Battery status?

Posted on
Thu Oct 22, 2020 1:41 pm
dduff617 offline
Posts: 660
Joined: Jul 05, 2006
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Battery status?

I have several groups of Serena shades working with the plugin. I also have a remote. (So at this point, all my Lutron devices are battery powered.)

I noticed in the release notes for a recent update of the Lutron IOS App that it mentions "Caseta and RA2 Select now have Low Battery Alerts in the app. Be alerted if your battery runs low for Picos, Shades, and Occupancy Sensors!".

So if the app can do this, is it possible for the plugin to do it as well? Ideally, I'd love to see the battery state of Lutron devices from within Indigo. Or at least to be able to attach a trigger to a low-battery warning event.

Thanks.

Posted on
Thu Oct 22, 2020 2:17 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7213
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Battery status?

https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-r ... /issues/46

I think it's possible. I don't think they report the status on their own, it has to be requested. I'll look into it.

The spec only has "Normal" and "Low", so I'm not sure it's worth putting it on the UI as a battery level. Maybe a trigger?

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Thu Oct 22, 2020 2:42 pm
dduff617 offline
Posts: 660
Joined: Jul 05, 2006
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Battery status?

Thanks for quick response.

Just a trigger for when it goes low could be good for my needs.

I suggest it could be nice to not require creating a separate low-battery trigger for each device. That can get a bit tedious.

On the other hand, when it triggers you do certainly want to know the specific device(s) responsible for the trigger.

So perhaps the gateway device could keep track of the list of low-battery devices (names or ID's). The user could create a trigger for when low-battery-devices property of the Lutron gateway device becomes not equal to "" ? I believe this is how a battery-watch device I use from Cynical Behaviors plugin written by Perry the Cynic works and I find it to be a nice design.

Posted on
Thu Oct 22, 2020 2:50 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7213
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Battery status?

First, let's see if we can get any battery status back at all, then figure it out.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Thu Oct 22, 2020 8:06 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7213
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Battery status?

Test version available - https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-r ... /tag/7.4.0

User needs to schedule the update polling using an Indigo Scheduler action. The plugin has a new action to do this. Depending on the number of devices, it kind of floods the network for a few seconds doing it, so schedule it for a quiet time like the middle of the night.

You should be able to use Cynical Behaviors to get an alert for all low battery devices. I did not add anything for battery alerts.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Oct 23, 2020 12:46 am
dduff617 offline
Posts: 660
Joined: Jul 05, 2006
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Battery status?

I am able to execute the new Poll Devices for Battery Status action. I'm now trying to figure out how I would trigger based on a low battery condition.

I tried a device-state-change trigger for a shade device. The only visible states are on/off state and brightness level - no battery level.

Tried looking at my gateway device. It has only one visible state: Gateway Status.

I looked at the available Lutron RRA2/Caseta Events and I see: Time Clock event, Room (Group) event, Button Presses, and Button Multi-presses, but no "low battery event" or anything obvious there.

also I tried setting debug messages on for the plugin, then executed the Poll Devices action and saw this in the logs - I can't tell for sure wheter this represents unexpected errors being returned by the gateway....

Code: Select all
    Schedule                        Lutron Battery Status Update
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Getting Battery Status for gateway 1767201187
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,4,1,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,5,1,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,6,1,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,2,1,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,3,1,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,6,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,5,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,4,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,3,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,2,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,27,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,30,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,14,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,13,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,12,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,11,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,10,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,38,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,19,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,18,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,21,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,28,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,29,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,26,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,35,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,22,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,20,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,34,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,37,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?DEVICE,7,36,22'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Gateway 1767201187 received: GNET> ~ERROR,Enum=(3, 0x00000003)
Last edited by dduff617 on Fri Oct 23, 2020 8:14 am, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Fri Oct 23, 2020 2:25 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7213
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Battery status?

I did not add any special events for the battery level.

Look at the UI for one of the shades. Do you have a battery level indicator now? Something like this (which is a motion sensor)?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-10-23 at 4.24.34 AM.png
Screen Shot 2020-10-23 at 4.24.34 AM.png (39.4 KiB) Viewed 7589 times

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Oct 23, 2020 2:27 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7213
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Battery status?

I don't know what the Error is you're getting. Didn't see that in my testing. Try putting the plugin in Detailed Debug Logging mode then send the Poll Devices action again.

Also, what are your devices? Specifically, what is device 7 with all the buttons reporting?

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Oct 23, 2020 6:32 am
rapamatic offline
Posts: 276
Joined: Aug 03, 2015
Location: Glencoe, IL

Re: Battery status?

I installed it this morning, and working as expected. I'm showing a nice battery status for every battery shade, pico, and motion sensor. My hardwired shades do not show a battery status (which is what I would expect).

Looks good!

Posted on
Fri Oct 23, 2020 6:34 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7213
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Battery status?

rapamatic wrote:
I installed it this morning, and working as expected. I'm showing a nice battery status for every battery shade, pico, and motion sensor. My hardwired shades do not show a battery status (which is what I would expect).

Looks good!


Now to see if the Cynical Behaviors battery monitor device works with the Indigo devices. I don't see any reason why it wouldn't, but it would be good to find a way to test it. I might do a test version of the plugin that always reports low battery to see what happens.

Edit: I did that, and it works. So I'm not going to add anything else into the plugin for low battery alerts at this time.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Oct 23, 2020 8:36 am
dduff617 offline
Posts: 660
Joined: Jul 05, 2006
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Battery status?

Somehow I'm not seeing the updated UI - no battery level.

I checked and was running Indigo 7.4.1 server. Indigo 7.4 client. I updated my client just now. No change.

I'm running plugin version 7.4. I did a re-load of the plugin a few times.... No change. Here's what I'm seeing when I re-load:
Code: Select all
   Started plugin "Lutron RRA2/Caséta 7.4.0"
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta             Starting up Lutron
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Previously converted, default gateway ID = 1767201187
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta             Lutron IP Gateway: Running IP Start
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta             Lutron IP Gateway: Connecting via IP to 192.168.1.98:23
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: self.connIP.read: login:
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending username
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: self.connIP.read: password:
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending password
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Login process complete, connected
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       KIT North E Shade: actionControlDimmerRelay sending: '?OUTPUT,5,1,' to gateway 1767201187
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?OUTPUT,5,1,'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       KIT North EE Shade: actionControlDimmerRelay sending: '?OUTPUT,6,1,' to gateway 1767201187
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?OUTPUT,6,1,'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       KIT North W Shade: actionControlDimmerRelay sending: '?OUTPUT,4,1,' to gateway 1767201187
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?OUTPUT,4,1,'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       KIT North WW Shade: actionControlDimmerRelay sending: '?OUTPUT,3,1,' to gateway 1767201187
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?OUTPUT,3,1,'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       KIT West Shade: actionControlDimmerRelay sending: '?OUTPUT,2,1,' to gateway 1767201187
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?OUTPUT,2,1,'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       TVR - East N Shade (9): actionControlDimmerRelay sending: '?OUTPUT,9,1,' to gateway 1767201187
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?OUTPUT,9,1,'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       TVR - East S Shade (10): actionControlDimmerRelay sending: '?OUTPUT,10,1,' to gateway 1767201187
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?OUTPUT,10,1,'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       TVR - North Shade (8): actionControlDimmerRelay sending: '?OUTPUT,8,1,' to gateway 1767201187
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Lutron IP Gateway: Sending command: '?OUTPUT,8,1,'
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Received: Shade KIT North E Shade opening set to 100.0
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Received: Shade KIT North EE Shade opening set to 100.0
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Received: Shade KIT North W Shade opening set to 100.0
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Received: Shade KIT North WW Shade opening set to 100.0
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Received: Shade KIT West Shade opening set to 100.0
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Warning     : Unable to parse level as float in _cmdOutputChange: 100.00GNET>
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Received: Dimmer TVR - East S Shade (10) level set to 100.0
   Lutron RRA2/Caséta Debug       Received: Dimmer TVR - North Shade (8) level set to 100.0
 


So it looks like one of the status messages is not g getting parsed correctly (?), perhaps. Not sure. Could that be related to the battery level not showing up?

My status window looks the same as before - no battery.
Attachments
Screen Shot 2020-10-23 at 10.26.11.png
Screen Shot 2020-10-23 at 10.26.11.png (52.66 KiB) Viewed 7564 times

Posted on
Fri Oct 23, 2020 8:56 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7213
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Battery status?

I need to see the detailed debug output when you send the poll command. And I need to know what kind of device is ID 7 (address 1767201187:7.X)

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Oct 23, 2020 9:03 am
dduff617 offline
Posts: 660
Joined: Jul 05, 2006
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Battery status?

switched log level in plugin settings to "detailed debugging messages"
restarted plugin.
executed the poll command.
grabbed resulting logs in a txt file (attached).
Attachments
Lutron Logs.txt
(73.47 KiB) Downloaded 157 times

Posted on
Fri Oct 23, 2020 9:06 am
dduff617 offline
Posts: 660
Joined: Jul 05, 2006
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Battery status?

In case it helps interpreting logs, i have:
  • a Smart Hub Pro.
  • 8 Serena shades split into two rooms
  • 1 shade remote

Posted on
Fri Oct 23, 2020 9:28 am
dduff617 offline
Posts: 660
Joined: Jul 05, 2006
Location: Massachusetts, USA

Re: Battery status?

Device 7 is Lutron RF 4-Group Remote.
Attachments
cached.jpeg
cached.jpeg (15.49 KiB) Viewed 7529 times

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests