Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

Posted on
Sun Sep 10, 2017 2:22 am
trevorsmith offline
Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 08, 2016

Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

You must be getting to hate these posts, but here I am, failing to get my Alexa to discover my Alexa/Hue bridge device. I have followed the instructions for the latest plugin, have the latest Indigo update and run discovery on the Echo, but Alexa never finds my device (a Zwave power socket which Indigo is very happy to control successfully)

Despite having enabled debugging in the plugin I dont see any relevant messages there either at discovery time. Here is the only part of the event log that ever mentions the plugin:

Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge initialising . . .
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa discovery request logging enabled
Alexa-Hue Bridge Warning Debugging enabled for Alexa-Hue Bridge: General, Server, Broadcaster, Responder, Method Trace
Started plugin "Alexa-Hue Bridge 3.0.11"
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge checking network access by attempting to access 'www.google.com'
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge network access check to http://www.google.com successfully completed.
Alexa-Hue Bridge Alexa-Hue Bridge initialization complete
Alexa-Hue Bridge Hue Bridge 'EchoEMU' Host: 192.168.1.64
Alexa-Hue Bridge Hue Bridge 'EchoEMU' Host: 192.168.1.64
Alexa-Hue Bridge 'EchoEMU' has one Alexa Device published
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'EchoEMU' web server thread
Alexa-Hue Bridge Starting Hue Bridge 'EchoEMU' discovery thread as 'Auto Start Discovery' requested



What I see in the Alexa-hue-bridge debug folder is


2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond called from address ('192.168.1.64', 4455)
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
EXT:
LOCATION: http://192.168.1.64:8178/description.xml
SERVER: FreeRTOS/7.4.2, UPnP/1.0, IpBridge/1.7.0
ST: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:basic:1
USN: uuid:9b0af985-95a6-11e7-8122-0c4de9cc78e1


2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: creating output_socket
2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: calling output_socket.sendto
2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: closing output_socket
2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: UDP Response sent to ('192.168.1.64', 4455)
2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.run Responder.run: received: M-SEARCH * HTTP/1.1
MX: 5
ST: upnp:rootdevice
MAN: "ssdp:discover"
User-Agent: UPnP/1.0 DLNADOC/1.50 Platinum/1.0.5.13
Connection: close
Host: 239.255.255.250:1900


2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond called from address ('192.168.1.64', 4455)
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
EXT:
LOCATION: http://192.168.1.64:8178/description.xml
SERVER: FreeRTOS/7.4.2, UPnP/1.0, IpBridge/1.7.0
ST: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:basic:1
USN: uuid:9b0af985-95a6-11e7-8122-0c4de9cc78e1


2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: creating output_socket
2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: calling output_socket.sendto
2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: closing output_socket
2017-09-10 09:16:21.864 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: UDP Response sent to ('192.168.1.64', 4455)
2017-09-10 09:16:29.477 DEBUG Plugin.responder.run Responder.run: received: M-SEARCH * HTTP/1.1
Host: 239.255.255.250:1900
Man: "ssdp:discover"
ST: ssdp:all
MX: 5


2017-09-10 09:16:29.478 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond called from address ('192.168.1.64', 58688)
HTTP/1.1 200 OK
CACHE-CONTROL: max-age=100
EXT:
LOCATION: http://192.168.1.64:8178/description.xml
SERVER: FreeRTOS/7.4.2, UPnP/1.0, IpBridge/1.7.0
ST: urn:schemas-upnp-org:device:basic:1
USN: uuid:9b0af985-95a6-11e7-8122-0c4de9cc78e1


2017-09-10 09:16:29.478 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: creating output_socket
2017-09-10 09:16:29.478 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: calling output_socket.sendto
2017-09-10 09:16:29.478 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: closing output_socket
2017-09-10 09:16:29.478 DEBUG Plugin.responder.respond Responder.respond: UDP Response sent to ('192.168.1.64', 58688)



over and over again.

I have tried restarting the software, the plugin and the Echo. Where do I go from here? I know it must be so hard for you to second-guess what I have done wrong (which is almost certainly true!) but some guidance as to how to investigate the issue would be very welcome.

Posted on
Sun Sep 10, 2017 5:47 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2456
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+0]

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

trevorsmith wrote:
You must be getting to hate these posts, ...

Now you might very well think that, but of course I couldn't possibly comment :D

Not a lot to go on from your logs. :?

Have you done the port 1900 check? - Alexa-Hue Bridge Debug Logs + Port 1900 Check

Do you have Wi-Fi and ethernet enabled on your Apple Mac - if so it might be worth overriding the Computer Host IP Address to specify the IP and/or switching Wi-Fi off.

Posted on
Sun Sep 10, 2017 6:48 am
trevorsmith offline
Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 08, 2016

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

I have my Mac connected to the router via ethernet cable.

Wifi on the Mac is Off.

Echo is connected to home network via the same Wifi network as all my other handheld devices.

In other respects, Echo works as expected.

No other process is using 1900.

In Terminal:

import socket
>>> socket.gethostname()
'TrevorsiMac.local'
>>> socket.gethostbyname(socket.gethostname())
'192.168.1.64'

Don't know where to go next, so I tried disabling the wired connection to the router and the MAc is now judty on the same Wifi network as the Echo, which just leads to the same problem.

Thanks for replying.

Posted on
Sun Sep 10, 2017 1:49 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 2456
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+0]

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

Have you tried overriding the host IP address to 192.168.1.64 in the plugin config?

I can take a look at the full debugging log. If you turn on all debug log options, save, then reload the the plugin, wait for it to settle down then do a discover devices by asking the Echo to do it. Then attach the log as an attachment to a reply or PM me the log.

I will see if I can spot anything. :)

Posted on
Sun Sep 10, 2017 2:09 pm
trevorsmith offline
Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 08, 2016

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

Thank you for your offer. I've atached the bottom section of the very big log file. Hope this helps

I have set the ip address as you suggest, but it made no difference.

If it helps, I am connecting to a BT Homehub 5...I understand some people have had issues connecting Echo to BT hubs in the UK, although my Echo has been fine in general use from day one.
Attachments
plugin.txt
(12.69 KiB) Downloaded 35 times

Posted on
Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:25 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2456
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+0]

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

I have taken a look at your log. :)

What stands out for me is that I can't see any activity from your network other than from IP 192.168.1.64 which is your Apple Mac.

I am wondering whether you have a firewall active that is preventing messages getting to the plugin or the broadcasts being transmitted.

Alternatively you r Router might be stopping messages getting through.

Posted on
Mon Sep 11, 2017 6:54 am
trevorsmith offline
Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 08, 2016

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

THANKS. I just disabled the firewall on the router and it made no difference.

As I cant see the echo listed on the routers list of connected devices (even though the echo is working fine)I wonder if something very strange is happening........What's also wierd is that this morning I deleted the log file from my hard drive, and expected it to be recreated when I did a discover. But the log file is not appearing in the relvant folder on the Mac......

In the Alexa app do I need to add a Hue skill before looking for devices? I tried doing so but it wanted me to press a button on my non-existant hue bridge before adding the skill...

Posted on
Mon Sep 11, 2017 10:36 am
trevorsmith offline
Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 08, 2016

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

Here is another log file.....it seems to mention the indigo device I set up (called pond) but still Alexa isn't finding it.
Attachments
plugin.log
(38.22 KiB) Downloaded 31 times

Posted on
Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:25 am
autolog offline
Posts: 2456
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+0]

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

I am beginning to exceed my knowledge on the subject now. :|

Looking at your log and comparing it to mine, I can't see any uPNP entries. As I understand it, the plugin uses SSDP to discover devices and maybe needs uPNP enabled?

You mentioned a firewall in your Router - did you check that it isn't active on your Apple Mac?: Settings > Security & Privacy > Firewall

Posted on
Mon Sep 11, 2017 11:46 am
trevorsmith offline
Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 08, 2016

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

Well I finally got it working. In the end (and I didn't know I had to to) I disabled ethernet and enable wifi on the Mac (to be honest I thought I'd tried this before....) . Discovery worked fine.

So, I need to keep wifi on my mac switched on for this to work? Stuff like Spotify on my mac routing to Alexa dont need wifi. COnfused, but glad its working.

Posted on
Mon Sep 11, 2017 1:57 pm
autolog offline
Posts: 2456
Joined: Sep 10, 2013
Location: West Sussex, UK [GMT+0]

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

Well good to hear it is working :)

Normally having Wi-Fi and Ethernet both running causes problems :?

There must be a reason that it is now working - it would be useful to know what it is so that getting the plugin to work isn't such a black-art! :)

Posted on
Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:56 pm
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14887
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

I'm working fine with my Indigo server on ethernet and the echos on WiFi. Something in the routing between your WiFi and Ethernet is blocking uPNP traffic would be my guess.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Sep 12, 2017 12:58 am
trevorsmith offline
Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 08, 2016

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

Thanks. I will check the Mac network settings, though as you can tell, its not my strong point! Anyone know where to start looking?!?

Posted on
Tue Sep 12, 2017 8:38 am
jay (support) offline
Site Admin
User avatar
Posts: 14887
Joined: Mar 19, 2008
Location: Austin, Texas

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

It's likely not a Mac issue but rather an issue with your router not passing upnp traffic between the LAN and the WiFi networks. It's going to be specific to the router you have so can't really help more. Look for stuff labeled UPNP, SSDP, or broadcast.

Jay (Indigo Support)
Twitter | Facebook | LinkedIn

Posted on
Tue Sep 12, 2017 9:06 am
trevorsmith offline
Posts: 74
Joined: Oct 08, 2016

Re: Yet another failure to detect devices issue...

Thanks. I recall (dimly) that the hub I have (as used by BT here in the UK) has issues with UPnP, but I'm neither sure what they are nor what the tech's all about.

Situation now is that my Mac, though having Wifi enable, is not connected to a wifi network. As it stands, voice control of my switch via the Indigo-Hue bridge is working fine, but if I disable Wifi on the Mac, it stops working.

Page 1 of 1

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest