Where how do I create the dummy device?

Posted on
Tue Mar 05, 2019 12:34 pm
Sjack offline
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 05, 2019

Where how do I create the dummy device?

Hi,

I installed the plugin it is green under Plugins menu item.
The Installation notes, state that a "dummy" device type called Z-Wave Watcher will be create.
You should create a dummy device. If I create a new device the options do not show the ZWave Watcher device type.
So I'm stuck for now.

I'm trying to use the plugin to debug a Ecolink flood sensor.

Thank and regards,
Jacob

Posted on
Tue Mar 05, 2019 12:43 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 4281
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

Hi Jacob

It should just be an option under New Device > ZWave Watcher > ZWave Watcher from memory.

There’s nothing fancy about it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Tue Mar 05, 2019 5:03 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 4281
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

Image

Screenshot


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Tue Mar 05, 2019 8:05 pm
Sjack offline
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 05, 2019

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

Hi
That doesn't show up on my install see screenshots
I'm running Indigo 7.2 with the plugin v1.0.5 on MacOS Mojave 10.14.3.

I disabled other plugins I use Cynical Security Spy, iTunes.

Do I need to install enable something else?

Thanks and regards,
Jacob
Attachments
Screenshot 2019-03-05 at 19.51.53.png
No option to choose Z-Wave Watcher under Create New Device
Screenshot 2019-03-05 at 19.51.53.png (467.31 KiB) Viewed 1266 times

Posted on
Wed Mar 06, 2019 1:17 am
howartp offline
Posts: 4281
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

In that case the plugin isn’t installed (correctly).


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Sat Mar 09, 2019 9:38 am
Sjack offline
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 05, 2019

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

So where do I go from here? :?

I used this sequence:
I disabled the plugin, removed it from the system, downloaded the plugin from the plugin store.
Started the server, double clicked the plugin. got attached screenshot "Install....".
Clicked Install and Enable. Got confirmation that plugin was installed in the event log:
Mar 9, 2019 at 09:10:02
Installing and enabling plugin Z-Wave Watcher v1.0.5
Loading plugin "Z-Wave Watcher 1.0.5"
Starting plugin "Z-Wave Watcher 1.0.5" (pid 49607)
Started plugin "Z-Wave Watcher 1.0.5"
Z-Wave Watcher Debug startup called
As stated before the plugin shows green in the PlugIn menu item, see screenshot: " Z-wave...".

The example Z-wave Listener seems to work as I got some output from that in the event log:
Mar 9, 2019 at 09:36:18
Enabling plugin "Example Z-Wave Listener 1.0.0"
Starting plugin "Example Z-Wave Listener 1.0.0" (pid 49788)
Started plugin "Example Z-Wave Listener 1.0.0"
Example Z-Wave Listener Debug startup called -- subscribing to all incoming and outgoing Z-Wave commands

Mar 9, 2019 at 09:36:54
Example Z-Wave Listener Debug received: 01 14 00 04 00 06 0E 32 02 21 44 00 00 00 C2 01 2D 00 00 00 C2 9E (node 006)
Example Z-Wave Listener Debug received: 01 14 00 04 00 04 0E 32 02 21 44 00 00 00 C2 01 2D 00 00 00 C2 9C (node 004)
Example Z-Wave Listener Debug received: 01 14 00 04 00 06 0E 32 02 21 54 00 00 00 00 01 2D 00 00 00 00 8E (node 006)
Example Z-Wave Listener Debug received: 01 14 00 04 00 04 0E 32 02 21 54 00 00 00 00 01 2D 00 00 00 00 8C (node 004)
Example Z-Wave Listener Debug received: 01 10 00 04 00 06 0A 32 02 A1 42 2F C1 01 2D 2F C8 11 (node 006)
Example Z-Wave Listener Debug received: 01 10 00 04 00 04 0A 32 02 A1 42 2F F0 01 2D 2F FC 16 (node 004)
Example Z-Wave Listener Debug received: 01 10 00 04 00 06 0A 32 02 A1 4A 00 00 01 2D 00 00 10 (node 006)
Example Z-Wave Listener Debug received: 01 10 00 04 00 04 0A 32 02 A1 4A 00 00 01 2D 00 00 12 (node 004)

Thanks and regards,
Jacob
Attachments
Screenshot 2019-03-09 at 09.12.15.png
Z-wave watcher plugin green
Screenshot 2019-03-09 at 09.12.15.png (451.25 KiB) Viewed 1185 times
Screenshot 2019-03-09 at 09.09.47.png
Install plugin "Z-wave Watcher"
Screenshot 2019-03-09 at 09.09.47.png (346.69 KiB) Viewed 1185 times

Posted on
Sat Mar 09, 2019 6:08 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 4281
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

Can you right click the zwavewatcher.indugoplugin file in Finder, and ‘Show package contents’?

In /Contents/Server Plugin/ there should be devices.xml

Is that present?


Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk Pro

Posted on
Sun Mar 10, 2019 5:47 pm
Sjack offline
Posts: 8
Joined: Mar 05, 2019

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

Thank you for your support.
Yes there is a devices.xml file and this is it's content.
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>

<Devices>
   <!-- This custom device illustrates how a plugin can update custom device
   states which can be used in Device State Changed triggers, conditionals,
   and inspected on Control Pages. The python runConcurrentThread() method
   will update the states every second.
   -->
   <Device type="custom" id="zwatch">
      <Name>ZWave Watcher</Name>
      <ConfigUI>
         <Field id="deviceId" type="menu">
            <Label>ZWave Device:</Label>
            <List class="indigo.devices" filter="indigo.zwave"/>
         </Field>
      </ConfigUI>
   </Device>

</Devices>


The content under Contents is:
Code: Select all
File: Info.plist
Folder: Resources
       File: icon.png
Folder: Server Plugin
       File:  plugin.py
       File: devices.xml


The downloaded plugin also had a Thumbs.db file under resources, which I removed after the first install didn't work. I didn't expect removing the windows catch file would have an impact, but it seemed cleaner to me.

Thanks.

Posted on
Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:57 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 4281
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

In that case we need Matt/Jay's help.

Your Indigo isn't working properly.

Peter

Posted on
Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:05 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 20632
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

I'm not sure what could be going wrong here.

Quit and relaunch the Indigo client (Indigo 7->Quit menu). Does it then work?

If not, then stop and restart the Indigo Server (Indigo 7->Stop Server menu item). Does it then work?

Image

Posted on
Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:08 pm
matt (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 20632
Joined: Jan 27, 2003
Location: Texas

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

Actually, I just remembered what this one is. Rename the file:

Server Plugin/devices.xml

to have a capital D:

Server Plugin/Devices.xml

and it will work. You have your HD formatted to be case sensitive. I generally recommend against that as it can cause subtle bugs like this to surface (not just in Indigo).

(Peter: can you update that file name in the project?)

Image

Posted on
Sun Mar 17, 2019 4:28 pm
howartp offline
Posts: 4281
Joined: Jan 09, 2014
Location: West Yorkshire, UK

Re: Where how do I create the dummy device?

matt (support) wrote:
(Peter: can you update that file name in the project?)

Done.

v1.0.7 on the pluginstore.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron