Roomba Plugin Broken

Posted on
Sun Feb 12, 2017 4:46 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3289
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Roomba Plugin Broken

iRobot release version 2.0.0-34 of the Roomba firmware, which changed the network protocol used to communicate with the robot. As a result, the plugin is unusable until the new protocol is reverse engineered.

Progress is being made on this (not by me), and as soon as a working implementation is available, I will update the plugin. If you're interested in following progress on this, go to https://github.com/koalazak/dorita980/issues/10

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Tue Feb 14, 2017 4:27 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3289
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Roomba Plugin Broken

Well, the new API has been reverse engineered, but the only implementation is in JavaScript, and it uses the MQTT protocol (instead of HTTP). So it's going to take a few days to get it ported to Python.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:10 pm
GlennNZ online
Posts: 617
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Roomba Plugin Broken

Good luck!
I can't stand javascript.

(I did look at script to convert from javascript to python - which seemed to work but produced the most unreadable code I have ever seen and didn't really seem like a good solution.)

Glenn

Posted on
Thu May 25, 2017 9:56 pm
GlennNZ online
Posts: 617
Joined: Dec 07, 2014
Location: Central Coast, Australia

Re: Roomba Plugin Broken

Hi Joe,

I have rewritten plugin/used it as base to work with new firmware and mqtt protocol.

See here:
viewtopic.php?f=222&t=18426

Glenn

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest