All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:28 am
yassi offline
Posts: 395
Joined: Sep 06, 2015
Location: Germany

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

I had the issue today in the morning too, all Alexa devices were not acessible, but the Debug Log didn't showed anything strange.
Then I've observed that the plugin was connected via WiFi, where normally it connects via the LAN interface.
Disabled WiFi on the Indigo server, everything fine again.

Yassi

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:49 am
wormhole offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Feb 21, 2017

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

Guys thanks for the assistance.

The iMac on which indigo runs (and now the unifi controller) has always had WiFi turned off (and it still is) so this isn’t the issue.

I had already deleted all the devices from the Alexa app, so when I when to Alexa.amazon.com all the devices were already gone but I tried discovering anyways but that didn’t work either.

Please keep the ideas coming.

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 4:56 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3235
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+1 aka UTC+1]

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

You have got an early Echo Dot or Echo on your network?

You need this for the discovery and to be able to process the commands (even if you speak to more recent version ofthe Echo).

Just checking in case it dropped off the network when you did the work on your Wi-Fi? :)

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:09 am
wormhole offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Feb 21, 2017

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

I have all gen 2 dots. No changes there accept I put them on the guest network rather than the main network. However a couple were always on the guest network in the past with no issues.

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:12 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3235
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+1 aka UTC+1]

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

Have you tried reverting them to the non-guest network?

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 5:40 am
wormhole offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Feb 21, 2017

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

That is going to be my next attempt, although i did put one of them back on...thing is that's never been an issue before...notice that upon deleted all the bridges in Indigo, and setting up a new one with just 5 lights, the plugin is reaching the internet....

Jan 28, 2019 at 6:38:19 AM
Reloading plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.29"
Stopping plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.29" (pid 1447)
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge shutdown requested
Alexa-Hue Bridge HTTP server stopping...
Alexa-Hue Bridge HTTP server stopped
Stopped plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.29"
Starting plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.29" (pid 3724)
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge initialising . . .
Alexa-Hue Bridge Plugin Host IP Address is discovered as: '10.0.1.100'
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa discovery request logging enabled
Alexa-Hue Bridge Warning Debugging enabled for Alexa-Hue Bridge: General, Server, Broadcaster, Responder, Method Trace
Started plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.29"
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge initialization complete
Alexa-Hue Bridge 'Alexa Bridge 1' has u5 Alexa Devices published
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'Alexa Bridge 1' web server thread
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'Alexa Bridge 1' discovery thread as 'Auto Start Discovery' requested
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge 'Alexa Bridge 1' started: Host: 10.0.1.100 Port: 8179
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge checking network access by attempting to access 'www.google.com'
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge network access check to www.google.com successfully completed.


Thanks again for everyone's help.

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:06 am
wormhole offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Feb 21, 2017

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

autolog wrote:
Have you tried reverting them to the non-guest network?

That was it, changing all the Echo's back to the main wifi network fixed it. Not sure why Echo's can't be connected to the guest network given i'm using Indigo and not an actual Hue...oh well, wanted to put all IoT's on a guest network for security purposes, Works now, THANK YOU!

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:09 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3235
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+1 aka UTC+1]

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

Thanks for the update and glad you have got it working. :)

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:14 am
wormhole offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Feb 21, 2017

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

Thanks Jon. Any idea why echos need to be on a non guest network?

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:24 am
autolog offline
Posts: 3235
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+1 aka UTC+1]

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

I am not a network expert. :wink:

However, having a guest network implies some form of isolation between your normal network and the guest network. So while both networks can talk to the Internet, they can't talk to each other.
Therefore the Echos would work with Alexa and Indigo can see the Internet but when Alexa tries to send a command to Indigo via the Echo dot, it can't because of the network isolation.

That would be my take on it but no doubt someone more knowledgeable than me can chip in and correct me if my theory is incorrect. :)

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 7:26 am
wormhole offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Feb 21, 2017

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

Makes sense. I guess I thought of indigo can hit the internet, and the echos can hit the internet it wouldn’t matter. I didn’t consider that the echos need to talk directly I Indigo, thought it all got routed through the Alexa service. Also not sure why echos on the guest network would make indigo devices non discoverable by the Alexa service. That said you’re likely correct and again thank you very very much.

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 1:49 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16212
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

Make sure that you don't have both Ethernet and WiFI enabled, that can cause discovery failures.

[MODERATOR NOTE] lol, better late than never! Glad it's working.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 2:03 pm
wormhole offline
Posts: 121
Joined: Feb 21, 2017

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

Thanks jay. That’s not the issue. WiFi always turned off in the iMac running indigo.

Issue per above was echos on the guest WiFi network.

Posted on
Mon Jan 28, 2019 2:17 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 16212
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

Right - discovery is doing UDP broadcasts that are likely filtered between your guest network and your primary network.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Wed Feb 27, 2019 9:36 pm
ericwass offline
Posts: 40
Joined: Feb 10, 2010

Re: All Alexa Devices through Indigo "Not Responding"

While I've always had intermittent issues of devices not responding, restarting the plugin and telling Alexa to discover my devices has always solved it. However, about 2 or 3 days ago it stopped working altogether. I've done absolutely everything I can think of and nothing has worked.

This is what the log shows (I have no idea what it's talking about re: no hostname. The computer has a hostname):

Starting plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.29" (pid 12992)
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge initialising . . .
Alexa-Hue Bridge Error Computer has no host name specified. Check the Sharing system preference and restart the plugin once the name is resolved.
Alexa-Hue Bridge Plugin Host IP Address is discovered as: 'None'
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa discovery request logging enabled
Alexa-Hue Bridge Warning Debugging enabled for Alexa-Hue Bridge: General, Server
Started plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.29"
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge initialization complete
Alexa-Hue Bridge 'Alexa-Hue Bridge 1' has u12 Alexa Devices published
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'Alexa-Hue Bridge 1' web server thread
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'Alexa-Hue Bridge 1' discovery thread as 'Auto Start Discovery' requested
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge 'Alexa-Hue Bridge 1' started: Host: None Port: 8179
Alexa-Hue Bridge Error StandardError detected in Responder.Run for 'Alexa-Hue Bridge 1'. Line '147' has error='must be string, not None'
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge checking network access by attempting to access 'www.google.com'
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge network access check to http://www.google.com successfully completed.

Can anybody help?

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest