Re: Harmony Hub plugin

Posted on
Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:53 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Harmony Hub plugin

jingai wrote:
curl --data-binary '{"email":"me@email.com", "password":"password"}' -H 'content-type: application/json; charset=utf-8;' https://svcs.myharmony.com/CompositeSec ... rAuthToken

is suddenly returning {"GetUserAuthTokenResult":null}

I'm not using this plugin, but I'm using the same basic code called elsewhere. Is anyone else seeing this?


Yes, I'm getting a failure message when attempting to get the authentication token from Logitech's servers as well.

But, it still seems to be working. Very strange.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sat Nov 19, 2016 10:58 am
jingai offline
Posts: 127
Joined: Apr 03, 2007

Re: Harmony Hub plugin

FlyingDiver wrote:
jingai wrote:
curl --data-binary '{"email":"me@email.com", "password":"password"}' -H 'content-type: application/json; charset=utf-8;' https://svcs.myharmony.com/CompositeSec ... rAuthToken

is suddenly returning {"GetUserAuthTokenResult":null}

I'm not using this plugin, but I'm using the same basic code called elsewhere. Is anyone else seeing this?


Yes, I'm getting a failure message when attempting to get the authentication token from Logitech's servers as well.

But, it still seems to be working. Very strange.


I believe it will work without authenticating, but there's a limit (monthly? idk) on the number of requests you can make without authenticating.

I'm guessing your plugin just doesn't consider the lack of an auth token as a failure, whereas the code I'm using does.

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2016 12:00 am
jingai offline
Posts: 127
Joined: Apr 03, 2007

Re: Harmony Hub plugin

A few people are claiming that the auth token just isn't needed anymore.

Associated patch for it: https://github.com/dsully/pyharmony/com ... 47d621bb4a

Though, I'm not sure they know this for certain. Logitech is pretty tight-lipped about their API, so I think people are just guessing since it's currently working without it.

Since it seems your plugin doesn't depend on the authentication to continue on, I guess just change nothing for now. Keeping an eye on it though.

Here's hoping this all doesn't just stop working at some point :(

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2016 9:53 am
ryanbuckner offline
Posts: 1074
Joined: Oct 08, 2011
Location: Northern Virginia

Re: Harmony Hub plugin

This plugin is a fantastic start! Thank you so much for developing.

Can you create custom device states so we can show the activity in control pages? Right now there's only on/off state (always shows off) but if you look at the virtual device in indigo it actually shows "Watch Apple TV".

I currently have my Amazon Echo able to turn on activities, mute the TV, and turn off all AV. This is AMAZING!

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2016 9:57 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Harmony Hub plugin

ryanbuckner wrote:
This plugin is a fantastic start! Thank you so much for developing.

Can you create custom device states so we can show the activity in control pages? Right now there's only on/off state (always shows off) but if you look at the virtual device in indigo it actually shows "Watch Apple TV".

I currently have my Amazon Echo able to turn on activities, mute the TV, and turn off all AV. This is AMAZING!


I'm not sure what you're actually asking for. The "currentActivityName" state of the Hub device is the name of the current activity. For control pages, you want to display the device state as text. Not as an image.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2016 10:29 am
ryanbuckner offline
Posts: 1074
Joined: Oct 08, 2011
Location: Northern Virginia

Re: Harmony Hub plugin

FlyingDiver wrote:
ryanbuckner wrote:
This plugin is a fantastic start! Thank you so much for developing.

Can you create custom device states so we can show the activity in control pages? Right now there's only on/off state (always shows off) but if you look at the virtual device in indigo it actually shows "Watch Apple TV".

I currently have my Amazon Echo able to turn on activities, mute the TV, and turn off all AV. This is AMAZING!


I'm not sure what you're actually asking for. The "currentActivityName" state of the Hub device is the name of the current activity. For control pages, you want to display the device state as text. Not as an image.


I figured it out. I had incorrectly created the devices as a Virtual On/Off device which limited the device states available through control pages.

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2016 4:23 pm
ryanbuckner offline
Posts: 1074
Joined: Oct 08, 2011
Location: Northern Virginia

Re: Harmony Hub plugin

So far successful with : start activity and all of. The MUTE isn't working although it works with the harmony remote.

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2016 4:28 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

sleekxmpp install problems 2

I need to take a look at the activity and device commands again this week. There might be some issues there.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Nov 20, 2016 9:00 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Harmony Hub plugin

ryanbuckner wrote:
So far successful with : start activity and all of. The MUTE isn't working although it works with the harmony remote.


I just tested the 7.0.0 release, and the Mute and Volume commands worked as expected. I created an Action Group to send the command, but you could use a control page button to do the same thing. Here's what my debug log shows:

Code: Select all
Nov 20, 2016, 9:50:25 PM 11/20
   Action Group                    Harmony GR Mute
   Harmony Hub Debug               AV Closet Hub: sending Mute to 35552586
   Action Group                    Harmony GR Mute
   Harmony Hub Debug               AV Closet Hub: sending Mute to 35552586

Nov 20, 2016, 9:51:44 PM 11/20
   Action Group                    Harmony GR Volume Up
   Harmony Hub Debug               AV Closet Hub: sending VolumeUp to 35552586
   Harmony Hub Debug               AV Closet Hub: sending VolumeUp to 35552586
   Action Group                    Harmony GR Volume Up
   Harmony Hub Debug               AV Closet Hub: sending VolumeUp to 35552586
   Harmony Hub Debug               AV Closet Hub: sending VolumeUp to 35552586


I executed the Mute group twice, to toggle the sound. The Volume Up group had two Volume Up commands in it, and each was sent. The receiver that handles the sound for the activity responded properly.

I'll need to see the output of the plugin in debug logging turned on. I'll also need to see the output generated by the "Write Formatted Config Data to Log" menu command. It would probably be best if you started a new thread in this forum with that info.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sat Nov 26, 2016 7:29 pm
nev offline
Posts: 48
Joined: Aug 19, 2015

Re: Harmony Hub plugin

FlyingDiver wrote:
Wondercow wrote:
FlyingDiver wrote:
Since Indigo 7 uses Python 2.7, which is the osX default. "sudu pip install sleekxmpp" should be what you need to run for the install.

I tried the above (using sudo, I recognize that, at least :) ) and I got "pip: command not found"


That's what I get posting from my iPad. ;)

Try this:

Code: Select all
sudo easy_install pip
sudo pip install sleekxmpp



I tried this and get

Mac-Pro:~ MacPro$ sudo pip install sleekxmpp
The directory '/Users/MacPro/Library/Caches/pip/http' or its parent directory is not owned by the current user and the cache has been disabled. Please check the permissions and owner of that directory. If executing pip with sudo, you may want sudo's -H flag.
The directory '/Users/MacPro/Library/Caches/pip' or its parent directory is not owned by the current user and caching wheels has been disabled. check the permissions and owner of that directory. If executing pip with sudo, you may want sudo's -H flag.
Requirement already satisfied: sleekxmpp in /Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/site-packages

I can't get the plugin to start. Anyone have any ideas?

Posted on
Sat Nov 26, 2016 7:47 pm
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Harmony Hub plugin

nev wrote:
I tried this and get

Mac-Pro:~ MacPro$ sudo pip install sleekxmpp
The directory '/Users/MacPro/Library/Caches/pip/http' or its parent directory is not owned by the current user and the cache has been disabled. Please check the permissions and owner of that directory. If executing pip with sudo, you may want sudo's -H flag.
The directory '/Users/MacPro/Library/Caches/pip' or its parent directory is not owned by the current user and caching wheels has been disabled. check the permissions and owner of that directory. If executing pip with sudo, you may want sudo's -H flag.
Requirement already satisfied: sleekxmpp in /Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/site-packages

I can't get the plugin to start. Anyone have any ideas?


That says sleekxmpp is already installed. So you're going to need to post the actual Indigo log output showing it not starting.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:30 am
nev offline
Posts: 48
Joined: Aug 19, 2015

Re: Harmony Hub plugin - Indigo 7

This is what the log shows.

Code: Select all
Nov 27, 2016, 10:28:40 AM
   Disabling plugin "Harmony Hub 0.2.8"
   Enabling plugin "Harmony Hub 0.2.8"
   Starting plugin "Harmony Hub 0.2.8" (pid 9031)
   Harmony Hub Error               Error in plugin execution InitializeMain:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 8, in <module>
ImportError: No module named sleekxmpp

   Stopping plugin "Harmony Hub 0.2.8" (pid 9031)
   Stopped plugin "Harmony Hub 0.2.8"
Last edited by nev on Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:28 am, edited 1 time in total.

Posted on
Sun Nov 27, 2016 9:32 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Harmony Hub plugin - Indigo 7

Get the Indigo 7 version of the plugin from https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-H ... tag/v7.0.0 and try again.

If you're not running Indigo 7, then you need to install sleekxmpp for Python 2.6.

And please, whenever you're posting code or log file output, use the CODE tags.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:28 am
nev offline
Posts: 48
Joined: Aug 19, 2015

Re: Harmony Hub plugin - Indigo 7

I reinstalled the plugin using the link and restarted everything, but no dice. I'm running indigo 7. Thanks for the help! New logs below.

Code: Select all
   Harmony Hub Error               Error in plugin execution InitializeMain:

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "plugin.py", line 10, in <module>
ImportError: No module named sleekxmpp

Posted on
Sun Nov 27, 2016 10:32 am
FlyingDiver offline
User avatar
Posts: 7189
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: Harmony Hub plugin - Indigo 7

What version of macOS are you running?

I think you're getting bit by the same issues seen in some other plugins. Non-standard Python installs. Did you install Python yourself?

On your system, the package is getting installed in /Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/site-packages

On my systems, it's in /Library/Python/2.7/site-packages. In fact, there is no /Library/Frameworks/Python.framework on either of my systems.

So what created that directory on your system?

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests