorization: Bearer  API-KEY" "https://api.rach.io/1/public/person/04xxxef1-8xx4-4xx2-add0-03975xxxxxx6"


The result will have a section that looks like this. This will appear multiple times if you have more than one Rachio controller.
Code: Select all
"devices":[{"createDate":1549380657000,"id":"6b7ef9ad-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-f71a1e891221","status":"ONLINE",

Then do the actual command to get the device info:
Code: Select all
$ curl -H "Content-Type: application/json" -H "Authorization: Bearer  API-KEY" "https://api.rach.io/1/public/person/6b7ef9ad-xxxx-xxxx-xxxx-f71a1e891221"

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:42 pm
by LeeButler
I am considering buying a Rachio 3e, does the plug-in work with the series 3?

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 4:54 pm
by FlyingDiver
LeeButler wrote:
I am considering buying a Rachio 3e, does the plug-in work with the series 3?


No idea. Don't have one to test.

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Tue Jun 09, 2020 7:29 pm
by jay (support)
Me neither...

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2020 10:22 am
by joeyg724
Hello, new to forums, but been using Indigo for about 6yrs. I just recently got the Rachio 3 controller, but when creating the device it can't find any devices. I've tried all the usual deleting it, reinstalling plugin, api-key. Just checking to see if this is a new known issue before I spend a lot of time diagnosing it. Thanks in advance!

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2020 10:43 am
by FlyingDiver
Not a known issue, but you might be the first user with a Gen3 controller. I might need to create a new version of the plugin with extra debug logging to see what's going on.

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2020 12:18 pm
by joeyg724
Ok, I’m happy to try things out or help if I can!

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Sun Jul 05, 2020 1:22 pm
by FlyingDiver
joeyg724 wrote:
Ok, I’m happy to try things out or help if I can!


Any chance you would lend me your API key so I can test directly? If so, PM it to me.

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2021 12:20 pm
by EagleDTW
Hi Joe,

I got the HTTPd2 working great - but now I'm having this issue, any chance you've seen this before and know how to alleviate it?
Apr 16, 2021 at 11:12:29 AM
Rachio Sprinklers Error exception in deviceStartComm(Witkin Rachio): 429 Client Error: Too Many Requests for url: https://api.rach.io/1/public/notificati ... event_type
Rachio Sprinklers Error API calls have violated rate limit - next connection attempt at 11:13:29
Rachio Sprinklers Error Error getting user data from Rachio via API.

Does the HTTPd2 setup get around API calls or is it still an issue - maybe it's a config issue that I'm not aware of?

Thank you,
Daniel

Re: Rachio Gen 3

PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2021 12:24 pm
by FlyingDiver
Did you reduce the polling interval in the plugin config?