Python access to the Forecast device

Posted on
Fri Mar 22, 2024 6:01 am
pnm offline
Posts: 59
Joined: Dec 03, 2014
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Python access to the Forecast device

I've created a day zero forecast device called WeatherToday which appears to be working. I can't get the syntax right to get the max temperature in a script.

I would have thought it would be indigo.devices["WeatherToday"].tempmax but its not.

What is the correct syntax?

Posted on
Fri Mar 22, 2024 10:21 am
racarter offline
User avatar
Posts: 480
Joined: Jun 18, 2016
Location: North Yorkshire, UK

Re: Python access to the Forecast device

Code: Select all
weather = indigo.devices[12345678]
value_you_want = weather.states["tempmax"]

Posted on
Fri Mar 22, 2024 11:40 am
pnm offline
Posts: 59
Joined: Dec 03, 2014
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Python access to the Forecast device

Thanks

Posted on
Sat May 11, 2024 11:54 am
pnm offline
Posts: 59
Joined: Dec 03, 2014
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Python access to the Forecast device

I've setup two triggers on the Maximum Temperature so set and unset a boolean variable, but they don't appear to be firing even though tempmax is over 20c.

Have I done something wrong?
Attachments
Screenshot 2024-05-11 185601.png
Screenshot 2024-05-11 185601.png (15.51 KiB) Viewed 548 times
Screenshot 2024-05-11 185105.png
Screenshot 2024-05-11 185105.png (13.61 KiB) Viewed 552 times

Posted on
Sun May 12, 2024 8:33 am
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8382
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Python access to the Forecast device

A I would not use a . in a name. It has a special function in python. It will likely work but …
Use a _ instead.

Your trigger is „becomes“ not „is“
I guess you need to wait until it goes from 17 to 18

Or you set it to 20 to make it happen earlier


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun May 12, 2024 9:11 am
pnm offline
Posts: 59
Joined: Dec 03, 2014
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Python access to the Forecast device

Its obviously passed through 18 to get to 20, but the variable is still false. If I run the trigger manually it gets set to true so the action part works. I'm not sure how to debug this now.

Posted on
Sun May 12, 2024 12:21 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8382
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Python access to the Forecast device

When did it pass through 18. today ? Only at that point in time when it goes through that value it triggers.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun May 12, 2024 12:56 pm
pnm offline
Posts: 59
Joined: Dec 03, 2014
Location: Yorkshire, UK

Re: Python access to the Forecast device

I can't tell at the moment, I'm now sending myself an email with the variable value and the forecast temperature so I'll know when it passes back as the value is now true having been set manually.

Posted on
Sun May 12, 2024 1:15 pm
kw123 offline
User avatar
Posts: 8382
Joined: May 12, 2013
Location: Dallas, TX

Re: Python access to the Forecast device

The plugin indigo utilities has a menu item that lets you query the sql db. Then you can see when states , variables change / have changed


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Posted on
Sun May 12, 2024 1:54 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7257
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Python access to the Forecast device

pnm wrote:
I can't tell at the moment, I'm now sending myself an email with the variable value and the forecast temperature so I'll know when it passes back as the value is now true having been set manually.


An alternative is to create a scheduled event (run every minute or so) that has a conditional to see if the temp is above your limit.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest