MyQ and door sensors?

Posted on
Fri Nov 25, 2016 10:45 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

MyQ and door sensors?

How many MyQ users also have sensors on their garage doors? I installed a couple of these last week: http://www.monoprice.com/Product?p_id=11987

Now I'm working on a version of the plugin that uses the sensors to set the door state to eliminate polling (or reduce the frequency, anyway). That part is working fine. Now I need to figure out how to cross-check the sensors against the MyQ reported status after any commanded or detected change. And then I'll need to add some Events to report a mismatch.

If you're interested in testing, let me know.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Nov 25, 2016 11:06 am
Bollar offline
Posts: 528
Joined: Aug 11, 2013

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

I still have IO Lincs with sensors installed on my doors and can test for you - I was planning to remove them, but can hold off for the cause.

Insteon / Z-Wave / Bryant Evolution Connex /Tesla / Roomba / Elk M1 / SiteSage / Enphase Enlighten / NOAA Alerts

Posted on
Fri Nov 25, 2016 4:47 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

I think this version is ready for testing.

https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-M ... tag/v7.1.1

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:45 pm
Bollar offline
Posts: 528
Joined: Aug 11, 2013

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

I'm getting this error continuously repeating:
Code: Select all
   MyQ Error                       Error in plugin execution ServerReplacedElem:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 237, in deviceUpdated
KeyError: key sensor not found in dict

   MyQ Error                       Error in plugin execution ServerReplacedElem:

Insteon / Z-Wave / Bryant Evolution Connex /Tesla / Roomba / Elk M1 / SiteSage / Enphase Enlighten / NOAA Alerts

Posted on
Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:48 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

Darn. I thought I fixed that. Do you have sensors linked to the doors? You edit the device to assign them.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:57 pm
Bollar offline
Posts: 528
Joined: Aug 11, 2013

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

FlyingDiver wrote:
Darn. I thought I fixed that. Do you have sensors linked to the doors? You edit the device to assign them.

I gave that a shot - the IOLincs I used to monitor the door status aren't in the device list. Basically they're a binary input that's open/closed.

Insteon / Z-Wave / Bryant Evolution Connex /Tesla / Roomba / Elk M1 / SiteSage / Enphase Enlighten / NOAA Alerts

Posted on
Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:59 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

Bollar wrote:
I gave that a shot - the IOLincs I used to monitor the door status aren't in the device list. Basically they're a binary input that's open/closed.


So how do they show up in Indigo? Not as sensor devices? I grab all indigo.sensor devices for the list.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:05 pm
Bollar offline
Posts: 528
Joined: Aug 11, 2013

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

I don't know for sure - I think of them more as relays, since they also have an output.
Attachments
Indigo IOLinc.jpeg
Indigo IOLinc.jpeg (141.27 KiB) Viewed 6411 times

Insteon / Z-Wave / Bryant Evolution Connex /Tesla / Roomba / Elk M1 / SiteSage / Enphase Enlighten / NOAA Alerts

Posted on
Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:17 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

OK, that's an iodevice, and adding that would also require that I implement a way to identify the state to monitor. Doable, but not quickly.

Are there any custom states for that device not shown in the standard UI?

I still need to fix the issues when there's no sensor linked.

joe

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Fri Nov 25, 2016 9:44 pm
Bollar offline
Posts: 528
Joined: Aug 11, 2013

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

FlyingDiver wrote:
OK, that's an iodevice, and adding that would also require that I implement a way to identify the state to monitor. Doable, but not quickly.

Are there any custom states for that device not shown in the standard UI?

No, what you see is what you get.

Insteon / Z-Wave / Bryant Evolution Connex /Tesla / Roomba / Elk M1 / SiteSage / Enphase Enlighten / NOAA Alerts

Posted on
Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:29 pm
polycron offline
Posts: 100
Joined: Jan 08, 2006

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

I'm using the https://www.amazon.com/Ecolink-Intelligent-Technology-Z-Wave-TILT-ZWAVE2-ECO/dp/B00HGVJRX2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1480357494&sr=8-1&keywords=zwave+tilt and it seems to be working fine. I had a little bit of trouble with errors spawning after I ran the upgrade but figured out it was because I did not have the associated Tilt sensor setup for each of the garage door openers. Once I had those associations made in the plugin it has been running error free.

Jeff

Posted on
Mon Nov 28, 2016 12:53 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

polycron wrote:
I'm using the https://www.amazon.com/Ecolink-Intelligent-Technology-Z-Wave-TILT-ZWAVE2-ECO/dp/B00HGVJRX2/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1480357494&sr=8-1&keywords=zwave+tilt and it seems to be working fine. I had a little bit of trouble with errors spawning after I ran the upgrade but figured out it was because I did not have the associated Tilt sensor setup for each of the garage door openers. Once I had those associations made in the plugin it has been running error free.

Jeff


Good to hear. I need to roll the changes in 7.0.2 into the sensor version (7.1.x) and fix the errors from no linked sensor. Then I'll put out another test release.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:13 pm
polycron offline
Posts: 100
Joined: Jan 08, 2006

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

I just generated an error when I attempt to configure the plugin:

Code: Select all
Error (client)                  runConfigDialog() caught exception: PAXDialogControllerError -- Field ID statusNote was already used. Every <Field> element must have a unique field ID.


Jeff

Posted on
Mon Nov 28, 2016 1:15 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

polycron wrote:
I just generated an error when I attempt to configure the plugin:

Code: Select all
Error (client)                  runConfigDialog() caught exception: PAXDialogControllerError -- Field ID statusNote was already used. Every <Field> element must have a unique field ID.


Jeff


Woops. Editing error. I'll fix that in the next test release.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Nov 28, 2016 2:46 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: MyQ and door sensors?

v7.1.2 is available now. This is a pre-release, so the built in updater won't pick it up.

https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-M ... tag/v7.1.2

This version should handle doors without sensors properly. All other recent bug fixes have also been included.

Still on the to-do list is handling IO devices as sensors.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests