help for beginner with Lutron

Posted on
Tue Jun 09, 2020 5:39 pm
dduff617 offline

help for beginner with Lutron

I am about to purchase some motorized shades and was on the verge of splurging on Lutron Serena cellulars. I have little knowledge or experience with Lutron, other than the positive reviews of their shades. I would normally prefer to buy Bali/Somfy Autoview (z-wave), but two of my windows are just below the minimum width for their motorized shades. I was about to pull the trigger on the Lutron order but with the cost, I figured I'd best to do some checking here first.

I'm buying five shades, one RF 4-group remote, and a "Smart Bridge with HomeKit Technology".

I'm hoping that I'll be able to control the five shades individually or in groups from Indigo+Lutron Plugin. Down the road, I may possibly add additional Lutron light controls. Will this work? Will I have everything I need?

Briefly poking around this forum, I saw mentions of people having the "Pro" version of the smart bridge (or maybe I was misunderstanding). There was also mention of having or needing a serial connected component. Can I accomplish what I want with just the Bridge plugged into ethernet? Is the "Pro" version important? or will the "Smart Bridge with HomeKit Technology" suffice?

Thanks in advance.

Posted on
Tue Jun 09, 2020 5:58 pm
FlyingDiver offline

Re: help for beginner with Lutron

You need the Pro version of the Bridge. The non-Pro doesn't support the automation protocol that the plugin uses. It only supports HomeKit and the Lutron app.

The Caseta Bridges work via Ethernet. The Radio Ra 2 controller (main repeater) can use either Ethernet or Serial, so that's probably the reference you saw.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Jul 20, 2020 11:13 am
dduff617 offline