Phantom / Virtual devices on Casetta, RA2 Select, or RA2

Posted on
Thu Sep 14, 2023 3:53 am
dz1rfj offline

Phantom / Virtual devices on Casetta, RA2 Select, or RA2

Lutron Newbie here -

After years of great experience with the CASETA pro system, I Just picked up a RA2 Select ONLY because I really like the ceiling motion sensors, and of course,
they are not caseta compatible, nor do they pass motion status via telnet (apparently).

I picked up a very expensive Lurton ra2 switch and was then able to add both the Switch and ceiling motion to the Ra2 Select hub.

Fingers crossed I would see that motion trigger and do something I choose without buying all RA2 devices. No luck. Caseta, and others hubs do not see the motion as you probably know.

Is anyone familiar with Phantom/ virtual devices in Lutron, and is it possible to create phantom devices somehow by using some software (essentials ? ) other than the lutron app ?

if I swap Ra2 Select for Ra2 Main repeater, will that help ?

Do I need to become a distributor / installer to create phantom devices?

I just cant justify replacing all my caseta devices, and buying all RA2 devices , nor , buying RA2 devices (only to resell afterwards) and temporally installing in each room I want a motion event just to trigger a dummy light to do something I choose.

If I sell the devices after I add them, and my system crashes, I imagine I will be at square 1? Where does the integration get stored, in the Hub , or the cloud ?

Is there a way to modify the actual backend data in the Lutron hubs where the integration ID gets exported from to Email ?

Could we copy data from this backend system somehow and adjust the Integration ID for a new dummy device? Are they listed by sort of MAC address or other serial number ?

Lutron can probably sell a large number of the Ceiling mounted motion sensors by exposing motion activity to telnet/ 3rd parties,

I just don't need to change all my lutron caseta switches :pensive: