Page 1 of 1

Make a motion sensor device from a SecuritySpy camera?

PostPosted: Sun May 12, 2019 6:31 pm
by emergent
Is this possible and how would you go about it? I want to make a motion sensor device that changes stastes when the camera detects motion.

Re: Make a motion sensor device from a SecuritySpy camera?

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 5:53 am
by norcoscia
I set up a variable with a motion trigger - then use the variable to change the icon on my control pages. I guess you could do the same with a virtual device -- if you really need it to be a device but I have never tried it that way (I don't think). Hope that helps!

Re: Make a motion sensor device from a SecuritySpy camera?

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 4:40 pm
by emergent
I assumed it would be something like that. I have no idea how to do it though unfortunately.

Re: Make a motion sensor device from a SecuritySpy camera?

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 4:52 pm
by norcoscia
Create a variable set it to off

Then create a trigger on camera motion - pick the camera (under edit event settings) like the one below

do whatever you want in the action of that trigger - I set the variable to on, start a two min. timer then set it to off (for the control page).

Let me know if I can help or if that is what you are looking for :-)

Re: Make a motion sensor device from a SecuritySpy camera?

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 4:56 pm
by emergent
Sorry, that part I have no issue with and is what I did. Once I get to that point I'm not sure how to make the virtual device.

I go to make a virtual device, but I don't know to use the trigger since it's asking for Action Group information.

Re: Make a motion sensor device from a SecuritySpy camera?

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 5:10 pm
by norcoscia
I think you can just create the virtual device - no need to assign an action group for on or off - then just toggle it on or off in the trigger of the security spy event as needed....

Re: Make a motion sensor device from a SecuritySpy camera?

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 5:21 pm
by emergent
I wish that was the case. You need to assign an action group, unfortunately.

Re: Make a motion sensor device from a SecuritySpy camera?

PostPosted: Mon May 13, 2019 11:58 pm
by siclark
Try the meta device relay. That can be a dummy switch with no action. Think it needs the plugin installed though.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Re: Make a motion sensor device from a SecuritySpy camera?

PostPosted: Tue May 14, 2019 4:20 am
by norcoscia
It only need an action group if you want it to do something when it changes on/off state - I have one set up that way - you can then just change it with a trigger. It would help if you explained what your trying to accomplish and why you need the device / vice just using a variable?

If you do want it to do something just make an action group for what it does when on and off

Action groups are just a bunch of trigger actions - I'm no expert so maybe someone using more action groups than me can help.