New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

Posted on
Wed Jun 05, 2019 12:23 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3292
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

Pre-release: https://github.com/FlyingDiver/Indigo-H ... /tag/7.3.0

Users can now create an Indigo device to represent a Harmony activity. The device can be turned on (enabled) using any standard Indigo action or UI. Sending PowerOff command or switching to any other activity turns off the device.

The device accurately reflects activity changes initiated from Indigo, mobile apps, or Harmony remotes.

I'm going to hold this in pre-release until I get some additional testing reports. Please try....

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sat Jun 08, 2019 4:52 am
Umtauscher offline
User avatar
Posts: 404
Joined: Oct 03, 2014
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

Thanks Joe,

this seems a nice addition to the plugin.
I have updated my installation yesterday. It took some time until the activity devices were correctly updated but now it works fine.
Thanks again

Wilhelm

Posted on
Tue Jun 11, 2019 2:42 am
colinpartridge offline
Posts: 337
Joined: Jan 13, 2014
Location: London, UK

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

Installed new version today and all appears well. Created some Activity devices which work well. Its made some tricky event triggering a bit clearer. All remotes sync activity status.

Cheers

Colin

Posted on
Tue Jun 11, 2019 4:07 am
DaveL17 offline
User avatar
Posts: 4926
Joined: Aug 20, 2013
Location: Chicago, IL, USA

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

The updated functionality worked perfectly for me.

Nice feature!

I came here to drink milk and kick ass....and I've just finished my milk.

[My Plugins] - [My Forums]

Posted on
Tue Jun 11, 2019 6:02 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3292
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

Published as new release for plugin store.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Jun 16, 2019 1:13 pm
denno offline
Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 17, 2004

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

What are some example use cases for this?

Posted on
Sun Jun 16, 2019 1:14 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3292
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

denno wrote:
What are some example use cases for this?


Using Siri or Alexa to start/stop/change activities is the primary one.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:56 pm
denno offline
Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 17, 2004

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

Thanks. I've been using the Alexa Harmony Skill and the Homebridge plugin for Siri control. How would I set up Activity devices in the Harmony Hub plugin to do it?
Thanks for your help/

Posted on
Sun Jun 16, 2019 3:57 pm
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3292
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

denno wrote:
Thanks. I've been using the Alexa Harmony Skill and the Homebridge plugin for Siri control. How would I set up Activity devices in the Harmony Hub plugin to do it?
Thanks for your help/


Just create a device for each activity, add it to HKB, then tell Siri to turn that device on or off.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Sun Jun 16, 2019 4:07 pm
denno offline
Posts: 72
Joined: Sep 17, 2004

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

FlyingDiver wrote:
denno wrote:
Thanks. I've been using the Alexa Harmony Skill and the Homebridge plugin for Siri control. How would I set up Activity devices in the Harmony Hub plugin to do it?
Thanks for your help/


Just create a device for each activity, add it to HKB, then tell Siri to turn that device on or off.



Ah--got it. Thanks-this is great!

Posted on
Mon Jun 17, 2019 2:44 am
siclark offline
Posts: 895
Joined: Jun 13, 2017
Location: UK

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

This is amazing, simplifies my setup so much.

Posted on
Mon Jun 17, 2019 6:28 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3292
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

Glad to hear it.

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Posted on
Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:30 am
Umtauscher offline
User avatar
Posts: 404
Joined: Oct 03, 2014
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

Hi Joe,

from time to time the Harmony Hub device and the Activity devices seem to get out of sync.
For example at the moment the Harmony Hub device shows the Activity "Power Off" and the Activity device for the Activity Radio shows active (on). This obviously cannot be correct. In fact the PowerOff information is the one that is correct.
I have had something like that a few times since I installed the new version.

I hope you can do something about it.
Thanks
Wilhelm

Posted on
Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:41 am
Umtauscher offline
User avatar
Posts: 404
Joined: Oct 03, 2014
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

Maybe this is because I used to switch on the radio by the "start activity" command instead of the switching on my "Activity device" radio?

Posted on
Mon Jun 17, 2019 7:55 am
FlyingDiver offline
Posts: 3292
Joined: Jun 07, 2014
Location: Southwest Florida, USA

Re: New Activity Devices available in Harmony Hub plugin

Hmm. I would expect them to be out of sync for a short period (a few seconds) after an activity change is requested, but it should sync up shortly. If that's not happening, then there's a problem.

Turning an activity device on or off sends the same commands as the "Start Activity" command. The state of the device is not changed at that time, but when the plugin gets the "startActivityFinished" XMPP message. I did it that way so that Activity changes from a remote or mobile app (ie anything not from Indigo) will also update the device state.

If that's not happening, then the plugin is not getting the XMPP message, or not processing it properly.

Is this repeatable? If so, can you turn on debug level logging and go through the steps to get it to that state? Then post the log segments?

joe (aka FlyingDiver)
my plugins: http://forums.indigodomo.com/viewforum.php?f=177

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest