Roomba e-series?

Posted on
Sun Apr 19, 2020 1:45 am
dduff617 offline

Roomba e-series?

I have a Roomba E-series (E6 model).

It is new (to me, at least), It is not listed in the supported models.

Anyone know if this model is not supported because it is too new? Or does it lack required functionality to work with the plugin? (I gather it is a low-end model, but it definitely has WiFi and works with the Roomba App).

I made a few attempts at getting it to talk to the plugin - from the logs, there appeared to be some communication happening, but I could not seem to get the "get password" button to succeed.

Posted on
Sun Apr 19, 2020 1:50 am
GlennNZ offline

Roomba e-series?

Hi

Not sure - but seems should be possible to support.

Try all the security options - including with and without the checkbox regarding Force SSL, as you press getpassword.

Welcome to PM or post the output received?

Timezone will catch up with us now, but happy to have a look next day or so.

Glenn

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun Apr 19, 2020 2:04 am
dduff617 offline

Re: Roomba e-series?

Thanks for the response. I'll pursue this and would be happy to help any way I can .

First, as background, I'll note that this Roomba is already set up and working with the iRobot IOS app. I mention that just in case setting it up that way might somehow mess up the ability to work with the plugin.

Quick sanity-check question: When roomba is sitting on the charger, I hit and hold the home button for a long time and nothing happens. I presume Roomba needs to be "woken" first. So I try a short press of home button, then it shows some LED lights.