Just A Question

Posted on
Wed Jan 11, 2023 10:49 pm
jltnol offline

Just A Question

So I've been using this plugin for several years now, and all is STILL going well. Tonight I just decided to "mess around" a bit, and tried to create a Weather Forecast Chart, but can't select a "Source Device". Same is true for a Weather Forecast Composite Chart. It has occurred to me that I need to create something else FIRST, but don't see what that might be. And also thinking this might have been designed around the old Dark Sky plugin(which I assume created a device that could be used here...) but am not sure.

I do have a NOAA Weather Plus device for my area, but it too doesn't show up.

Just asking if I'm missing something here....

Posted on
Thu Jan 12, 2023 7:38 am
DaveL17 offline

Re: Just A Question

Glad to hear the plugin has been working well for you.

You assume right. The plugin doesn't support any other weather sources (I limited it to these two sources because I also control the structure of the source data). See: Matplotlib Plugin Weather Device Types

I'll add a combination device type to my TODO list for this plugin -- perhaps a generic line/bar chart with the ability to add individual sources to each line/bar and then folks can "roll their own".

Screenshot 2023-01-12 at 7.29.08 AM.png
Screenshot 2023-01-12 at 7.29.08 AM.png (214.51 KiB) Viewed 1202 times

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Sun Jan 15, 2023 9:26 pm
aldonc offline

Hi Dave,
Similar for me. I have rolled my own FW replacement with GhostXML and Visual Crossing. It would be nice (said the guy not writing the code) if the Weather Forecast device types could be made more generic. For example, using a common prefix with '..._day_01_temp_high' type of nomenclature should be easy to generate externally (from Matplotlib) using variables or devices.

I understand I'm over-simplifying the challenge... :P

thanks,
Aldon