Alexa stopped working when I updated to High Sierra

Posted on
Mon Apr 09, 2018 9:16 am
george99 offline
Posts: 206
Joined: May 27, 2015

Alexa stopped working when I updated to High Sierra

I upgraded to high sierra, and I think this is when alexa stopped working. I didn't try alexa for a couple of days, so I am not 100% sure, but it seems that it happened at the same time.
If I try to control anything with alexa that uses the alexa-hue-bridge, I get a not responding message.

"Alexa Turn on the kitchen light".
Response: "Kitchen light is not responding".

Another issue that I had ever since this plugin was changed to use multiple instances to overcome the 27 device limit, is when I try to turn on discovery, it never turns on. I used to be able to get it on if I disabled the plugin, enabled it, and immediately turned on discovery. Now nothing I do will turn on discovery.

Please help.

Posted on
Mon Apr 09, 2018 1:58 pm
noel1983 offline
Posts: 379
Joined: Oct 17, 2014

Re: Alexa stopped working when I updated to High Sierra

Ive just noticed alexa has stopped working too albeit I havent done any recent updates as far as I know!!!

Weird, mine's fine now. Hope yours sorts itself too.

Posted on
Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:44 am
george99 offline
Posts: 206
Joined: May 27, 2015

Re: Alexa stopped working when I updated to High Sierra

Ok, this is what I see in the log when I try to start discovery:

Alexa-Hue Bridge sent "Alexa Hue - Other" Discovery on
Alexa-Hue Bridge Error Start Discovery action failed for 'Alexa Hue - Other': broadcaster thread couldn't start. Try restarting the plugin.'
Alexa-Hue Bridge Error Traceback (most recent call last):
Alexa-Hue Bridge Error File "plugin.py", line 1771, in startDiscovery
Alexa-Hue Bridge Error self.globals['alexaHueBridge'][ahbDev.id]['broadcaster'].start()
Alexa-Hue Bridge Error File "/System/Library/Frameworks/Python.framework/Versions/2.7/lib/python2.7/threading.py", line 739, in start
Alexa-Hue Bridge Error raise RuntimeError("threads can only be started once")
Alexa-Hue Bridge Error RuntimeError: threads can only be started once

Posted on
Tue Apr 10, 2018 7:59 am
george99 offline
Posts: 206
Joined: May 27, 2015

Re: Alexa stopped working when I updated to High Sierra

Ok, I found the problem.
When looking in the log, I noticed that it was trying to access the virtual Hue Hubs created in indigo via my WAN IP address. Not sure why this started happening, but that was the cause.
I changed it to the LAN IP in the configuration, and it all works.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest